Recommend a desi restaurant in Vancouver?

We’re going to Vancouver in a few days – can anyone recommend a good desi restaurant?

Re: Recommend a desi restaurant in Vancouver?

there’s an Afghani resturaunt in Surrey(part of Vancouver) BC. u should def visit it. its called AFGHAN CHOPAN and is a gr8 place to sit n dine esp with family.chk these reviews n address
Afghan Chopan (Surrey, BC)
rest all other resturaunts in Vancouver’s Main street r mostly run by Sikh/Punjabis n not so good. there’s one Al-Madinah Pizza in Surrey again at 9320 120 St. i liked the food, real pakistani lahori taste but the place is not worth sitting n the guy is dumb n rude. mager ager sirf taste laina ho tu go there. gandi jagah hai but i’ll still go there :slight_smile:

um plz dont go to Al Madina when ur in Vancouver. I've eaten their several times and I don't like their food and the restaurant looks to be in very bad condition.
you could try Afghan Chopan (location is quiet confusing) but if your gonna come to Surrey, just go to Gulberg, which is actually Pakistani. Gulberg also has a location in Coquitlam, if you're there.
Gulberg in Surrey is on 126th St and 72nd Avenue next to Kwantlen University

Could Gulberg be anything but Pakistani? :hehe:

We’ve got a GPS thingee, so we can find anything! Both of these sound good. Any others?

tt that Madina resturaunt looks like one from Pak. lol.but i liked the food but then i only went there once n wanna go again :)
this gulberg side we never knew abt but may b when we go there next time will remember it :)

tt01 do u live in Surrey?

Don’t trust those GPS thingies too much. they sometimes take u to all wrong places. it did to us when we were there n trying to locate some address. be prepared n take a map with u with all addresses noted down.

aurchaepiyo r u a gal or boy :hmmm: coz if u r a girl i’ll tell u a good paki boutique too. lolz

I heard a lot about some restaurant in Surrey that is famous for its halwa poori breakfast. Some friends drive from our city to to eat there and comeback and many times we were asked to join them. So far we have not but maybe after Ramadan, we might.

I’m a girl (well, if middle-aged still counts as a girl…not quite a burhiya yet!)

Surrey adjacent.

yes middle age certainly counts as a girl :cb: u can chk Bi-jaan n Libaas again in Surrey. they r pak boutiques n last time i went there had pretty good collection.

mujhay khani hai halwa poori. TLK when u go there bring back some for me too :D(only if its good then)
theres only one paki resturaunt here calgary that makes superb halwa poori. actually they serve cholay n aloo bhaji with it n their pooris r so light n not greasy greasy… aisi aur yahan koi nahin banata. baqi sub bakwas hain… :cb:

I think we're going to try Afghan Chopan, unless any other recommendations come up....

Mabrook, main pagal hoon jo Vancouver sai Calgary aa’oon gaa halwa poori deliver kernay ..I will finish the stuff on my way there :hehe:

greyhound pe bhaij daina. banday ki niyyat ho tu soo rastay nikal atay hai :naraz:

hmm, surprised there is a big Muslim community in Vancity..

btw, if you havn’t already checked: zabihah.com - your guide to halal eating - Vancouver - afghan chopan has good reviews and the decor is amazin!

If you change your mind about eating desi food or wanna try some chinese, there are a couple of halal chinese restaurants in Surrey / Delta
Haka Masti - on Scott Road (120th Street) and 90th Avenue
Chili Pepper House - on 128th Street and 96th Avenue
(I prefer Haka Masti :D)

and if you want some fast food just go across the street from Chili Pepper to
Chicken World which has halal food as well.

It's not the halal-ness but the desi-ness we are looking for!

Afghan Chopan <site

Afghan Chopan's menu sound great! It's located a bit far out -- it's practically at the US border. They've got an iftaari buffet special going for $14.95...What time would that be? 8:30? (You can tell I'm not keeping roza, can't you...)

haan yeahi to keh rahaa hoon . neeyat hee achchi nahi hai. bandaaa bohut niyatta hai, nadeeda, chatora. Apni halwa poori share nahi ker sakta :nahi: