Recipe for Arhar ki daal

I usually just boil with salt and haldi and red chili powder. When cooked, I put a tarka of garlic and zeera.

Any other recipes?

Re: Recipe for Arhar ki daal

^ I made it exact way yesterday :) oh yeah, kahtai bhi dalain tu aur achi lagti hai...with white rice.

I think yeh hee better way hai...aur tu koi recipe nahi..

I make a bhagaar waali daal. I boil daal with salt and haldi(I dont add red chili because it's harsh for throat if you dont fry it first). For bhagaar, I saute onions with ginger garlic paste, add sabut garam masala & whole red chillies, 1-2 chopped green chilli, and tomatoes. I fry some more and add the spices(red chili, haldi, coriander). Add this mixture to daal along with some garam masala, cover and let it simmer for 5-7 mins. Garnish with fresh cilantro before serving.

what is arhar daal? and what is bhaagar daal?

arhar daal=toor daal=split pigeon peas

bhagaar just means frying onions, spices and other ingredients that you add to salan/daal

you add:

red chili powder
salt
freshly grated garlic
tumeric
and aam ki kahtai (dried mango…1 piece is enough for 1-2 cup daal)

boil

then fry:

garlic, zeera, sabhut laal mirch in olive oil…pour on top of daal. absolutely NO ONIONS…otherwise there wont be much a difference b/w this daal and the others.

tastes great with aam ki chutney :yummy:

^ditto, thts wat i do.

We add imli pulp to it..

my MIL makes it with spinach leaves.. she puts everything in a pressure cooker and after its all done (5-6 whistles) she add's water to it and boils it for another 10-15 mins!

yes some ppl do that as well...

any kind of khatai will do...I dont add imli cuz imli's khataas is so strong...im afraid of adding too much.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/2360633-post7.html

can you add khatai/imli to regular moong-masoor dal as well?

^ U can Pareezay but arhar daal turns-out best "khatti" AE, I only add a very small amount of imli pulp.. my mother adds cubed aubergines and beans to it too.

The tempering is oil, mustard seeds and curry leaves.

yes you can.

not everyone likes khatai tho Gina. It's an acquired taste. I dont mind it however.
But in order to please everyone in the family i use very little khatai.

Hydrabaadi's (sp?) love khatai in their food...however arhar ki daal is a luknow specialty...they dont eat khatta foods.

ok this might be a silly question...but this daal goes well with what..??..roti or boiled rice...??
I have never had it before and I want to try it...:)

its delicious with either one.

if u eat it with roti…try it with aam ki chutney :yummy:

Chips6, you never had daal???? like ever??

i haven't had this one particular daal...I have had others...:)

ladies, is this the arhar ki daal?
Indian Daals and Beans Photo Gallery - Photos of Indian Lentils and Beans - Photo Toor Daal - of Arhar Daal - Toor Daal - Tuvar Daal - Arhar Daal

is arhar split lentils or different?