Relationship with parents...

What sort of relationship do u have with ur parents? would you call it a close and friendly relationship, or is it more of a “ur my parent and im ur child.. i respect u, but cant tell u stuff” type?

Im pretty close to my parents.. i mean i can discuss pretty much everythign with my mum.. like what im feeling, if im peeved off at someone (even if im angry with her), i can discuss virtually anything.. and i usually call her once a day from work to see what shes upto (which aint much apart from cleaning or reading a book but still)..

.. and with dad.. hmm its a very cool relationship.. if im in trouble or something is really eating at me and i need to confess, I tell my dad.. prob not mum.. mums more of the emotional type of person.. wherewas dad listens and makes me feel ok..

i look at other people and think of the type of relationship they have with their parents.. like sometimes when im talking to their parents, i realise, theyve no idea what their kid is like… no clue as to what their child is upto.. for me i guess its kinda strange..

i grew up being scared of my mum but when i was like 12 i think, she completely changed.. used different tactics of dealing with me (being her eldest child and very complicated at that time).. and im greatful… sigh

whats ur relationship like?

Re: Relationship with parents...

My parents are my confidants, i confide everything to them, big or small- it helps, amis the emotional type liek urs sadzz so if i need advice or if im in trouble, my abu is my secret shelter away from the world... he makes me feel better, stronger n somehow he makes that huge crisis seem so much smaller.. Me n ami are girlfriends n i love her tons but me n my abu have an understanding n see things eye to eye but ami is the one when it comes to girl stuff

^ wow Devi.. sounds like the relationship i have with my parents.. exactly infact! my mums my girlfriend too... some people find it wierd how i treat her like a friend, actually i treat my dad like a friend too and pick on him.. hes my pillar though.. and yeah, he makes a huge problem seem so trivual.. my bro is the same for me (but thats a diff topic) :)

lol yepp, i was thinkin that as well, too similar..
same with my bro, well lets just say, mashallah se i never felt liek i missed out on a sister cuz of omer... (not that hes girly or anythin LOL

haha.. ive got a lil sis and a lil bro (i forget he's younger though.. i have to remind myself that im older than him)

its good to have such an open relationship with parents.. at least they know what ur going thru.. and exactly what ur like... most of the time my bro and mum know exactly what im gonna say or do... its pretty freaky

I hate mine.

Will do anything to piss em off for as long as they are alive.

I love my parents. I'll poke anyone's tongue out if they be rude to them or say something bad about them on their back but infront of me (other than my siblings that is). I will take the most ghatiya thought about me from someone but not my parents or siblings. Though I don't share this usual close relationship with them but it's friendly at some point and other than that it's usually the basic stuff not anything deep. I usually go to myself for advices coz what I have inside my mind, most of it is stored there by my parents so that I don't have to go to them whining at stuff again and again. I usually sort out my problems and tensions myself. I've been like that since the beginning and it's been there for so long that I can't change myself now. I can't really force myself to do it coz I really have to be comfortable with stuff when i do it coz otherwise I'll mess it up totally so I'm a person who keeps stuff to herself.

Re: Relationship with parents…

wow sadzz i read the subject of the thread and new what i was going to write but you wrote the exact same thoughts and ideas I have about my parents. i just them. :k:

Iam really very close to my dad… he understands me more than my mom does… so i am close to my dad more than my mom… but i share stuff with mom too :hula:

I lost my parents at a young age so I cant contribute to this thread at a personal level, however I do observe and I find that parents will be parents and no matter how tall, old and mature you get they will still treat you as a little one.
Example 1:
Mamaof3 got a coupon book for dunkin donuts and gave it to her dad (he loves to go to dunkin donut every morning for his sugar fix). Her dad carried it all day in his front pocket. Like a proud father of a little girl.

Example 2:
I come home and see mama all flustered and pissed off mad, so I ask "hi honey is everything all right", well Mama got her a$$ kicked and chops busted by her mother on everything and she(mama) was beside herself.

Both were interesting sites to witness. :D

well i am thinking sadzz you are the eldest one, your siblings call u a loner (referring to the other thread), u r close to your parents and u r acchi bacchi according to them. These are not the only similarities we have. I mean u could be my KUMB ke melay mein khoi hoi sister.......
sorry just haven't had my morning coffee yet.....but still alot of smiliraties. :)

I can talk with my mom about everything and with my dad was kind of
distance relationship. I dont know how to explain but i can talk with my mom
bout everything but still it is not like how you guyz & gals discribe your relationship with your mom & dad. Maybe coz my parents were divorced and i
had a very diffecould childhood.

i lowe my mommy n daddy :blush:

I have an amazing relationship with my parents. My mother is actually my best-friend and I'm closer to both my parents than I am with my siblings (which tends to piss my bro and sis off). I can tell my mother and father anything and everything and I share everything with them. I love that about my parents ... that I can joke around with them and just be 100% myself.

I give my parents the respect that they are due. I don't share my life with them, just as they don't share their lives with me.

The paradigm of what your parents are over your lifetime to you

Your world->Protectors->Disciplinarians->guides->friends->protected->memories

Relationship to one’s parents changes with age (Matsui’s model). I agree with Verizon that Parents will always be Parents no matter how old one gets. Now at least I wont be embarrassed if some tits appear on TV while my dad is sitting with me. However, I will never ask him what he thought, but my kid wouldn’t think twice before asking me. I can just imagine a big smile on his face with eyes wide open. He is very attentive.

:jhanda:

Man, I remember my dad yelling at me when I came home a little too buzzed from a party when I was 17. I also remember him ordering two Oban single malt for my college graduation dinner.

achi rahi. par maza nahi aya. i still tell them, abhi bhi waqt hai.

Mashallah, a beautiful description, Matty, elay tou wi ki yadd karain ga. :hug: