Reasons for quick divorces...

So i was thinking…there are lots of divorces that happen very quickly..like in a matter of weeks or few months…

some divorces happen even before the rukhsati..

what are the reasons for such divorces??? :konfused:

Re: Reasons for quick divorces...

annulement?

Re: Reasons for quick divorces…

yeh koi sawal hai?

there could be lots of reasons but most likely if it happens so quickly its something that was a total dealbreaker…ie. someone’s gay or has another wife and children etc.

G...yeh aik sawaal hai :@:

not enuff pie.

they found out their spouse had hidden something from them...

this guy found out the woman he married had a disease that made intimacy impossible. he even offered to help her get treatment and pay for everything, she said no, so he divorced her...

awareness that you dont have to always live in a bad marriage?

The only reason I've personally heard about is impotence.

I personally know of one case where girl (in U.S) got nikah done with cousin who was in Pakistan (totally arranged). After nikah, girl came back to U.S., applied for guy. Guy got visa, came to U.S. Girl finally got to spend time with guy (family was planning rukhsati in a few months). Girl realized she doesn't have much in common with guy and started having doubts about her decision. After a few weeks, girl and guy has a argument....during the argument...the guy blurted out "Wait 'til I get my citizenship.".

That same night girl told her parents that the marriage is over. Literally the next day, she called USCIS and withdrew her sponsorship and also contacted a divorce lawyer.

The guy MIGHT have made that statement out of anger...but the girl wasn't willing to take a chance and find out years (and kids) later whether or not he meant it.

Later on the same girl found someone else on her own and she's happily married now with 2 kids. :)

The only reason i personally know of is that the husband found out a couple of days after the wedding that the girl had previously been married and he had not been informed about it.

it wasnt the fact that she had been married it was the fact that she lied about it

I know a couple who were cousins and got married.
The girl lived in the US n guy in PAK.
The families were really tight, so the girl n the groom agreed to get married.
They had their nikkah and then a year later, a rukhsati.
They did exchange letters but did not talk on the phone alot.
They got married and the guy comes to the US
Their marriage lasted for 7 years. During the 7 years, they never touched eachother. The families knew all about it and they tried their best to keep them together and tried to work everything out. The couple realized that they saw each other has cousins and not husband and wife. Anyways, Allah tala had better plans for them and now they both are happy in their separate lives mashALLAH.

Usually when people get divorced so quickly its because they're brain dead and need psychiatric help.

Kidding.

There is no general reason or blanket statement one can give to help you understand why soooooooooooo many couples get divorced. You will have to speak to each one personally to find out and report your findings here.

:eek:

The stupidest reason for a quick divorce was this one:
(oh and the girls mom told this herself, in case if somebody says that it is exaggerated)

So the girls mom was telling:
‘Meri beti se kehte the (the is the husband) ek glass paani ka le awo aur kabhi kehte the ke rottiaN pakao. Ab meri beti itni parhi likhi hai, yeh kaam karne ke liye tau nahiN parhai ki na. Bechari itna roti thi, phir uski talaaq dilwayee’.

Another aunty who was also listening: ‘Ji hamari betiaN itni parhi likhi haiN. Yeh kaam tau unse nahiN hote na’

(it is sick that i remember the full dialogues after all these years, but whatever).

In one of our family friends.. girl got divorce before one month of rukhsati. The reason thy gave us that the guy was very shaki mizaj. But i will blame a girl as well. At the time of nikah she didn't like the guy... after nikah she didn't come in front of him although he visited her house almost daily... bought juices fruits, tikka etc. Girl was so stubborn she even didn't allow him to see her jhalak (off course after nikal guy didn't go there to having chit chat with his MIL, he wanted to talk to her). Girls attitude made him suspicious that she must have been interesting somewhere else (which was not the case) so things got out of hands and girls family filed for divorce.

Girl got married somewhere else and not really happily married there as well.

or the problem cud be with girl....

I think one of the factors is waiting a while before having kids. Couple tend to wait atleast 2-3 years and then think about kids. Its harder to consider divorcing a parent of ur kid then ur spouse. However I wudnt recommend having babies too fast either.

I wud rather see 10 divorced couples than one divorced couple with kids. Becoz divorced couple will move on with another spouse, But its very unfair to raise a kid with only one of actual parents.

what is the issue? Marriage is a pact basically. why make it a punishment? Its better to part ways than dragging an impossible relationship and ruining your life for good. (Happy?) :chai:

one reason I have heard (this is a true story, it happened to our family friends)

this girl got married, and on her wedding night, her husband told her that in the morning he had to go to another state because he had a business meeting the next day (the day after the wedding!). She got suspicious, and so did her parents, so they started investigating, and found out he had a girlfriend in the other state, and only married this girl because his parents didnt want him to marry his girlfriend. So they had their marriage annulled.

ouch. truth hurts :halo: :blush: