In a bizarre incident that shows special treatment being meted out to double-murder accused US diplomat Raymond Davis in Pakistani prison, the loudspeakers in Lahore’s Kot Lakhpat Jail were muted after he complained about the prayer call on Monday morning.
Davis lodged a protest with the jail authorities on “being disturbed by the morning prayer call,” The Nation reports.
“He started shouting in a quite savage manner in the wee hours when the Azaan was in progress and the prisoners were waking up for the prayers,” said a prisoner, who requested not to be named.
The inmate said that Davis started shouting: “Shut the louder or I will raise the matter with the (US) Consulate.”
“Surprisingly, jail officials shut the loudspeaker. It prompted the other prisoners to protest. In return, the officials switched the speaker back on,” he added.
An official of the Kot Lakhpat Jail said that Davis had started huffing and puffing on hearing the Friday prayer call on his first day in that jail.
“Seeing four prisoners offering Asr prayers in the corridor of their barrack, Davis started grumbling in a derogatory way,” he added.
Another jail officer claimed that the US official also abused Jail Superintendent Mian Mushtaq Awan, who was trying to pacify him.
Initially, Davis, who is facing murder charges, misbehaved with Awan’s subordinates when they woke him up for breakfast around 8am.
“You all are bloody *******s. How dare you wake me without my permission? Now get lost,” Davis swore at them.
The officer said that he had just woken Davis up to tell him that some senior officers, transferred from other jails for the special duty, had brought him breakfast, but he flew into a rage.
Then the senior officials themselves gave it a try, pleading humbly: “Davis Sahib, please take your breakfast”.
But, instead of cooling down, Davis shouted in reply: “You uncivilised fools don’t even make good servants. Is this the method to serve?”
On being informed, Jail Superintendent Awan arrived within no time and tried his best to placate Davis, who abused him also, saying: “I am saying you should go now, *******.”
The officer said that though the senior officers could understand what Davis was saying, they asked Awan, who tried to downplay it, saying: “Davis was using meaningless slang.”
The other prisoners, who continue to face acute shortage of basic necessities in the Kot Lakhpat Jail, say that they see the imprisoned US official’ behaviour as highly intolerable.
Re: Raymond Davis' antics in jail
What the hell was this idiot doing in a country where azaan is called 5 times a day on loudspeakers throughtout? He is definitely using special tactics to manipulate situation so if jail authorities use 'special technics' to counter him then he alongwith his accomplices in US consulate will cause another international storm.
How does an Indian newspaper know the exact words said in a Pakistani jail?
Re: Raymond Davis’ antics in jail
Is this story for real ?
My doubts are confirmed. he is not in jail. it is just a diversion to make it look like he is in jail
infect he is in american embassy sipping on his drink.
tere mun mai khaak
پاکستانی ميڈيا پر امريکی سفارت کار کی جانب سے کوٹ لکھپت جيل ميں مبينہ بدتميزی کے حوالے سے
غلط رپورٹ کی گئ کہانياں ہماری نظروں سے گزری ہيں۔ کچھ اخبارات نے
تو يہ بے بنياد الزامات بھی لگاۓ ہيں کہ امريکی سفارت کار کو جيل ميں
خصوصی مراعات دی جا رہی ہيں۔ ليکن سينير امريکی اہلکار جو کہ نا صرف يہ کہ گرفتار
امريکی سفارت کار سے مسلسل رابطے میں ہیں بلکہ پوليس انتظاميہ سے بھی مل چکے ہيں، ان کی
جانب سے ان خبروں کی واضح تردید جاری کر دی گئ ہے۔
لاہور ميں امريکی کونسل جرنل کارميلا کانراۓ نے پریس میں پوليس انتظاميہ کے
ارکان کی جانب سے ديے گۓ بيانات کے حوالے دے کر يہ واضح کيا ہے کہ گرفتار شدہ امريکی سفارت کار
نے اپنی گرفتاری کے سارے عمل کے دوران مناسب رويہ اختيار کيا ہے۔
اس کے ساتھ ساتھ کانراۓ نے بعض اخبارات ميں شائع ہونے والی ان خبروں کی سختی سے ترديد کی ہے
کہ ريمنڈ ڈيوس اور ان سے ملاقات کے ليے آنے والے امريکی افسران نے کسی بھی موقع پر بدتميزی کی ہے۔
کانراۓ نے 27 جنوری کو ريمنڈ ڈيوس کی غير قانونی گرفتاری کے بعد کئ بار ان سے ملاقات کی ہے۔
انھوں نے اپنے بيان ميں کہا کہ وہ جيل کی انتظاميہ کی جانب سے پيشہ ورانہ برتاؤ پر ان کو خراج تحسين پيش کرتی ہیں
۔ ريمنڈ ڈيوس کو ايک عام قیدی کی طرح رکھا گيا ہے۔ انھيں ٹی وی، انٹرنيٹ، ٹيلی فون اور کسی بھی دوسرے برقی آلات تک رسائ نہیں ہے
اور وہ اپنی فيملی سے براہراست رابطے کی پوزيشن ميں بھی نہیں ہيں۔
انھيں بالکل وہی ماحول ميسر ہے جو کسی بھی پاکستانی قيدی کو اس سخت حفاظتی عمارت ميں حاصل ہے۔
وہ ايک کنکريٹ پيڈ کے اوپر فوم کے گدے پر سوتے ہيں۔
کسی بھی غیر ملکی قیدی کی طرح ريمنڈ ڈيوس کو بھی عالمی اور پاکستانی قوانين کے عین مطابق کونسل خانے سے رسائ حاصل ہے۔
انھيں صرف بنيادی لباس، ادويات، راشن اور غسل خانے کے حوالے سے اشياء فراہم کی گئ ہيں۔
ذوالفقار– ڈيجيٹل آؤٹ ريچ ٹيم – يو ايس اسٹيٹ ڈيپارٹمينٹ
[EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]
http://www.facebook.com/pages/USUrduDigitalOutreach/122365134490320?v=wall
^ Who is this guy?
