Real reason behind poor performance- inzi afridi, younis clash / Younis speaks out

Re: Real reason behind poor performance- inzi afridi, younis clash!

With Malik and Afridi charging up and maturing by every passing day, Younis's Vice captaincy is already threatened. There are more deserving and performing players in the team that will give him tough competition. Only time will tell what is good for the team.

Every thing said and done, Sau baat kin aik baat,

when we win all the laundry is freshly washed,

when we lose even washed laundry stinks,

Unfortunate but true.:(

**I apologize for getting late in answering you. Yes there is nothing wrong in discussing such juicy gossips but I have a problem when people start believing these rumours which only arise when Pakistan is losing. Have you ever thought why these rumours have such a good timing? It is the media and the media people who want cheap publicity. They know the psychology of the people that the best time to provide them with spicy stuff is the time when the team is not performing well. People can believe any kind of crap from match fixing to players dispute. The sad part of all this is that few weeks ago the media and the same people were praising the performance and the team unity. People were saying that we got rid of the one man who was behind everything and after his exclusion from the side the team is united, the enviroment of the dressing room has totally changed. So how come all of a sudden one defeat has resulted in the change of enviroment on this forum. How can you simply link an arguement or even a dispute or a fight between 2 players to the loss of the team. Another player left the tour because of his father’s illness but people even want to make that controversial. During the indian tour and then onwards we really saw TEAM PAKISTAN. I fail to understand that a team which is so united can lose a match because of a dispute. Simply accept the fact that WI were too good for us in the match . Obviously there was a factor of inexperience in our side. And when i say inexperience, i mean inexperinece in terms of taking responsibility on your own shoulders. How manytimes inzi and youhana took that responsibilty and did it for pakistan singlehandedly or if not singlehandedly, still played a vital part in a victory. Their absence was a major setback and players were not able to cope up mentally and as a result showed poor performance. **
**People in Pakistan always have problem when the team is losing, accept this fact. Most of us don’t take defeat lightly and thats why they come up with all kind of crappy stories. I am following cricket regularly since 1986 and since then this has happened zillions of time. Cricket followers expect the team to behave and play maturely but fail to do the same which they are expected to show some maturity. If someone can’t accept this fact then my friend I am sorry but i guess he or she doesn’t know too much about pakistan cricket. And thats why I said GROW UP. **

^ I agree with a lot of things you've said fkhan... mostly these things tend to be blown out of proportion.

lekin yaar... sara bold me tow na likho - its very displeasing to the eyes :)

Sorry umar bhai, mein nay socha kay shyad bold likhnay say in bayaqaloo kee ankhoo or aqal parr jo parda para hay wo hut jie:D
agar app kehtay hain tu phir aaj say bold nahin likhon ga:)

Miscommunication caused Barbados incident: Pak maneger

Pakistan cricket team’s manager Saleem Altaf on Monday played down the Barbados incident involving Shahid Afridi and Younis Khan and said after an in-house meeting the matter had been resolved.

“Naturally, the incident is unfortunate and unnecessary but it occurred as a result of some miscommunication —that is all; it was not such a big incident and has now been resolved,” Altaf said from Barbados.

He however made it clear that Afridi had apologised to Younis and the management for his behaviour and insisted the Board would continue to support Younis. “We are clear in our minds that it’s the captain’s decision to decide the batting order and the player has no choice in this. In this regard, Younis was right in asking Afridi to open the innings but unfortunately due to some communication gap the problem occurred,” he said.

Altaf said after the first Test, the PCB Chairman Shaharyar Khan and he had held in-house meetings with captain Inzamam-ul-Haq and the players and made it clear to them this is something which should not have happened and they assured him such things would not be repeated.

“The touring disciplinary committee also held a meeting and the involved players appeared before it,” he said.

But Altaf was not willing to confirm if any fine or penalty had been imposed on the players. “That is something which is an in-house thing and we’ll not make it public,” he expressed.

“The main thing now is that we need to regroup as a team and do our best to level the series in Jamaica where we need to make a strong comeback,” he added.

“What is of concern to us is that we played with basically our second-string batting line-up and it failed badly and we need to work on that,” he noted.

