I thought it’s too much exposure of women in different forms including extra exposed body parts of women using sexy clothes, and porn videos etc. that has lead to the excessive Rape cases in the west. Unfortunately, our desi girls have been suffered due to Rape and hence I think it is important create awareness.
Are there other reasons and what measures should be taken to avoid these cases?
hmm I really really dont' see any connection with rape..and porn.
That's like saying all the young dudes you know who are going through all thse changes of growing up and women and are .. fans .. of such things
are all, potential of raping womyn???
I dont' think so.
Men who have been convicted of rape have been cases where they are simply looking for control. Being in control. And they feel as if womyn lack that aggression and from being assertive - which is why such womyn are the main target for such guys.
Porn has nothing to do with it.
Frankly, I wouldn't think I'd feel anymore secure being in a country where on
one extreme - such things are banned (example in muslim countries),
or the other extreme - being totally liberal (like the West),
with getting your hands on such things. shudders
[This message has been edited by kohalic (edited June 17, 2001).]
I thought it’s too much exposure of women in different forms including extra exposed body parts of women using sexy clothes, and porn videos etc. that has lead to the excessive Rape cases in the west. <<<<
Although, world is full of pathetic attention seekers
but I would disagree with you here. I don’t think rape occurs because of the way women dress up. I don’t know about you but I don’t think all men are animals…A glance of naked flesh doesn’t equate to a rape case. Most of the people who are involved in rape cases have psychological problems or a horrible past.
Are there other reasons and what measures should be taken to avoid these cases?<<<
I know what we should avoid…
We should avoid locking up our women in the four walls.
We should avoid enforcing un necessary pardah.
We should avoid being insecure about our women.
Kohalic, I don't want to discuss this topic on the basis of personal believes without any proof. So please do provide proof of what you state. Thanks
Boss, we are not talking about people like you who needs a flight via A*gra* for every destination and are like a sarkaari nul (government’s provided taps) only good for filling baloons with air rather than providing water to the poor women. hye bay-chaari women. Anyhow, we are talking generally about humans (i.e. social animals) who have the inclination. I am not saying that but it is most of the ladies shouting in "What do men wants?" thread that men only wants sex. Also, you are wrong that people involved in rape cases have psychological problems or horrible past coz according to a study carried out on students in the US/Canada, majority participants said they would rape a woman if they could get away with it. Off course, there are hypocrites like you who don't admit but these are educated people studying in the universities. Some excerpts from a Book by Dr Diana E.H. Russell "Against Pornography: The Evidence of Harm" (Berkeley, California: Russell Publications, 1994).
*[1] .... Surprisingly, the non-anonymous group of men reported slightly more interest in rape; 52% answered "yes" or "sometimes," 36% answered "no," and 11% reported having rape fantasies. .......... men's propensity to rape is probably very widespread indeed. It is interesting that Hite's percentages are comparable to my finding that 44% of a probability sample of 930 adult women residing in San Francisco reported having been the victim of one or more rapes or attempted rapes over the course of their lives (Russell, 1984).
[2] .....The studies reviewed here suggest that at this time in the history of our culture, a substantial percentage of the male population has some desire or proclivity to rape females. Indeed, some males in this culture consider themselves deviant for not wanting to rape a woman. For example, the answer of one of Hite's male respondents was: "I have never raped a woman, or wanted to. In this I guess I am somewhat odd. Many of my friends talk about rape a lot and fantasize about it. .... *
Could someone elaborate on any other reasons when we have such a free and fair society where men and women are allowed to have sex as much as they want but yet this desire to rape a woman.
ALSO, I THINK IF THIS FORUM IS USED AS A CRITICISING POINT RATHER THAN A LEARNING POINT THEN IT WILL KILL THE OBJECTIVE, IMHO.
I think I would disagree with you and agree with khan_sahib.
Let us first define rape as a extreem form of sexual harrasment. The it should be quite obvious that all of this harrasment in its varying degree of severity, happens because of the way the women in the west dress. I dont think I am naiv if I say that this type of harrassment never og quite seldom occurs in the muslim countries the way it does here in the west. Just think urself, you would be quite reluctant in behaving dirty towards women in pardah-clothes. On the contrary, you would be more inclined to joke, flirt (seen as harrasment from the womens point of view) towards women in modern western clothes.
You are naiv to think that girls should should be free in dressing semi-naked and still dont get unwanted attention from men.
Read a survey recently pointing out that school girls down to 14 years was being more and more harrassed in school. The connection between their clothing and the boyz bad behaviour was obvious.
[This message has been edited by aMiGo (edited June 20, 2001).]
NYAhmadi, I think you have missed my original question.
“I thought it’s too much exposure of women in different forms including extra exposed body parts of women using sexy clothes, and porn videos etc. that has lead to the excessive Rape cases in the west.”
"I thought it's too much exposure of women in different forms including extra exposed body parts of women using sexy clothes, and porn videos etc. that has lead to the excessive Rape cases in the west."<<<
Khan Sahib.. absolutely totally illogical observation and point. Rape is to do with overpowering an opponent (usually a woman) physically, and the sexual act is only to prove that He (the Rapist) is stronger than she is. In some countries of the Western and Northern Europe porn is a norm, and so is ‘extra exposed body parts’ (as you call it – but I would say dressed differently) and the rape incident there are a lot (in fact a lot lot..like 98%) lower than that in the US. Explain that to me. I don’t know if you like to debate what the reasons of Rape are in the Eastern countries.
so when women rape men
its because the men were wearing short skirts and pouting their lips?