Zulfiqar Bhai,
Are you an employee of the State Dept. or just a volunteer?
Just curious.
He is writing here with his official address.He is on duty.Let him do his duty.
Thank you Mr Zulfqar.Thank you for writing good Urdu.
.ہمارا کیا ہے - چھ پدی چھ پدی کا شوربہ
Yaar zulfi, is their any job available at state dept. ?
I promise i will post hefty threads & posts on gs every single day ;)
میں اپنا تعارف اس فورم پر کرا چکا ہوں۔ شايد آپ نے وہ پوسٹنگ ديکھی نہیں ہوگی۔
میں يو ايس ڈيپارٹمنٹ آف سٹيٹ کی نمائیندگی کرتا ہوں۔ ہماری ٹيم کے لوگ
کئ سالوں سے مختلف فورمز اور نيوز ویبسائٹز پر بے دوسروں لوگوں کے
لکھے گۓ بنياد الزامات اور غلط معلومات کا جواب دے رہے ہيں۔
يہ ہم اس ليے کرتے ہيں تاکہ کسی بھی ايشو کے بارےميں اردو بولنے والے
حضرات تک ہمارے نقطہ نظر سے آگاہ ہو سکيں۔ آپ جانتے ہيں کہ ان فورمز پر
جھوٹی اور من گھڑت افواہوں کی کوئ کمی نہيں ہے اس ليے يہ ہم ضروری سمجھتے ہيں
کہ ہم ان خبروں کی ہم بروقت انداز میں آزمائشی اعداد وشمار
اور معروضی تجزیہ کے ساتھ اصلاح کريں۔
ذوالفقار- ڈيجيٹل آؤٹ ريچ ٹيم – يو ايس اسٹيٹ ڈيپارٹمينٹ
[EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]
http://www.facebook.com/pages/USUrduDigitalOutreach/122365134490320?v=wall](http://www.facebook.com/pages/USUrduDigitalOutreach/122365134490320?v=wall)
Google Translator sucks:
I'm making my introduction to this forum. Perhaps your view will not be posting it.
Or I'll represent active dypartmnt of styt. Our team of people
Several years on various forums and nyuz uybsaytz other people who
Went written based charges and giving false information are answered.
So that we may do so by any aysu barymyn Urdu-speaking
Gentlemen may be able to be aware of our approach. You may know that on these forums
Fabricated false and there is no shortage of rumors so that we may consider necessary
We view these reports in timely test data we
With objective analysis and optimization Calendar.
Zulfiqar - dyjytl ryc team out - or active astyt dypartmynt
A prisoner abusing a Pakistani correctional officer. Talk about the horse being before the cart!
Zulfiqar,
Thanks for repeating your introduction. Some people may doubt your credentials. But, the fact that you are the only one writing in Urdu in this English forum is proof that you are from a government bureaucracy.
Sandals said, "A prisoner abusing a Pakistani correctional officer. Talk about the horse being before the cart!"
Surely you are not falling for this story? If so, I have a bridge to sell you...
It is just hogwash.
I don't know if you've ever been in a Pakistani jail, I have. Not in the cell itself, but on the premises. Prisoner abuse isn't unique to Pakistan, but its certainly a common occurrence.
I wonder how he would have ben treated by the Police?
Thanks for the translation. Btw, he probably doesn't know, but most of members of the GS forum probably cant read Urdu. lol
Google Translator sucks:
I'm making my introduction to this forum. Perhaps your view will not be posting it. Or I'll represent active dypartmnt of styt. Our team of people Several years on various forums and nyuz uybsaytz other people who Went written based charges and giving false information are answered.
So that we may do so by any aysu barymyn Urdu-speaking Gentlemen may be able to be aware of our approach. You may know that on these forums Fabricated false and there is no shortage of rumors so that we may consider necessary We view these reports in timely test data we With objective analysis and optimization Calendar.
Zulfiqar - dyjytl ryc team out - or active astyt dypartmynt
well the police men must have slapped on his face and must have told him that bloody thats not ur dad’s house where ur bloody rules apply.