Reema's Film Launched (merged)

Re: koi tujh sa kahaa website launched finaly

Experiments were done and some received good responses too. An experimental blockbuster can change the trend, but then everyone will be busy re-creating that.

Cinema viewers are too limited in Pakistan. Past decades were enough to keep people away from cinemas. Most people are not expected to return easily. A line of good movies and some new ""Hi-Tech"" cinemas can change trends, perhaps. A single movie or even some movies may never be noticed by most, unless transmitted on some other medium than cinema.

Re: Reema's Film Launched (merged)

That's why promotion is key to a movie - I seriously don't get the logic that 1-3 weeks is enough to promote a movie - promotions should be going for at least 2 months when it comes to desi movies and that too on private channels, since that's what so many desi families are glued to. Not just promos but actual TV shows. There should be posters all over the main cities where the first prints will be shown - there should be parties and galas hosted in honor of the movie. There should be ad nauseum playing of the soundtrack on the FM channels.

Yeh Dil Aap ka Hua was seriously a sub-standard movie - the reason it was so darn successful was its promotions - When I was in Pakistan the songs were blasting in many of the shops (although they could have been playing way better Indian music), and that's all Prime TV was focusing on for some months. So everyone abroad knew about it.

I was looking forward to salakhain and laaj and some of these other movies. They came and went, and I dont even have a clue as to the year/month in which they were released - and I'm gung ho about Pakistani film industry.

If you don't tell people about the product that you made, how do you expect people to buy it?

I think Reema should have advertised way more - what she's got going on now - she should have kept it going for another month before the release of the movie - I think she's just trying to pull in the summer crowd at this point.

GEO and ARY could do a lot more promotions - they've done very little. Literally nothing for Pehla Pehla Pyar, and even for Reema's movie, they've shown the trailor. She should be invited on different TV shows (including the rest of the cast) sharing stories and bloopers and that sort of stuff to get the hype going for the movie. Right now, there is a lukewarm interest even before its release. There should have been a "Oh, when I go to Pakiland this summer, I WILL see that movie before leaving" type responses. You only get that with good promotion.

Ábdullah ibn Masóod (Radhiyallaahu Ánhu) narrates that Rasulullah
(Sallallaahu Álayhi Wasallam) said, 'The people with the most severe
punishment by Allah will be the picture makers.' (Ibid).
? Hadhrat Ibn Abbas (RA) narrates, 'I heard the messenger of Allah saying,
"Every picture-maker will be in the fire. A life will be created for every
picture the picture-maker made, and he will be tortured in Hell."

It is not easy for film makers in Lollywood to spend much money on advertisements. Money for Advertisement is set after estimating the profits, a product can generate. If some one is almost sure that product cannot generate more than 1000, then it is never possible to spend 800 on advertisement in advance.

On the other hand, most viewers will just switch their channel, when they discover a trailer of Lollywood movie. It is like a mindset. People are used to the trailers that were full of violence and dialogues. Even now most people expect such trailers, and they never watch these for a second. With poor-quality trailers, no one will ever be interested in trailer or product.

sohaib, movies are not picture-makings...picture makings is a drawing or painting done on canvas for example, so the person you are drawing is actually non-existent. The reason why it was discouraged by the Prophet was because these paintings eventually turn into idols later on (usually some centuries later).

Movies don't have that issue. Now run along - this is not religion forum. People here don't easily get brainwashed by mullahs who have nothing else to do.

Not true Umer Ashraf - Yeh Dil Aap Ka Hua is my counterargument.

It is just a bit better than the rest on advertisement, still most viewers must have skipped it's trailers.

Most Pakistanis must have seen a trailor at least once. If not the trailor, they were hit by other forms of advertisement. Regardless, the movie did mad and massive advertisements, which most of the other films that were expected to do well and flopped really didn't bother to do...

Case in example like Mr. Lucman's Pehla Pehla Pyar. Here you have a director who is communicating his film on an internet forum, while he can't even get the trailors going on ARY. And its not entirely his fault - GEO and ARY have warped policies that they each will take one film. They both should take both films and promote each one, with the film-makers being responsible to provide them material. Now by the time this fellow will have his film ready to be released, how many people will have seen any form of advertisement and will be willing to go see the movie?

I hope that its good enough to carry itself without good advertising.

well if you want your film to do well you just dont need to promote it on tv but also in other places, like put massive billboards up on the street hold partys and fuctions, do a big massive premier, sell merchandise etc.

you should atleast spend 2/3 crores on promotion.

Regular cinema-goers (for Pak movies) will watch any thing that will be there and thus Mr. Lucman can generate enough if his movie is good. Advertisement is useless in this sense. It is used to attract people, who are not going to theatres on a regular basis, but can spare some time if there is a good movie. Without advertising, they may never be told by a friend and thus they can miss a good movie. A good Pak movie will hit any way; advertisement can increase the profit slightly.

For big markets, advertisement is used to convince people to select the product based on quality and content. People are not required to come out and give it a try.

Re: Reema’s Film Launched (merged)

PCG it seems you only see cinema interms of two extremes – the conservative Iranian cinema or the gun-totting-girl-wearing-skimpy-gowns kind. You asked what kind of cinema I want, so just to satisfy your curiousity I would list down some of the stuff on my Ideal-Pakistani-film wish list.

-Sensible story line, which the fairly well to do kids can relate too. Too much * student unions, rona dhona* and gujjar-gandaasaa please. More of the Tanhaiyaan kind of plot line – in which they actually travel by air from Karachi to Lahore, if that’s some major gauge of how sophtisticated the plotline is :rolleyes:… but nevertheless they have to show the stuff that normal well to do Pakistanis do. And I dont mean travelling in sports cars in Marbella a la Yeh Dil Aap Ka Huwa.

-Sensible wardrobe. I want to see the stuff I see women wear around me. Tanhaiyaan is again a point in case – the stuff the women wear is hip, cool trendy yet very much keeping to our culture.

-Decent acting. No loud lines, no wooden acting either.

-A screenplay which holds my interests. And does not waver from one kidnapping to another mujraa!

-Awesome sets and artistic use lighting. I’m a stickler for these – I just loved Mujhe Chand CHahiye coz it had awesome sets, if nothing else. Your Reema film has horrible horrible lighting, it almost seems in some scenes as if they’ve mounted a theatre play on celluloid.

-No Red light crap. I believe intelligent women with decent backgrounds can be found and should be used. And no, they shouldn’t be made to dance if they don’t want to, the directors have to come with storylines which can do without these. I think that’s pretty feminist, PCG.

-Something which I can relate to. Modern coming of age cinema, which gives the youth some hope, and is cool to watch would be a welcome retreat from these Koi Tujh Sa Kahaans. Trust me your Reema is another Shamim Ara in the making…similar standard stuff, I mean…I mean that film is so cheesy. The picture where this guy wearing white cargos and the girl is wearin white minis and they’re bowing towards each other and shaking hands with some British backdrop…that picture almost made me barf for some odd reason.

Are u still trying to kiss Lucman's arse?

Salam

Bollybuster, can I ask you a question? Have you seen Remaas movie?

Bollybuster very well said :k:, enough with that copy and paste movie. Why can’t they think of something new?

No, he's passing premature comments.

If you meant ass, I’m pretty certain Reema has a rather nice one…

As for your question, No.

Man with a plan Thanks !

PCG, comments about my ideal Pak film can in noway be “premature”…but you can go ahead and watch your Reema film, I simply don’t give a damn. Viewers make opinions based on whatever they see, the trailers are supposed to contain the best shots of the film. I’m sorry I was totally nonplussed. If that means kissing someone “ass” just because someone happens to disagree with you, I’d say you go and see a shrink, or maybe even Reema – I’m sure she can do with some extras for her upcoming “praaducshun” :rolleyes:

And you're still talking without having seen the movie.

Mind you, don't put words in my mouth. I'm not saying she came up with a masterpiece. All I'm saying is that she had the courage to just go do what she was going to say she was going to do. I don't think Lucman, despite being a tv guy, has his act together either. But I'm not so immature as to say that I wont watch the movie.

Reema tried to make a movie that was different from gujjar badmash type crap. I think that it would only be a nice gesture to at least go watch it, so that other people aren't discouraged to make a movie.

Paki pop grew insanely when proper venues like IM etc were made available. Likewise, pakistani films also need the venues. This means better cinemas that are ... clean at least? And also more coverage thru TV. You watch Indian tv channels and that's all they have on their TV...so can't Pakistani TV have some shows on to project a positive image of the people TRYING to make a change?

The problem is very complex and has various possible solutions, all of which should be tried. It wont happen with the attitude of "I wont go see Reema's movie, cuz she is Reema and she's stupid"...

PCG, I went to Laaj, Yeh Dil Aap Ka Huwa, Inteha and Babu coz what I saw in the clips was the kind of the stuff I would want to see in a Pak film. I've always wished Pakistanis could do more to support these film makers who want a positive "change". Laaj is simply a textbook case of what decent Pakistani cinema ought to be like -- the movie is absolutely devoid of any sort of vulgarity, and all it's other flaws aside, it was pretty positive stuff. Likewise, Babu was a solid effort -- sadly, there was a to total lack of viewer support for either of these films.

Sorry if it hurts you, but this Reema film seems to be more of a CAIRO production rather than a Lahore/Karachi one. Veena Malik and Reema seem hugely inspired by busty Egyptian cinema. NOT the way I would want Pak cinema to be. I don't mind gowns and cleavage, if its done with class. I don't want to paste the pictures and make a mockery out of the stuff they've done in Koi Tujh Sa Kahan.

Moreover, don't expect decent people to get into the industry if you have these Reema Khans ruling the roost. Mehr Hassan ran away after what Reema did to her in Shararat -- I don't wanna repeat that story again.