MQM is becoming quite ihsaan faramosh. First its UK’s drunken lord as he berated same country who has given him asylum just because its about to catch him on his oft-repeated crimes. And now same RM who facilitated MQM going against some of PPP’s leaders, is being called biased.
what were the situation that was exploited by Bhutto by bringing quota system? Was there no quota system before Bhutto?
I have heard about it existing in the early fifties, though I think it was more of a meritocracy than a quota considering the fact that the immigrants were the best equipped to run the bureaucracy of the new Pakistan, not that anyone in my family got a job in govt because of it. I think that "honeymoon" ended when the capital was shifted to Islamabad, but it still doesn't give Bhutto the "all-ok" to take over people's businesses and institutions that they built with hard earned money (I know one story of the owner of DJ science college) and then give those jobs to someone else. I wonder where was this egalitarianism to end all feudalism in Pakistan but oh wait, he was a feudal himself.
Do you know how first cabinet was constituted? How many Ministers and secretaries were there from Sindhi and Bengali population? We all know what wonders that best equipped bureaucracy did for the country.
From what I know, the majority of the sindhi educated class was in Karachi that ended up migrating to India when partition happened. You know the past is past and everyone including Karachi has been dealt a crappy hand, but what are sindhis doing to get rid of zamindari parasites in interior Sindh? Don't tell me that it isn't possible because Punjabis (Sialkot, faislabad, even Gujranwala) have urbanized when urban Punjab was pretty much limited to Lahore, Rawalpindi and then multan up until the late seventies. When it comes to specialized instruments (your tools, viscosity machines, GCs) you see the name of Germany. The only place where you see Pakistan's name is in small surgical tools like knives, scalpels, scissors, so can you guess which Pakistani city is famous for that?
Some Jahil lunatic Ignorant People of Pakistan ,,, Now I really hope China take Karachi for 100 years .. Enough Is Enough ... Look what you people did to Balochistan What you did to bangladesh .. O lets just stop and start blaming OUR S**T Ignorance our Racism on Balochi people , For god sake thay burned a Flag of Pakistan Burned Quaid-e-Azams House . who gives a dam ( kuch naraz hain balochi bhai theek ho jaingay ) .
If we don't start respecting Balochis and Mahajirs now you will see another and then another Bangladesh. HISTORY WILL REPEAT IT SELF. I love Pakistan yar and I know things , Look at your self you opened more threads about Altaf Hussain then any one YOU hate him ? You call him a terrorist ? well guess what Because of your Racism balochis are far bigger terrorists now .. Altaf itna bara Drama a silly stupid person who sings cheep songs on tele HOW ON EARTH US k pas itna bara mandate kaisay aa gaya karachi main ? OH INDIA lets blame that on India they support him .. Balochis ? why are they pissed ? Oh india did that too right ? Bangladesh , Ya I know Un k sath bhe koi ziate nae hui the It was india .. PAKISTAN KI SUBAI TASUBI SOCH KI WAJA SAY ALTAF OR BHUGTI PAIDA HOTAY HAIN , UN KO PUBLIC KI PAZARI IS LIA MILTE HAI Q K WO UN K ZAKHMON KI BAAT KARTAY HAIN . KOI JAHIL CHAMAR HERO BAN JATA HAI . GROUND REALITY IS ALWAYS DIFFERENT THEN WHAT YOU SEE ON A BLUDY TELE..
From what I know, the majority of the sindhi educated class was in Karachi that ended up migrating to India when partition happened. You know the past is past and everyone including Karachi has been dealt a crappy hand, but what are sindhis doing to get rid of zamindari parasites in interior Sindh? Don't tell me that it isn't possible because Punjabis (Sialkot, faislabad, even Gujranwala) have urbanized when urban Punjab was pretty much limited to Lahore, Rawalpindi and then multan up until the late seventies. When it comes to specialized instruments (your tools, viscosity machines, GCs) you see the name of Germany. The only place where you see Pakistan's name is in small surgical tools like knives, scalpels, scissors, so can you guess which Pakistani city is famous for that?
whatever may be the situation today it got basis in past. Its very easy to say that all cream of Sindhi people migrated to India. There were Musim middle class Sindhi population but they had to face tough situation from the inception of Pakistan. This is a long discussion how they could not even get to claim on the lands which were on lien with Sindhi Hindus who migrated. Marginalization of different segments from the inception of Pakistan lead to situation we are still facing today. lost half the country and still not learnt any lessons.
