My question is this: During Fard, or supererogatory prayers, is it allowed to have a Mushaf to read Quran from during salah? My intention is not to hold it, rather have it set besides me at eye-level, so that I may recite from it until I have memorized it. I have a few surahs memorized, that I end up repeating in each salah.
The purpose is to prolong/lengthen the rakats by reciting from the Quran (on tablet/pc), inshaAllah.
Your input/answers will be greatly appreciated. Please provide source to authenticate the practice. I understand reciting from memory is superior, and inshaAllah I plan to reach that level eventually.
As per my little knowledge, I think there is no hadith pertaining recitation of Qur’an from any Mushaf while in act of prayer. I might be wrong. In this regard you may consult a qualified scholar/Aalim.
What I have seen only one Iman in my town hold a very small Qur’an in his hands while praying namaaz ba-jamaat and that is especially during the month of Ramadhan so he may hold jamaat as long as he can and that was very long time ago. Nowadays we have ‘Hafiz-e-Quran’ who don’t need any Mushaf while praying Namaaz.
On the other hand, I think there is a hadith (not sure) where our Prophet Muhammad read at least six Surah or Para in four rakats. That means you can read more then one Surah in a rakat and this is how you may make your namaaz longer then usual.
JazakAllah. I could certainly do that. But, I want to do more than that. I want to recite more during my salah than what I currently have memorized.
I recall reading that hadith too where Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.) combined Surah Baqarah, Surah Nisa, and Al-e-Imran. That's the role model...only wish I could have it all memorized too. InshaAllah soon perhaps.
I learned/memorized namaaz by setting nammaz manual book besides me at eye-level and its really worked for me. The idea of reading Qur’an I think is :k:
There is another way if u like and that is "play an audio (Tilawat) of any Surah and try to repeat it in one sound. You can do this at any time i.e., walking, driving, relaxing, sitting in home or at office (by playing in your cell phone, desktop, laptop, tab) etc., By listening you can memorize it faster and easily.
Common sense tells us that we should recite the verses of the Qur'an that we know, well enough to reflect on their meanings and well enough that by reciting them they do not disturb our focus in our connection with Allah (SWT) ...
Reading from a script during prayer is sort of like cheating ... If it becomes common place to do that then people will stop memorising and start reading from a script and people will lose the Qur'an gradually ... Even if the intent was to memorise the Qur'an ... The fear is in me that this practice might become the norm.
Understood brother. My fear of this has been the same for myself, hence I just relied on whatever I have committed to my memory. InshaAllah will just work harder and memorize more, even if at snail's pace.
Memorising can be really difficult if there are distractions in our lives ... What is best bro is if you memorise first and then practice and strengthen the already memorised verses during prayer ... Get someone to correct you while you pray or recite to them while they read the mushaf ... Every verse with an error you read over 10 times and then start again until you have got it done ... If you repeat it twice in a sitting without error recite it in prayer ... Regularly.
inshaAllah I will do that. I plan to revise my recitation anyways, inshaAllah Allah (swt) will have mercy and make it easy for my memory to absorb it.
MashaAllah ... So what Surahs are you currently learning? I am very weak on some of the middle Surahs in Juz Amma, but I like listening to Surah Mujadilah and Surah Hadeed ... Surahs Waqiah, Mulk I also need to learn ... But I get little time ...
I'm currently just pacing along with recitation. Have not focused on memorization yet. InshaAllah will start Surah Az-Zukhruf later today. Surah Mulk has so many benefits. You should recite it daily. Once I've finished reciting, then I can start to commit it to my memory. inshaAllah.
As a small child 6-7 maybe, my grandmother taught me and had me memorise surah yaseen, ( it was before my milk tooth started going) and I remember reciting it to everyone in family.
I've recently memorised it again as parts of it were forgotten . I also did what psyah bhai has suggested, worked on 2-3 Ayahs and then moved on. Another thing that helped is to go through the meaning of Ayahs as well, it keeps the continuity of the coming Ayahs.
Please pray for me as well, there is long to remember list pending with me, including last 2 ruku of Surah Zamr, Last rukus of Surah aal e Imran, Surah Zakhraf , surah taghabun.
I have not read the fatwaa that bao posted, but according to Hanafi faith I think , reading anything while praying is Amal-e-Kaseera and Amal-e-Kaseera nullifies the salaat. So for instance if you are praying and there is a banner hanging in front of you and you start reading it, it will break your salat. Same is for reading Quran from writing.
In what the brother posted, it said that Imam Abu Hanifa (May Allah have mercy on him) believed that reading from anything outside of memorized Quran nullifies the salah because you're taking inspiration from a source other than what you have committed to memory.
Imam's two student however were of the opinion that reading from a Mushaf does not invalidate the salah, but the act is disliked.