I have never been to an ubtan rasam so just wondering what usually happens there other than putting ubtan on the dulhan? In my family for the mehendi rasam, everyone does the usual mehendi lagana and tail girana and feeding endless bouts of mithai. For my mamoo’s shadis in the 80’s and 90’s i saw my nani or eldest mami do a little dance with or around the “peerhi” the dulha would be sitting on. The song playing would be , “mehendi tan sajdi jay nachay munday di maan”. Yep, i belong to a true punjabi family.
So what are some of the things that are part of these rasams in your family? Please share.
i had never been to any ubtan/mayoun rasam thing either...mine was the first one i attended...heheh
my inlaws brought the yellow dress and churiyaan and mithaee and all flower jewellery,that was all made using the yellow flowers...there were flower earring like things,gajras and flowers to put in and around the braid etc....
and they brought some taail/oil and ubtan ....
and just like the mehndi rasam is done with all the ladies putting oil in the hair and giving some sweets to the bride and putting ubtan on her face and all...the rasam was done....
then on the mehndi day ceremony,which was after 3 days ......i was again wearing a yellow dress(not the same one from the mayoun though...because it was ruined with all the oil and ubtan and stuff).....with lots of flowers...this time all red...because we had our nikkah done the same day before the rasam started....
and after that was the usual mehndi ceremony....hubby was there too and first all ladies from his family did the rasam and then aunties from my side did it for him....and all this was followed by some dances done by sisters and cousins from both sides...
and although my MIL is a punjabi but she was born and raised in Peshawar...so someone made her do a little of the peshawari type dance...i dont know what it is actually called...but it was really cute...:)....
awww...sweet memories...!!!
and i remember seeing this "mehdi tan sajdee jay nachay munday dee maan" type dances on my mamun's and phuppoo's shadee....i wonder if they still do that....but it always used to look so cute....!!!
Do friends get to eat the mithai at mehndi rasms?!?! just wondering!
Well in my family, usually girls do that dandiya and mehndi nachana thing in the beginning and then the mehndi rasm/tail/ubtan lagana followed by girls sitting around the dholki and singing songs. Most of the time, they even dedicate the songs to the family members depending on their personlities that becomes soo much fun and everyone looks forward to the song dedicated to them....later in the nite when guests leave, it's a pure family fun where couples dance, infact more precisely bhangras randomly just to entertain the dulha or dulhan who were just staring down while the other rasms were happening outside. :D
im not having a mayoun, but at my mehendi, it'll roughly be like gemini outlined... andrew will walk in, then my cousins with the trays of mehendi will walk in, then i'll walk in, then we do the rasams where people give you money and bless you (saat suhagan i think its called?), feed you mithai, put some mehendi on the leaf you're holding in your palm, etc... and then there'll be dandiyan and my cousins will do some bollywood style dancing and the dhol and singing and then dinner and then some more partying and then people head home! oh and in there somewhere, i'm going to make andrew and his groomsmen do some sort of bhangra haha and i also plan to get up and join my cousins in some sort of choreographed routine... should be fun!
Oh as someone once said that its a hindu tradition for the bride to sit in a mayyun with her head covered and all so does that mean when i get married i can walk around my house without covering my head and can talk to my male cousins?
Ok what is the poitn of a mayyoun? From what I’ve known and seen, same rasams are done, except hte bride isnt dressed up in the mayyoun and is on the mehndi
i think the proper answer to an ubtan and mayoun and mehndi a karachi walay can give...because they really do those rasams...and punjabis just combine it :p i guess it's because in punjabi wedings they have sangeet and mehndi...and translated across the border its dholkis and mehndis.
as far as i understand from what my friend tells me, once a girl sits on mayoun...she can't leave the house. she wears a yellow jora only, and all her work is done by the family etc. errmm i gonna ask her for sure what these rasms are...and then let you know
there are no men in mayyoun in my family while the mendhi is not segregated - thats the difference - on mayyouns girls wear completely yellow ghar ka jaisa shalwar kamees on mendhi they have better clothes with a bit of either blue or green etc...:D i was talking about the other thing when the girl is not supposed to take a bath and go outside her room and definately doesnt interact with men..my khala did all that actually she even went to the dharzi and scolded him for making her shalwar ghalat but she was covering her head (only her hair part) all the time...
dholki's before the actual mehndi. any time when the girls are gathered together and they play the dholki and practice, is well...a dholki :p it can be held at the mayoun rasm too...and it would be a dholki and mayoun then. in our family it's an occasion to lar jaghar between the girls and practice our songs :p
doesnt matter i guess - you just dance and hop then..hamaray ghar mein to shaadi ki ek raat pehlay bhi dholki happens and one dholki is held before and after the engagement as well and later when the wedding functions approach..
it feels weird playing the dholki after the mehndi. but usually we are just so tired and busy with planning the day's activities we don't do the dholki
haan, we usually end up having weekly dholkis the closer we get to the wedding...
same here. it starts with weekly dholkis, then escalates to daily ones :D
i like it when the little girlies apnay dil ki bharas nikalti hain, dholki baja baja kar aur dance kar kar kay cuz the older girlies don’t let them :halo:
Haha- nahi aaisa toh kuch nahi hai...its just fun dancing and singing with all your friends and family members. my mama's and elders of the family become babies during that time and we play musical chairs - ironically my nana/ nani win the game and its not even like we let them win on purpose.