Re: Relatives in Pakistan!
^ I think OP was saying they add to their other fake profiles as well
Those of you who think OP is all wrong have no relative who is snoopy or have no gossiping aunty ... hmmmm
I have a relative who did not even spare my dead father the day he was being burried !!!
^I can understand that. Everyone has relatives that they don't get along with or don't prefer. However its the way the OP said it. She is basically grouping all of her relatives from Pakistan and stereotyping them..........which is wrong. You do not like them then don't add them. I honestly think its really fake to go to the extent of making a second profile.
Here’s a practical solution: Create a profile on google plus and add anyone you want. You can create lists and restrict content to only those people you really want to share photos and stuff with. Tell your cousins “Main facebook jiyaada use nahi karti, isliye I added you on G+”.
Facebook has sucky privacy settings. It just seems incredible to me that they have not tackled this “restricted sharing” scenario till date!!
oho......u don't want to add them.......don't add them......wats the problem??
and the title says ''in pakistan''......... so its not about any relative..........the OP is identifying them due to their geographical location...........
I think I get what the OP is saying. The western idea of "we're just friends" is still kinda unheard of in middle class Pakistani society. I love my cousins but a lot of them wouldn't understand why I had pictures with guys (not doing anythign inappropriate). I still like keeping in touch through fb since it's easier and less awk than phone for me but I DO have to watch I post/what my friends posted because I didn't want them to have this skewed image of how I am.
OP: There's an option to group people together in a category. I just made a group for "pakistan relatives" (my moms cousins who are older than me added me too and I couldn't say no because they were persistent). I customized it so that they can only see certain albums and only see what I post on my wall NOT what my friends are posting.
What goes on in Pakistan, what people gossip about over there, what they 'allege' about you guys and what ever complaints they might have with you guys affect you only through your parents.
If your parents are okay and happy about whatever appears on your facebook profiles, you guys should not be worried about it all. They would defend you if any unpleasant event happens.
Yeah i can kinda see where the OP is coming from, but maybe they all just look up to you and simply want to be friends? Make a second profile and just don't think about your cousins being 'clingy', the more you notice it the more it'll irk you and it might make you behave in a way that you'll regret later (like saying something to them passive aggressively?)
so vain.
so vain.
Yeah, but for a desi back home.... it would be read, written, and pronounced as "wane."
ducks from the eggs and tomatoes and shoes
^ don't fret missy! wannabe westerners don't deserve desi eggs, tomatoes, and shoes!
Too much scope for misunderstandings and drama.. as can be seen in this thread.. My dad has told me not to add certain cousins to avoid the 'who is that boy in the photo' rubbish.. and there are a million other situations that can end up causing a massive mess.. clothing is another one..
(That comment Spoko made is a good ex as well, it's just a cultural difference in the way things are expressed and interpreted.. If my cousins posted 'can't wait to go back to Pak' whilst staying with us I wouldn't see it as a big deal)
I dunno I'm american and I would be pretty pissed if someone wrote "Cant wait to go home!!!!"...i remember when I was in HS, we had relatives visit us from another state...the two older kids were pretty rude to us all, talked about hwo they hate it here, etc etc. ah wells.
After reading OP's post........... i am Thankful to Allah that i don't have cousins like Op abroad. FB is a good way to reconnect with your lost friends and relatives. Few years back we didn't know about our abroad relatives but nor through fb we know about their health and other good or bad news.
And no i don't add them, they have added me on their original fb account. They were really happy that they got connected with their distant relatives.
Sorry OP but your post sounds rude to me. Your thinking may be different from few cousins but you have included your all PAKISTANI COUSINS.
And no you don't need to add every single fake profile..... just ignore those requests, tell them clearly that you only add legit profiles not fake ones.