Relationship going downhill..

I have often looked around at desi and non desi relationships and tried to determine the factors that greatly affect a relationship..

In your opinion what are the three top most factors in a once healthy relationship that can cause it to go downhill:hmmm:

I am particularly interested to know of these factors in desi marriages …

Re: Relationship going downhill..

Badly cooked Chicken Biryani is the top reason.

-both the partners start taking each other for granted

Since i beleive your thread is in the Wrong forum lol

I think this Forum ie. household affairs and cousine corner maybe the top reasson .. that in cousine section the wife cant cook cos shes always an out going person eating at hotels and resturants and the husbands pay cant pay for it lol to keep her mans taste buds tickling and the household affairs .. the man hass NO clue as to how to run his house i.e pay bills, earn rather than being a lazy bum all day and expect the wife to go to factory... and bassically be a man of the house ..and the wife ends of doing everything ..

..Lack of communication ..they have hardly any clue as to whats going on each others heads .. and both do whatthey think is best ..but maybe not ..

fbi .. yeah i thought i was posting in life1 ! then realized it was in the wrong forum :smack: .. cant move it until one of the mods do it !!

khair ,food cant be the reason for a relationship going downhill , can it? money can be though … infact I feel its one of the biggest reasons why most couples fight … :hmmm:

^^ Well you are right .. Money is the biggest factor ... i know because a similar casewhere the wife is earning and the husband is also .. but cos teh family of the wife ...isnt well off so what ever the wife earns gives it to her mother and siblings rather than they are perfectly cable of earning their own .. eating for free ..and this causing conflict between the husband and wife .. is happening to someone close in pakistan .. so no matter where you are which country your in ..money somehow plays its devilish role ..

I wouldnt say our relationship got downhill but it certainly has become more challenging since we had our daughter. And our arguments are mostly about her now, whether to give her a certain medication or to get her tested for blah blah etc. And she isnt even a year old yet :bummer:

Fbi , its situations like these where we expect the man of the house to be more understanding , however , I totally understand where he is coming from, although its her money , since she earned it , but her time away from home is actually time away from husband , perhaps she should talk to her husband alot more and help him understand her responsibility towards her parents ....

Ira, I have a feeling its quite a natural phase in life ... Most men find it difficult to get indulged in baby work , but in a few years you will notice him getting alot more involved .... however by no means this should be classed as relationship going downhill ...hai na ... because at the end of the day, its just a phase which will pass inshallah ...

yep this is #1

here is my order:

1. Taking each other for granted
  2. Stress (Family, work, money)
  3. No one willing to compromise for each other's sake

Since it’s on food forum - :cb: - I think OVERLOADING good foods and no room for storage would definitely make a relationship go downhill :halo:

1. Lack of communication
  2. Unrealistic expectations from one another
  3. Not repecting and recognizing other's goals dreams and desires

spicy food. :nono:

even one partner taking the other for granted is enough for a relationship to crumble...!!

you know we always talk about not taking each other for granted … does that mean , like lack of attention , lack of realization of the others day to day needs in life? what exactly do you guys mean by taking each other for granted , its such a broad term :hinna:

i would say

No communication or a lack of it too
and also

a lack of fun! i mean if a marriage grows stale and boring, the couple arent laughing together anymore,not enjoying each others company,as you would with a friend. (your partner is many things after all, including friend)

And yep agree with taking each other for granted,not spending quality time together,be it watching tv together or going out to eat etc

2 reasons taking each other for granted

and IN LAWS husband k bhi aur wife k bhi

involvement of the 3rd person
sharing the info with others which should Must stay between husband and wife

• not communicating with each other
  • not treating/respecting the other as you would want to be treated/respected
  • taking each other for granted
  • not making an effort for each other
  • not supporting each others decisions
  • allowing people outside the marriage to tamper with the relationship and cause problems
  • not being satisfied with what you have in life and always wanting more -i.e. keeping up with the jones's

IMO..it can be a lot of things..
like just not taking into consideration how much of an effort one partner is putting into a relationship or the amount of hard work being done…
it can be anything from bringing home the dough,to taking care of the kids and other domestic affairs…
another thing can be saying stuff which can be really hurtful to someone while not for others…even though its very well known that the partner might get offended but still things are said…
or maybe making certain decisions without consulting the other half…
stuff like that…
then as you said lack of communication…the lack of attention…
you know what it really is a very broad term and might vary for people…
just when you realize that you are not being given the due consideration,regarding anything ,which you deserve ,is when the relationship starts going downhill…