Source: Daily Jang: Urdu News - Latest Breaking News update Pakistan - jang.com.pk

Re: Miscommunication caused Barbados incident: Pak maneger

The recent hyph and partying,celeberations and god knows what not has gone through their heads,I have not a shred of the doubt that this is the case.
Have been saying all along and still like to reafirm the pathetic state of affaires fit for street cricket team who’s arcrivals are the Indians they love beating. The buck stops here. :rolleyes::k:

There’s a whole list of articles on http://web.mid-day.com/sports/sports.htm

Looks like either Waheed Khan is a trouble-maker, or it’s business as usual for a pakistan side, if history is any guide.

Waheed Khan’s report is based on verifiable, authentic source i.e, Director Board Operations, Abbas Zaidi. Take a look at what i sbeing said here and try to be fair and just in determining the responsibility and gravity of gross misconduct.

http://jang.com.pk/thenews/index.html
Players clear up differences as

PCB chief warns to take action in future

• By Waheed Khan*

KARACHI: Chairman Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Shaharyar Khan, reacting promptly to the clash involving Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi and captain Inzamam-ul-Haq in Barbados, has warned the players that such incidents and behaviour would be dealt with swiftly in future.

A senior PCB official confirmed on Monday that Shaharyar had held meetings separately with Afridi, Inzamam, Younis and then with the other team members to discuss the incident.

“He (Shaharyar) was obviously not happy with what had happened but now things have been worked out with Afridi apologising to Younis for his behaviour and Inzamam making it clear he had no problems with Younis at all,” Director Board Operations Abbas Zaidi said.

He said Inzamam, in his meeting with the chairman, had regretted the incident and put it down to some misunderstanding and assured him that he had no problems with Younis. “Similarly, Afridi has also apologised to Younis and the chairman then also spoke to all the other players to clear the air,” Zaidi expressed.

“The players including Younis, Afridi and Inzamam have assured the chairman that they would regroup for the second Test in Jamaica and do their best to square the series and that there would be no such incidents in future,” Zaidi added.

Afridi clashed with stand-in skipper Younis on the first day of the Barbados Test on being told to open the innings. After Afridi and Younis got into an argument, Inzamam was also called in and siding with Afridi he also exchanged words with Younis and there was plenty of bad blood before others intervened.

Zaidi however said the tour disciplinary committee would also submit its report to the Board and take action against the players accordingly. “But with the second Test round the corner this is not the time to decide about what action should be taken. And as it is the matter is now resolved and there is no ill feeling remaining in the team. The players have realised their mistakes and apparently it’s not going to be repeated again,” he said.

However sources said that the tour disciplinary committee might fine Afridi and Younis for their clash.

According to them the chairman had been told by Inzamam that while Afridi was at fault, Younis, recently, had also been behaving badly and was trying to impose his decisions against the advice of the coach and captain. “Inzamam told Shaharyar that he had told Younis that while he was the vice-captain and stand-in skipper but he (Inzamam) was the permanent captain and it was his team so he should be consulted while taking decisions,” the source said.

NOTE: Cross reference with report filed by the Tour Manager in the post before this.

Further confirmation of this incident from Bob’s interview filed by Cricinfo reporter:

http://content.cricinfo.com/wivpak/content/story/210196.html
Woolmer also played down the incident in the dressing-room involving Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi and Inzamam-ul-Haq. The Pakistan media had widely reported that Afridi was apparently upset at being asked to open the batting by Younis, but Woolmer said that the entire incident had been blown out of proportions. “There was a minor misunderstanding and it caused a concern for a while but it did not affect the team in the middle. It was all over the Pakistan press, who made a mountain out of a molehill,” Woolmer added. “That might have affected them psychologically, but there is no excuse really to go out there and play the way they played.”

Idea here is not to smear Pakistan cricket team or score points against fellow guppies, purpose is to highlight the importance of discipline, fairness, transperancy and try to avoid double standards when judging players for acts of indiscipline.

Sadly, we all hv been guilty of idolizing our heroes and find it very difficult to believe they can also be human and make mistakes. But, it does happen and when it does we sud be matured enuff to criticize them and openly discuss their faults. Cause, this is the only way same mistakes will not be repeated.

