Re: Religious parties spreading conspiracy wave against Malala!
Ayaz Amir is a very reasonable guy. Really appreciated him when he was discussing this issue with a PTI lady yesterday. He belongs to PMLN but he doesn't try to justify every action of his party.
Thats good, and we need to think of this issue over the party lines, reasonably and realistically.
Sorry drone strikes still dont justify killing of 40000 people. Good try anyways...
As people expose Mullah's real version about malala, my arguments make people start trying to justify drone attacks inspite of loss of civilion's life.
^ look I am the biggest critic of drone strikes, and so are most of us in this forum but that does not mean that any beastility done in the name of Islam be swept under the carpet or muddled with conspiracy theories.
[note] Those who want to continue abusing/insulting our country or its people take it as our last warning, this behaviour will not tolerated. If it continues, we will start giving out infraction points. Also, the ones who appreciate/support such behaviour will be dealt in the same manner.[/note]
^ Good another conspiracy theory...
Please decide whether she was attacked due to her western/secular thoughts or as a US agent (see the pictures Rahila Qazi has been circulating on twitter), or it was a staged attack on her by Pakistan Army or Americans...as both conspiracy theories cancel each other out.
Secondly, why dont taleban condemn the attack and refute the statement that has come out from their representative? Some of the religious people I am seeing recently seem to target her views more than anything else. People wont buy these things now!
i shared this cause it is not from some mullah. read then comment. i am silent on this
So you think that only mullahs are lunatics?
I read this. It's filled with political conspiracy theories instead of talking about facts on ground. You are silent on this because you know how difficult it would be to defend this nonsense.
Just one point I picked from the comments section. Willy points to a picture and shows a guy calling him "high ranking Pakistani official".
This pathetic conclusion shows what a fool this guy is. Here are some comments on it:
"I am ashamed of this False propaganda? The man being shown as a high ranking officer looks to be a security guard of the school. look at his shoulders once again. These are neither the rank stars of any ARMED FORCES officers or men???"
"Pakistan Army does not have these sort of rank badges . They put on mettalic badges made up of brass . The chap in the picture is certainly a security guard and there is no doubt about that ."
"Thats not a high ranking official hahah. High ranking officials have stars on their shoulders not stripes. Enough of this non sense."
"The author is another blogger sitting in front of a screen and thinks he knows all about a country and politics that is foreign to him. The story is so bad and technically incorrect that it deserves no comment except that the writer is a a Class A, A**hole"
Talk of conspiracy theories when the truth is right in front of us. I sometimes wonder if religious extremists fear God at all.
I think this point is being overstated. Weekly mosque sermons probably play a part but the primary responsibility of educating their children about religion surely falls on the parents' shoulders. That is certainly true in my case. How you practise and think about Islam and view other religions/peoples' POV has much to do with how you have been brought up by your parents. That + thru personal reading and understanding of the religion. Infact I cannot honestly say that I have been impressed by a single masjid maulvi in my entire life.
You , I and for that matter most of the guppies' would fall in that exceptional category, which is treated as an outlier in statistical terms... janab we are talking about masses...80% of our country is illiterate...do you expect their parents have done a good job in ensuring "practise and think about Islam and view other religions openly and broadly" or focus on "personal reading and understanding of the religion"...come on...wishful thinking GA....majority of those masses go to mosque for Friday sermons only and what maulvi sahib says means a lot to them especially when the delivered messages is coated with Qur'an verses.
Re: Hatred spreading against Malala throughout Punjab..THIS IS PAKISTAN AT ITS BEST!
What else to expect from Mullas like Qazi Hussain
Why not look at this as an oppurtunity for those Maulana Sahibaan who find it hard to beleive that Taliban ordered this attack........Chief Justice or President ask them Maulana's to go as a Wafd to Waziristan and find out first hand what the Taliban Moulavis involvment was.
Why have debate with uninformed people, let us all get enlightned including the Maulana Sahibaan.
it is never too late to talk, this needs to be settled before other actions are taken!
I think this point is being overstated. Weekly mosque sermons probably play a part but the primary responsibility of educating their children about religion surely falls on the parents' shoulders. That is certainly true in my case. How you practise and think about Islam and view other religions/peoples' POV has much to do with how you have been brought up by your parents. That + thru personal reading and understanding of the religion. Infact I cannot honestly say that I have been impressed by a single masjid maulvi in my entire life.
and lets forget illiterate masses for a second....lets talk about those who call them educated in today's generation...the fact of the matter is that the whole generation that was raised between 1980-2005 was fed on zia-ul-haq fed syllabus which was based on religious intolerance, hatred, baseless ideological views, bigotry and fabricated history...this generation has a pretty deep conservative,closed and one dimensional view of religion and the western world....they love conspiracy theories....
and i gave the example of Itfaq Masjid in Model Town Lahore in one of my earlier posts...located right in the middle of one of the most posh areas of Lahore...thousands of educated families come there for friday sermon...i have been going there for 25 years...and Allama Syed riaz hussan shah has has been delivering frdiay sermons for last 25 years... he is a well respected and to some extent a well-read man but on every issue his view point is anti-west, conspiracy-laden and intolerant....and these so called educated people who live in model town, gulburg and attend his sermons agree with him.....
there are very few like you GA....lets not kid ourselves....
^ Allah has given all of us brains to think and ponder, those who believe blindly what their imam tells them deserve to be misled. We can do as much (on our levels) as we can to refute their lies and propaganda and expose them. Btw social media is quite an effective tool as well now for countering their propaganda.
sirr jee Allah has given us brains...i cant debate that notion for sure... but every brain processes the data based on the chip it has in it...and i am saying that that data processing chip does not even exists in illiterate masses as they are simply too busy in making sure to earn few rs every day so that they can sustain!
and for middle class who actually went to schools or colleges, the data processing chip in their brains is highly corroded.....the transformation of educated Pakistani society under Zia was radical in its conservatism....a very repressed society where even the news was doctored ....and their children's minds were being stuffed with a radically revised curriculum...the Zia administration effectively snatched social leadership from educated urban elite and handed it to the conservative right, whose world view was rooted in rural tradition and unquestioning faith in the clergy... ...that is the kind of mind set up that we now have in 90% of our educated generation
so of-course these brains will think and ponder but the baseline from where they start thinking is devoid of openness/tolerance, which by the way is number one prerequisite to logical thinking....
Baqir Sajjad @Baqirsajjad](https://twitter.com/Baqirsajjad) Malala case in point, there was initial outburst of sympthy, but terrorists thru well knit suport netwrks fighting back& raising Qs abt her
^ In this article I liked his explanation of why this incident deserves more condemnation than drone strikes and Karachi violence.
Like he said, people will never get convinced that Taliban are our enemies. Even if she dies, they will say that she did not die, rather her identification was changed and she is given German citizenship.
Overall a nice article by Yasir Peerzada. Thanks for sharing.
To me this is very very concerning and paints an extremely dark picture if those mullahs from mosques from smaller cities are calling mallala & her family western agents using the Jumma prayers. Remember these are not the people who get to be on media like some high profile mullahs and religious political figures and these are the folks that even though they dont get to be on main stream media, they can influence their local societies very strongly.
To me it shows that the extremism, fundamentalism is very very deeply rooted into Pak society, OK…a lot of us who live in western world mostly tell other non Pakistanis and even tell this to ourselves that extremism and fundamentalist religious are not part of majority of mullahs, but this episode where within days there seems to be one common message coming out from not only from top mullahs on media but also the ones from all over Pak in last week’s jumma shows that they are all** very well connected** and the extremism is not just limited to a small percentage of mullahs.
This is very frightening and perhaps we are still at the tip of the iceberg as far as the religious extremism and its effects are concerned on Pak society.
To me this is very very concerning and paints an extremely dark picture if those mullahs from mosques from smaller cities are calling mallala & her family western agents using the Jumma prayers. Remember these are not the people who get to be on media like some high profile mullahs and religious political figures and these are the folks that even though they dont get to be on main stream media, they can influence their local societies very strongly.
To me it shows that the extremism, fundamentalism is very very deeply rooted into Pak society, OK...a lot of us who live in western world mostly tell other non Pakistanis and even tell this to ourselves that extremism and fundamentalist religious are not part of majority of mullahs, but this episode where within days there seems to be one common message coming out from not only from top mullahs on media but also the ones from all over Pak in last week's jumma shows that they are all** very well connected** and the extremism is not just limited to a small percentage of mullahs.
This is very frightening and perhaps we are still at the tip of the iceberg as far as the religious extremism and its effects are concerned on Pak society.
that is it Nikema....you got the bigger picture and associated concerns .... that is exactly what I am saying....
what qazi hussain ahmad and JI is saying is worrying... but what those thousands of mullahs deliver in friday sermons is worst because we can never beat that kind of strategic propaganda...it occurs every week...52 times in a year.... and we saw the power of this strategic proprganda in malala case ....
in every other mosque, the script was same...first imam sahib prayed for malala's helath, then he started crying for the pain this poor kid had to go through ... then he urged the audience to think about the bigger picture .... thik about the conspiracies against Muslim ummah/Pakistani nation....pakistan agencies role, drone attacks, USA and yahoo/hanood...and in the end some quran verses with a strategic interpretation .... awesome performance! and who was the audience....either completely illiterate in villages or conservative conspiracy-driven folks in suburban cities....boom taliban are completely saved! a master stroke delivered by mullahs in a 2-hr session from one corner to the other corner of Pakistan...
and no one can dare stopping those mullahs from commenting on political topics... and yes these mullas are all connected and share the same wavelength...how can we ever get a complete consensuses on terrorism issue? .... impossible
we are dead in this propaganda war! a sitting duck baby!!