Raza Gillani elected as PM, Gets 264 votes

Re: Raza Gillani nominated as PM

absolutely! Id like to exchange "someone is" with "many here are" :)

Reza Gillani gets 264 votes, Pervaiz Elahi 42.

Gillani got the biggest vote in the history of Pakistan.

When Gillani announced the immediate release of the judges the house erupted with joy and resounded with "Go Musharraf Go" slogans.

Re: Raza Gillani elected as PM, Gets 264 votes

^ 264 votes is a lottt! Lets see what they really do about judges issue whether its only talk the talk or does it become walk the walk. I personally would prefer judges who refused the first PCO but then it would be just me :D

Police is removing barbwires outside of judges houses as ordered by the new PM.

Ehsan bhai. You must have mis-heard. They were shouting 'Go to Musharaf, Go to Musharaf'. People need to be patient. Gilani will be 'Going to Musharaf' to be sworn in as the new PM very soon. :D

aap jaisay logo ki waja se aaj Musharraf ki beizti kharab ho rahi hai, koi bhi dhamaka ho/hangama ho/qatl-o-gharat ho aap log forun se boltay ho "Sir, sab theek hay, pareshani ki koi baat nahi".

Iftikhar Chaudhary is out....Let's wait again for looting to begin in the country.

Hahaha......... Ya Gilani needs to take asheerbaad from Musharraf soon.

true. that is boob pressing, big difference. :D

Thank you very much. Otherwise it will be huge blow to the unity.

The era of brutal one man show is coming to an end.

bilawal in tears :(

bhai sahib jab Musharraf ne Asif Zardari (aka Mr 10%) ko chhor diya to Itikhar Ch to bohot hi chhoti machhli hay, us ke riha honay se kia farq paray ga khazanay pe?

Aalsi,

How he had issued orders for release of judges arrested by Mush, before he took oath as PM under Mush? These orders have already been accepted by bureaucrats and judges released. Now tell me does it matter if he sworn in as PM under Mush? I don't understand that.

Indeed he does, along with the cabinet members. If he does not, then why would he be going to the great President Musharaf tomorrow. :)

how is our prime minister's name pronounced? Gilani - G as in Gamer or G as in Geo ??

G as in Gamer

Some of you guys are just stuck in semantics.

• who will take oath from whom
  • great presidente, fair elections
  • how to roll-back to pre-Nov 2
  • etc etc etc

I am actually more curious about the voting for the PM. Gilani got 264. Pervez Elahi got 42.

42??? Thats very low. Forget their allies, I thought even PML-Q got more seats than that? So Forward Bloc already working???

Anyway, seems like the tide is changing and the numbers in the Parliament are just an indicator. Looking at this voting pattern, pro-Musharraf Parliamentarians are getting fewer, and that creates infinitely more problems for Musharaf. Yes, if he choses, he can hang on to power (and administer oaths and insist that judges can't be brought back), but his source of power is Army. He is no longer in uniform. Yes, Kiyani is his friend, but there is a limit to Kiyani's patience. Question is how long will it take Kiyani to say, "you know what, I don't want Army to be further dragged in this mess, just to keep ONE person in power". As soon as Kiyani pulls his support, that will be the final nail in the proverbial coffin and Mushy will leave. American support will prove fleeting like always. I bet Americans are already making new "partners" in the new ruling coalition.

If Mushy leaves, it wouldn't matter if Ifti Chaudhri is brought back. Seriously. Except for a few dumb lawyers, pretty much everyone who is shouting to bring back Ifti Chaudhry is just looking at it to get rid of Mushy. If this scenario plays out, then Soomro (or who ever) will take over as President. There will be legal/logistical/constitutional problems to bring back Ifti, and he will be honorably retired. Remember, neither Nawaz Sharif nor Zardari have any interest in bringing back a popular and powerful Chief Justice. This is just way too dangerous a sword and both of them are bitten by a high strung judiciary (remember Sajjad Ali Shah??). Right now, all the talk about restoration of judges is merely a political move in a great game of chess. Don't hold your breath for it to happen. And its not really that important, to be honest.

And lastly, I don't think there is any scenario right now where Kiyani will impose Martial Law or Mushy can dissolve the Parliament. There is only so much trouble Army will be willing to go to, to keep Mushy in power, and both these options are way too messy and will be deeply unpopular, not to mention completely illogical. Soldiers know (I am talking about Corps Commanders now), which battles to fight and which not to get into. Trying to keep Mushy in place is now crossing over into the unpalatable range.

I think Kiyani will not jeoperdize his own standing as the commander because Militarymen are just fed up with all the politico-inference as well (for now anyways). So Musharraf cannot really expect the Army to be his personal entity anymore. Yes if the reason(s) arise that require army to intervene and contain a situation, that can/will happen.

As far as Gillani goes, i would've liked Amin Fahim to be the man for PM. But hey, u never know.

IF...a big IF, Musharraf leaves. Amin Fahim maybe the man for that job. When asked a few weeks back if he's like to be President, he smiled and said 'That position is not vacant yet'...

What if..............?