I have a confesion to make, Inzimam has never impressed me as a captain or human being. His arrogance, selfish personality and professional insecurities hv resulted in the ending of careers for ppl like Rashid Latif and Moin Khan who were always more than willing to help him out in his times of desperate need. Now that he has become the warrior who defeated India, nuthin can touch him. Well folks, there is a famous saying, 'the higher you go, the harder u fall'.

If the PCB Board has a shred of decency, vision to take Pakistan as a respected cricketing nation with integrity, they sud the least issue a stern warning to Inzimam for undermining a sitting captain and make it sure that no one individual becomes bigger than the team discipline.

^ Dude, first of all you should be knowledgable enough to know that Inzimam always supported Moin in all circumstances but you tend to repeatedy present as if Moin's career was ended by Inzimam. Inzimam was the reason Moin played a whole year despite performing consistently horribly. Further more, yes Rashid was the one who brought him back in the team but Rashid blew his chances himself by making stupid comments and upsetting whole team.

Secondly, yes our players our humans and being human they WILL get in arguments every once in a while. Like I said that they spend times with each other more than their respective families and there will be arguments every once in a while. But our press (read WK) overblows such issues. Waheed Khan thrives on negative journalism. Did you actually read the tone he uses in his reports? Sad and unfortunate it is. fkhan2 presented quite a true but bitter reality that we as fans tend to believe all stories coming out of press. Heck we found controversy even in illness of Yoyo's father.

more info on the incident…
Younis may lose vice-captaincy

May 30, 2005 16:58 IST

Pakistan vice-captain Younis Khan may have to pay a heavy price for his clash with skipper Inzamam-ul-Haq and Shahid Afridi during the first Test against West Indies after the Pakistan Cricket Board, while confirming the incident, decided to launch an inquiry into the fracas.

With team manager and a senior PCB official Saleem Altaf saying that proper investigations will be carried out and the player found guilty penalised, media reports in Pakistan said Younis Khan’s contract as vice-captain may not be extended due to the incident in Barbados.

“The incident was of minor nature and Shahid Afridi has been verbally warned. But I will hear the version of both the players and anyone found guilty would be penalised because there is no word like pardon in my books,” Altaf was quoted as saying by The Jang.

The brawl involving the trio after the first day’s play in the Barbados Test when Afridi misbehaved with stand-in skipper Younis Khan over his batting position, with Inzamam supporting the flamboyant all-rounder was reported in the media on Sunday.

Altaf said Afridi and Younis Khan were good friends.

“They are good friends but the incident happened when the two got involved in an argument with Afridi telling Younis that he should have informed him before hand if he had to open the innings. Later, Inzamam intervened and hushed up the matter,” Altaf said.

The newspaper said while it was unlikely that Younis Khan’s contract as vice-captain would be extended, it quoted an unnamed source as saying that the player was temperamental and an emotional character.

“Saleem Altaf has conveyed to PCB chairman Shaharyar Khan that Younis was an unpopular player in the team because of his stubbornness while Inzamam was well respected because of his easy manners,” the report said.

“In the backdrop of Saleem Altaf’s report, it looks certain that Younis be relieved of his duties as Inzamam’s deputy.”

Interestingly, this is the second major incident involving Inzmam and Younis Khan. In the 2003 World Cup at Bulawayo, the two had clashed while playing in a football match.

Ironically, both the incidents – at Barbados and Bulawayo – took place under the nose of Shaharyar Khan who was the manager of Pakistan cricket team for the World Cup. He was also in Barbados to watch the Test which Pakistan lost by 276 runs inside four days.

Another daily, The News, said Younis Khan was facing stiff resistance from his fellow players in his new role as vice-captain and a likely future captain.

“Younis had already started facing minor problems from few players even while he was captaining the side in the last two one-day internationals in St Lucia due to the forced absence of Inzamam,” the report said. “Even in the final ODI, Younis faced problems with Abdul Razzaq who showed his displeasure when he was told that Rao Iftikhar would bowl the death overs.”

