Re: real scenario: So you
Do you think he would go to couples counselling with his wife..maybe with a desi therapist and open up about his feelings? He surely realises he is being unfair on his wife and he is not acting like most husbands. He can not be so clueless not to know his wife’s feelings or to care. Many women feel it is because of them or that they are not attractive and I think it’s because women feel like failure when marriage does not work out. It’s actually the responsibility of both the people in a marriage not just the female.
I disagree with you marriage market is tough but no one should have to settle. Being happily single is better than unhappily married. It’s just our culture that says everyone should be married by this age and have 2.5 children by this age. I know there are a lot of open minded, liberal (or even conservative) Pakistani guys who would not hold this against her. She has to have more belief in herself. There are lot of examples of women who have been divorced finding love again. Maybe Allah is telling her she has to stop underestimating herself and that she deserves better so why settle. Acha hai bacche nahi hai because then that would be even harder to leave in desi setup. She would be stuck in sham marriage forever.
In an ideal world people would be upfront and if they were asexual they would say it. That way asexual wives and husbands can find each other. Everyone khush. But then there is stigma and of course "log kya kahenge. Family reputation ka kya hoga and all that.’
There’s not that information on asexuals and people don’t even know if they are themselves. Like Deeba says it means they have no sexual interest but they could possibly have romantic interest in non-sexual activities. Sometimes not even that. Why it happens? Who knows. Maybe he had some experiences that put him off intimacy as a child.
Interestingly people have a wide range of experiences with those who identify as asexuals. Advice: My husband doesn’t want to have sex | Love, InshAllah I don’t know if that helps but i’ll post it anyway