I was reading criticism on Molana Modudi for his statements against Muslim League and I found that he was not that wrong. It did promoted feudalism which further created Urban feudals who only talk against feduals but behave exactly like them when entrusted with power. Muslim League never gave representation to middle class. Nawab ibn e nawab, Sardar ibn e Sardar were always present in Muslim League.
Some Jahil lunatic Ignorant People of Pakistan ,,, Now I really hope China take Karachi for 100 years .. Enough Is Enough ... Look what you people did to Balochistan What you did to bangladesh .. O lets just stop and start blaming OUR S**T Ignorance our Racism on Balochi people , For god sake thay burned a Flag of Pakistan Burned Quaid-e-Azams House . who gives a dam ( kuch naraz hain balochi bhai theek ho jaingay ) .
If we don't start respecting Balochis and Mahajirs now you will see another and then another Bangladesh. HISTORY WILL REPEAT IT SELF. I love Pakistan yar and I know things , Look at your self **you opened more threads about Altaf Hussain then any one YOU hate him ? You call him a terrorist ? **well guess what Because of your Racism balochis are far bigger terrorists now .. Altaf itna bara Drama a silly stupid person who sings cheep songs on tele HOW ON EARTH US k pas itna bara mandate kaisay aa gaya karachi main ? OH INDIA lets blame that on India they support him .. Balochis ? why are they pissed ? Oh india did that too right ? Bangladesh , Ya I know Un k sath bhe koi ziate nae hui the It was india .. PAKISTAN KI SUBAI TASUBI SOCH KI WAJA SAY ALTAF OR BHUGTI PAIDA HOTAY HAIN , UN KO PUBLIC KI PAZARI IS LIA MILTE HAI Q K WO UN K ZAKHMON KI BAAT KARTAY HAIN . KOI JAHIL CHAMAR HERO BAN JATA HAI . GROUND REALITY IS ALWAYS DIFFERENT THEN WHAT YOU SEE ON A BLUDY TELE..
talking about someone doesn't mean you hate that person?
How did you find RM's statement a disrespect to Muhajir population? If you see official results of last census it says Muhajirs are 21-22% of Sindh's population.. Demanding proper (independent) census by MQM is right thing and no one is opposing it here.
If we don't start respecting Balochis and Mahajirs now you will see another and then another Bangladesh. HISTORY WILL REPEAT IT SELF. I love Pakistan yar and I know things , Look at your self you opened more threads about Altaf Hussain then any one YOU hate him ? You call him a terrorist ? well guess what Because of your Racism balochis are far bigger terrorists now .. Altaf itna bara Drama a silly stupid person who sings cheep songs on tele HOW ON EARTH US k pas itna bara mandate kaisay aa gaya karachi main ? OH INDIA lets blame that on India they support him .. Balochis ? why are they pissed ? Oh india did that too right ? Bangladesh , Ya I know Un k sath bhe koi ziate nae hui the It was india .. PAKISTAN KI SUBAI TASUBI SOCH KI WAJA SAY ALTAF OR BHUGTI PAIDA HOTAY HAIN , UN KO PUBLIC KI PAZARI IS LIA MILTE HAI Q K WO UN K ZAKHMON KI BAAT KARTAY HAIN . KOI JAHIL CHAMAR HERO BAN JATA HAI . GROUND REALITY IS ALWAYS DIFFERENT THEN WHAT YOU SEE ON A BLUDY TELE..
itna emotional honay ki zaroorat nahi... just watch the video about him calling Pakistan biggest blunder of history.
From what I know, the majority of the sindhi educated class was in Karachi that ended up migrating to India when partition happened.
Wrong. If you are talking about Hindus of Karachi, then it is true that they migrated to India not voluntarily but through force when their properties were forcefully taken over by new arrivals from India and these Hindus had to flee to India. However educated Muslim Sindhis remained settled in Karachi and other part of Sindh. For your information there were number of well known Muslim Sindhi scholars and educated people existed even before partition.
itna emotional honay ki zaroorat nahi... just watch the video about him calling Pakistan biggest blunder of history.
U know , kuch days say kafe loog yahe baat kar rahay hain ,, aap k samajhnaay ya na samajnay say koi farq nae parna . balochistan main they burned qaid e azam ka ghar .. aap is ko ro rahay ho ..
khair pakistan ki racist public nae samajh sakte root cause kia tha , as I said before , bangladesh ka koi taluq MQM say nae tha na balochistan ka hai but end result same hoga ...
Wrong. If you are talking about Hindus of Karachi, then it is true that they migrated to India not voluntarily but through force when their properties were forcefully taken over by new arrivals from India and these Hindus had to flee to India. However educated Muslim Sindhis remained settled in Karachi and other part of Sindh. For your information there were number of well known Muslim Sindhi scholars and educated people existed even before partition.
How could newly arriving immigrants with pretty much the clothes on their back become a flash mob with pitchforks? I find this hard to believe especially when they themselves were beaten and pillaged on the way? If you are so right about the sindhi middle class, then I think that they have really failed the oppressed peasant class in sindh. I know that you hate poonjabis but maybe jiyalas can learn a thing or two from the upward social mobility of the poonjabis.
I agree with you on this, but then why do we negotiate (or think about it) with BLA, BRA and especially the failed negotiations in the past and in the future with TTP who have said that they don't accept Pakistan? There is just a need of a spark and you would find taliban apologists flooding this thread like a flash flood.
Clad, calm down dude. Waisay bhee muqawee bhai apna banda hai! ;)
How could newly arriving immigrants with pretty much the clothes on their back become a flash mob with pitchforks? I find this hard to believe especially when they themselves were beaten and pillaged on the way? If you are so right about the sindhi middle class, then I think that they have really failed the oppressed peasant class in sindh. I know that you hate poonjabis but maybe jiyalas can learn a thing or two from the upward social mobility of the poonjabis.
I agree with you on this, but then why do we negotiate (or think about it) with BLA, BRA and especially the failed negotiations in the past and in the future with TTP who have said that they don't accept Pakistan? There is just a need of a spark and you would find taliban apologists flooding this thread like a flash flood.
Clad, calm down dude. Waisay bhee muqawee bhai apna banda hai! ;)
I think what sachaydino said is not totally wrong. Migration of Hindus from Sindh was not immediate phenomenon. It started in January 1948 as the situation was really out of control which lead to first curfew in karachi. Putting all the blame on newly arrived immigrants is absolutely wrong as there were instigating statements by Sindhi leaders on records as well.
..First ever Quota system in Pakistan was imposed in Sep 48 by Mr Liaqat Ali Khan , it was ammended in Sep 49 , initially for 15 years ... the constitution of 56 extented it upto Dec 72 , ie it remained in force for 25 years ... and it gave Carte-blac advantage to the Mohajirs ... I have already given figures in some of my earlier posts.....if any one interested I will gladly repost them
source : Affrirmative Action polcies in Pakistan by Muhammed Waseem
Bhutto merely re-adjusted it according to the new ground realities , post 71 , Pakistan limted to the West wing only , and sharp Urban -rural divide ....between Mohajirs and Sindhis .
14.5 Million people were forced to migrate during 47 , worst was in Punjab , where 9.2 milliion both ways were forced to migrate beside 10 lacs killed all post March 47 ...not before it . , 3.2 Million were forced in Bengal ... that was pre 47 .... later 1.2 Million from Sindh were forced to migrate and that was the educated middle class of Sindhis... predominately Hindus and Parsis ...yes there were muslims too ... all after Jan 48 .
the First ever Curfew in Pakistan was Imposed in Karachi , Jan 48, when over 1000-1500 non muslims were killed in Karachi , ... and a large number of them were Sikhs ....... !! mostly hunted in and around Cantt station ,, ....they were mostly resident of Guru Mander ... ... Karachi still has a Gurdwara at Manora ...
what Mr Rehman said , is based on Facts... accept them ... and yes New Census Study is needed ......and Karachi is in Pakistan , not an independent or disputed Area.... so Census should be done with our own resources .... Under Army or Judiciaray supervision perhaps.... but why is this MQM thingum ... appealing to UN .... !!
..First ever Quota system in Pakistan was imposed in Sep 48 by Mr Liaqat Ali Khan , it was ammended in Sep 49 , initially for 15 years ... the constitution of 56 extented it upto Dec 72 , ie it remained in force for 25 years ... and it gave Carte-blac advantage to the Mohajirs ... I have already given figures in some of my earlier posts.....if any one interested I will gladly repost them
The federal capital was shifted from karachi to islamabad so how much advantage did it really give to muhajirs? I doubt that islamabad is a muhajir city. So punjabis were happy that muhajirs were hogging all the jobs when the same bureaucracy didn't even allow the majority bengalis to get a share?