“Razzaq wanted to bowl in the final overs but Younis told him that he would like Iftikhar to do this and that left the all-rounder unhappy and in a bad mood,” the daily quoted a source as saying.

The paper said the clash between Younis and some senior players should not surprise those involved in the game.

"It’s no secret that Inzamam and few of the other players were never happy at the sudden promotion of Younis as vice-captain in place of Yousuf Youhana before the Indian tour.

"Inzamam was never happy with this change in status quo as far as the vice captaincy is concerned but given the team was touring India and the jobs of the coach, captain and careers of some other players was on the line, the team gelled together to beat the old enemy.

“The discontent over Younis’ promotion remained until Barbados and only increased because as luck would’ve it whenever he led the side in Inzamam’s absence it enjoyed success. Then one has to understand that Younis has always been a bit of an outspoken character and a bit too brash for the liking of the captain and his supporters in the team,” the paper said.

It is unforunate that Afridi has got away with just apologising. Discpline should be instilled and he should have been penalised more havily. I also find the atitude of Inzi unacceptable. Yes he is the captain but Younis was the captain on the day and his decision should be respected. If younis loses his VC due to this incident it will prove once again that inruly behaviour wins. Really sorry state of affairs. Aren't we all on this board making noises about Shoaib based on discpline. So what is so special about Afridi.

[quote=“Saby[/QUOTE”]

Moin scored more than 700 runs in domestic cricket and was the only centurion in 20/20 tournament. If anyone deserved to be on this tour it was Moin, yet he was not chosen. Can u tell me why Inzimam was so adamant to include Shoaib Malik, Bazid Khan on this tour and yet was unable to press the inclusion of Moin Khan? Cause it didnt suite his interest. He wanted a few things from the board which included exclusion of Shoaib Akhter and the board wanted him to trade and he traded his old buddy. Simple as that.

As for rashid blowing his career, well Bro tell me something when Rashid blew the whistle on Akram and Co. did they boycott his presence? Did they not play together? Here is the difference between professional players confident in their own skills compared to a shallow minded egoistical baboon who cannot see beyond his nose. Sad thing here is Pakistan is the loser because of an individual who cannot handle talented players with leadership skills ie. who can challenge his captaincy.

Latest episode with Yunus Khan is another example of this bafoon’s neanderthal antics with other team mates. If anyone deserves to be reprimanded it is Alloo.

I fail to see your point on how anyone is overreacting when they highlight the indiscipline and cases of misconduct. This fact has been offically accepted by PCB that Afridi misbehaved and Inzimam has also apologized, its better that you also admit the occurence of these events. As to how ppl choose to judge them it is their prerogative. You may not find this a major offense, some may differ and think otherwise.

I agree with you, Younis was the captain on the day Inzi should’ve backed Younis and not Afridi.

I agree, Afridi should have gotten a penality and it should be publicised. Instead they are down playing it and saying he will be punished but it will not be made publically though.

As much as I hate to see Afridi opening in test and defend his wish to come at No. 6, I also won’t like to see any player refusing anything his captain asks him to do. Even if Younis asked Danesh to open, it would still be obliged by him, regardless of cons.

For Younis, he must get some aggression shruded from his shoulder, opening with Afridi outside sub-continent will only harm the top and middle order and will not give you result, you scumhead.

Chalo good. They fought, they apologized and life goes on... But frankly guys, we can harp all day (and night) long on about how the captain (even if he is just a stand-in) should be respected and that it is bad for team discipline for players to be fighting and throwing punches etc... but come on. Anyone who wants Afridi to open a test innings, should be punched. Just lightly, ofcourse! :D

^ That, my dear fellows, is the real issue. Dumb captaincy.

There is no reason why Afridi should be punished. Younis and Afridi had a communication gap which led to a misunderstanding and caused a minor arguement. Waheed Khan is just making the issue big by adding all the mirch and masala into it. Arguements happen between team members all the time...even when our team wins but at that time no one seems to care. But when we lose we try to blame such incidents. Sad but true. Inzi, Younis, and Afridi had an arguement and they appologized. Life goes on. No one should be punished. If anyone should be punished...it should be Waheed Khan for writing such BS.

Pathano mai larai karwadi. Tauba Hai!