Rape is not equal to Sex
Sex is with consent
Rape is without consent
and if we do for a moment believe that Men Rape women because they wear short revealing clothes and act sexy
then what bout a desi society
women dont wear revelaing clothes
women dont walk around markets winking at men
What is the excuse then for the Man to Rape a woman?
What bout Marital Rape?
Does a husband rape his wife because she was wearing revealing clothes?
what bout a Man raping another Man
do we also assume that because the man raped was wearing tight revealing clothes he was raped?
I suggest you do a study on this topic rather then speculating
Rape is a very serious crime
a body has been violated
You dont just sit there with a smirk on your face and say 'she was asking for it'
then what bout a desi society
women dont wear revelaing clothes
women dont walk around markets winking at men
What is the excuse then for the Man to Rape a woman?
Aanchal ,
dont you agree the frequency of rapes in such societies as Islamic country or India is far less than in WEST??????So revealing tantalizing ,voluptuos decor of woman are a factor.
Marital rape is new ,b/c its part of Feminism,who demand right to dictate when & where she wants to have sex.
Considering women participation isnt dependent on arousal,she can fake the whole orgasm through & through if she were to satisfy her husband NEEDS even though she might not be in mood.
Islamically there CANNOT be marital rape ,(oxymoron) B/c i think all of you know islamic directives to women are.Allahtala in order to prevent extra marital sex,or infidelity ,has emphasised the need ,when the husband is on verge of desperation, to full fill it may be as an obligation if not one of better mutual better days sex pleasure.What are the better halves opinion on this???
------------------
Woh afsaana jise anjaam tak, laana na ho mumkin
Use ek KHoobsoorat moR dekar, chhoRna achha
[This message has been edited by FYI (edited June 20, 2001).]
**Boss, we are not talking about people like you who needs a flight via Agra for every destination and are like a sarkaari nul (government’s provided taps) only good for filling baloons with air rather than providing water to the poor women. hye bay-chaari women. **
Dude that was a very lame flame…so lame that it made me laugh. Save ur comments for ur family and friends and stick to the topic. Thanks.
**Also, you are wrong that people involved in rape cases have psychological problems or horrible past **
I’ll give u sometime to read Anchal’s posts and think about 'em before u start considering every study by Candians and Americans like Quran.
ALSO, I THINK IF THIS FORUM IS USED AS A CRITICISING POINT RATHER THAN A LEARNING POINT THEN IT WILL KILL THE OBJECTIVE, IMHO.
<<<
Oh Fuzz off! did u ever read ur own ****
AMig Wrote>>You are naiv to think that girls should should be free in dressing semi-naked and still dont get unwanted attention from men.<<<
Jesus Christ! is unwanted attention = Rape.
You guys think it s a freaking joke.
Women are not Sex objects! keep Mr Johnson in your pants and zip up! Morons huh!
dont give me the BS that rape in Desi countires is less frequent
In Desi societies Rape goes unreported
that doesnot mean it doesnot occur or occurs less
even in countries such as Middle East the percentage of Rape is up there with the western countries
a few years back there was a case in i forgot its name but its a middle eastern place
there was a teenage girl in a comma at the hospital
one day the doctors discover the girl is pregnant
a pervert had raped the girl while she was in comma
Marital Rape is not a feminist thing
In a marriage bodies arent sold as slaves
If a woman does not want to have sex because she is tired, or not feeling good or just not in the mood
a husband should respect that and control his sex drive rather then launching himself over her exploiting her body and making her feel dirty and feel like a body to be used
and your statment that women should fake orgasms just to satisfy her husband's sexual needs is totally ridiculous
what if i reverse the tables and say the woman's sexual drive is more then the man's
but then a man wouldnt be able to fake anything? because a man needs to be aroused to perform
what should a woman do then?
your answer will be to control her desires and needs
I think that in a society built upon the rules of Islam, the problems mentioned in this thread would occur almost never. Anchal mentions this girl in coma. The question we should ask ourselves is why such things happen?? It is because of the increasing sex-fixation in our societies. And YOU women are a major factor in this fixation.
Its so astonishing to see u ladies say that "even if we ladies run around in bikinis you guyz should behave". Wha?? That day will never come. And if such a day comes, than something would be terribly wrong.
The concept of freedom you have has been put into ur brains by the west. Why dont you ladies take some responsibility and dress properly, so that the guyz dont have excuse to come on to you. And beleive me, they wont if ladies dress the way Islam has told us to do so. The chances of guyz hitting on girlz in purdah in contrary to girlz in tight body fit-revealing clothing is microspocal.
I know a lot of guyz from all the different social levels. A prevailing behaviour amongst all these are that they are much more inclined to coming with remarks towards women dressed challenging. Never have they thrown remarks at girls in decent dressing. I have heard of women properly dressed in Pakistan beeing assaulted, but i would assert that it is a result of the fact that our world is becoming more and more sex fixated, with the women used as the promoting factor.
So is the boys it is something wrong with? I will not legitimise their behaviour, but still I think that the girls should take some responsibility too. Than we really can distinguish between the really mentally sick rapists, or they who have become the victims of the "freedom concept" of the west.
Hope I managed too convey my thoughts in an understanding manner.
Anchal says that what if the husband doesnt want to fulfill his wifes need. Chances of finding such a man would be, one in a gazillion. The problems is always the other way around. Islam has urged the women to dont turn their men down, and has ALSO put a lot of responsibility on man too. Why do you see only one side of the coin? So if the women fulfills the need of his husband, then of course the husband shall do the same. If there still are problems then obviously it is something wrong with the marriage. Simple as that.