Reasons to reject a potential rishta?

Re: Reasons to reject a potential rishta?

Religious compatibility is important. But so is the importance of personal space and the respect that is needed to let someone follow their faith as they wish. A hijabi would not let me be who I am and follow my faith as my heart dictates. Been there done that. So yeah I would not marry a Hijabi.

I'm just so curious. How would a hijabi won't let you follow your faith? What if the Hijabi feels that you won't let her follow her faith as her heart dictates? Doesn't it goes both ways. Just saying..

One of my cousin who use to take hijab actually stop wearing it after marriage just because her husband didn't like it. There was a drastic change in her after marriage. And as far as I have noticed she was fine with it.

My issue with hijab is more aesthetic one rather than the religious or moral one. Sometimes I see a girl wearing a hijab but for me it does not suit her at all. Her personality is zero with that hijab.

Of course it does not matter to me, as a stranger, if an unknow girl is looking good or not in that thing. But for my future wife, it will matter a lot.

She basically would harass me to pray, not to eat meat from non-halal places and such. I don't pray regularly but I do pray on occasion. She would just start nagging and nagging and nagging.

Reasons to reject a potential rishta?

I have rejected a good educated family proposal in UK, there demands were far too religious for me:

Girl should wear hijab all the times
There is no TV in home or no music is allowed

Way too strict for me!

I would reject a rishta if I knew

• the guy drinks alcohol
  • eats at non-halal places
  • has rules like for instance no music, movie, outing
  • doesnt fast
  • wants me to wear hijab / doesnt want me to wear hijab (this is entirely upto me and inshallah one day I'm going to wear it, so either of his "rules" will lead to elimination of him from the list ;))

non-halal places??

So if he grabbed a burger at McD's, he's off the list?

grabbed a non-halal burger that is..

If she can’t make chai/paratha and club sammiches :snooty: oh and desi amlaites :o

I have same guidlines for the girl btw. No alcohol..eat halal always. And no Hijaab..that has been my criteria. Ahem.."How you doing"??

^ :hehe: Never miss a chance, eh?

I just wanna clear up.. My friend (the hijabi) didn’t reject the rishta. She was ‘rejected’ because she is a hijabi and the guy’s side didn’t want to ask her to take off the hijab.
Nice of them, huh? :disgust:

Khair… Everyone has made valid points… but here’s my question.

Aside from wanting to “modern” or meld into society (out of Pak or other Muslim countries), why would a hijabi girl be frowned upon? Sure maybe you’re not as religious… but you’re still muslim, right? In Islam, every girl is supposed to be covered and dress in a modest manner. So why would someone who is following her religion and doing the right thing be in the wrong?

I get that it’s assumed that she’d try and change you, blah blah blah… but what would she be doing wrong? Nagging, yea that’s wrong. But she’d just want her husband to practice his religion, no?

But at the same time, just as some girls said “I wouldnt wear hijab cuz someone else asked me to because I wouldn’t be doing it 'from the heart”, I guess asking someone to pray wouldn’t be them praying “from the heart”. :hmmm:

Just random thoughts/ questions/ blabber.

It should of course say if he eats non halal and not places if that makes sense

I suggest you look at my last Criteria.And then at yours last one and then let me know when i should send over the raakhi ;) ;)

^ LOL!

han tu marzee hai tumhari..i am flexible. Not rigid for sure. Ab batao..kab aoon..Ammi ko le ker. :D

I have seen guys getting rejected because they have beard. It's the same thing

Agreed.

This one girl had the audacity to reject me just because i wanted to wear a hijab.