You are also forgetting the fact that there was a vibrant private sector in karachi that was destroyed by bhutto, hence the higher degree of conflict on who got what in quota. Adjusting quota doesn't mean that outsiders are settled into karachi jobs as it is done no where in successful countries. In fact, cities and towns in the US give preferential treatment to local residents and then county people who have moved there (not imported just for sake of quota) in the US and of course, the technical jobs are on merit which probably went to the more educated muhajirs as well in Pakistan's case. Go look that up as well.
..Chritina lamb the figures of something around 42-44% .... , though a Pakistan researcher gave as high as 65% ....!! .... remember they were 3% of the Total Population of the then Pakistan ... Pre 71 ....today after the break up they are around 7.5% ..
remember all the Rizvis , Jafris, Naqvis , Taqis,Siddiqus , ... from A to Z ... ..etc..etc.etc..... that used to fill up all the spaces in Govt Offices before 71 ...and upto 78 ....
when Bhutto's re-adjustment ...cut deep into their power base...and it dropped from 42- to around 22.% .....and that Drop is actually the Real reason for all their grievances ... !!
Adjusting for population would mean that the percentage would be much lower and considering the fact that bhutto rigged the census + the nationalization of businesses which hit karachi + punjabis (sindhis and balochis were and are peasants) and now you have a recipe for disaster. You also have to remember that Pakistan's size of government was smaller, which ballooned right after nationalization and the later bhartis of friends. You don't have to look farther than PIA, a world class airline in the 60s and even early 70s that started emirates, and how many people per plane are in the organization which is a record for the world.
So the figure for "muhajirs" is just karachi or does it include muhajirs in punjab as well? I ask because the 3% figure is most likely for karachi itself and if you add punjabi muhajirs then the figure would be much higher. It is like how mianwali is punjabi at one time but pathan when NWFP asks for its rights.
..that 3% figures is Pre 71 .....when East and West Paksitan were one ...
Read affirmative Action Polcieis by Mohammed Waseem >.. .... it has all the figures and rationale adopted at that time 1948 ] for its implementation ....
Punjabis were given 22% .. their population was considered 28% ....and it included the then State of Bhawalpur in it .... Bengalis were given 40% Sep 49 ......and three Provinces Sindh , the then NWFP ...and Balochistan .... were given just 17% ..or was it 15% ....
Read the document its freely available on the net to download and read..
U know , kuch days say kafe loog yahe baat kar rahay hain ,, aap k samajhnaay ya na samajnay say koi farq nae parna . balochistan main they burned qaid e azam ka ghar .. aap is ko ro rahay ho ..
khair pakistan ki racist public nae samajh sakte root cause kia tha , as I said before , bangladesh ka koi taluq MQM say nae tha na balochistan ka hai but end result same hoga ...
The "end results" is being forced in that direction by the mafia, they want to be the controlling party in every provincial government, they don't want any criminal proceedings against their mafia members/leaders.
I don't think I ever read any statement from TTP that they don't accept Pakistan, they don't accept "democracy" yes I've read/heard about that.
Sindh Hindu Sindhis were expected to stay in Sindh following Partition, as there were good relations between Hindu and Muslim Sindhis. At the time of Partition there were 1,400,000 Hindu Sindhis, though most were concentrated in cities such as Hyderabad, Karachi, Shikarpur, and Sukkur. However, because of an uncertain future in a Muslim country, a sense of better opportunities in India, and most of all a sudden influx of Muslim refugees from Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Rajputana (Rajasthan) and other parts of India, many Sindhi Hindus decided to leave for India.
Problems were further aggravated when incidents of violence instigated by Muslim refugees broke out in Karachi and Hyderabad. According to the census of India 1951, nearly 776,000 Sindhi Hindus moved into India.[SUP][10]](Partition of India - Wikipedia)[/SUP] Unlike the Punjabi Hindus and Sikhs, Sindhi Hindus did not have to witness any massive scale rioting; however, their entire province had gone to Pakistan thus they felt like a homeless community. Despite this migration, a significant Sindhi Hindu population still resides in Pakistan’s Sindh province where they number at around 2.28 million as per Pakistan’s 1998 census while the Sindhi Hindus in India as per 2001 census of India were at 2.57 million. However Some bordering Districts in Sindh was Hindu Majority like Tharparkar District, Umerkot, Mirpurkhas, Sanghar and Badin, but number is reducing, in fact Umerkot, still has majority Hindu in district.[SUP][11]](Partition of India - Wikipedia)[/SUP]