Re: Rape capital of India
What last memory she had.. of this world :( :(
Indians for their part are generally very sensitive to particular issues in their society. The dynamics of change CREATE the impetus for further change. The rise of India over the last 2 decades means a society that is awake to such issues. I dont think they can sweep this under the rug so easily.
This is absolutely right! If Indians wants to live up to "Incredible India", then Indians must be magnanimous and be willing to look at themselves!
Very Good, very good… Zara aughr Zohr sai maro! ![]()
By the way, making a fool of yourself has never stopped you from posting… Half the forum thinks your being a fool intentionally to get attention, and the other half think your just like this by nature..
I admire the people who are protesting in the cruel cold of Delhi for days. While all the political parties and socital organizations stayed at home, it was a leaderless protest done by young and educated of india.
It is important to stop facebook and twitter protests and come out in person for this generation. Our country got its independence by protests and satyagraha and it can be only fixed by the same.
Though i have seen the change, may be it is temporary but it is definitely here. Cops are more vigilent and society is more careful, may be lasts long.
We should not forget that even 3 or 4 year old kids are not spared by such beasts....:(
Ji janab I know for sure that U are not that insensitive. But I was really unable to understand the cause of ur sweet-looking grin, at this inappropriate time and place. May I know why? May ALLAH show U the right path, AMEEN.
The smiley was appropriate for the sentence it followed. Very simple to understand. Now try not to drag it or argue further!
Yeah right diwana saheb, U can pose questions, U can use foul language against anyone, but anyone who tries to answer U or show U the mirror is making a fool of him/herself. U are entitled to ur views, others are not. Reminds me what Iqbal said about ppls like ME.
**Iqbal Bara Updeshak Hai, Man Bato Se Moh Leta Hai Guftar Ka Woh Gazi To Bana, Kirdar Ka Gazi Ban Na Saka.
**Thanks.
Nice shayr. I do like it. Thanks.
Very Good, very good... Zara aughr Zohr sai maro! :)
By the way, making a fool of yourself has never stopped you from posting... Half the forum thinks your being a fool intentionally to get attention, and the other half think your just like this by nature..
Please submit your thesis on me at Institute for Research on diwana (IRD). Many others have done also. Yours truly will be glad to review it.
Until then please refrain from bringing Pakistan or Islam in every thread related or not. Thank you very much.
Please submit your thesis on me at Institute for Research on diwana (IRD). Many others have done also. Yours truly will be glad to review it.
Until then please refrain from bringing Pakistan or Islam in every thread related or not. Thank you very much.
No one cares enough about you to research you directly, although your condition has already been well studied. But they didnt name it after you, :so sad:
And I, as well everyone ELSE with two functioning hemispheres, will consistently and without fail, ALWAYS always bring Pakistan AND ISLAM into every single discussion wherever we feel its relevant. You can go burry your head in the sand.
Your welcome. :D
So why did you decide to post your garbage conclusion and become spokesperson of people on this BB? ![]()
Your answer was pretty much expected considering you admitted having one tract mind.
**Try proving how this event which occurred in Indian Rape capital is related to Pakistan and Islam using both hemispheres of your brain!!!
**I know you will come up with some cooked up ideas as usual.
Now I am not sure why did you try to make Raj and others mad by placing this grin smiley?
Anyways, you can keep burying your head in sand since in your favorite and beloved country more rape attacks were carried out on New year despite recent event.
India Gang Rape Victim’s Ashes Scattered, More Attacks Stoke Debate
**“NEW YEAR, NEW ATTACKS”
Indian media reported a string of new attacks on Tuesday, including a woman set on fire, allegedly by a stalker, in Uttar Pradesh and another woman stabbed to death in a busy market district of eastern Delhi.
India Gang Rape Case Sets Off Debate Over Women’s RightsNEW DELHI — India’s army and navy canceled New Year’s celebrations on Monday out of respect for a New Delhi student whose gang-rape and murder has set off an impassioned debate about what the nation needs to do to prevent such a tragedy from happening again.
Protesters and politicians have called for tougher rape laws, major police reforms and a transformation in the way the country treats its women.
The Unspeakable Truth About Rape in India. As a teenager, I learned to protect myself. I never stood alone if I could help it, and I walked quickly, crossing my arms over my chest, refusing to make eye contact or smile. I cleaved through crowds shoulder-first, and avoided leaving the house after dark except in a private car. At an age when young women elsewhere were experimenting with daring new looks, I wore clothes that were two sizes too large. I still cannot dress attractively without feeling that I am endangering myself.
Things didn’t change when I became an adult. Pepper spray wasn’t available, and my friends, all of them middle- or upper-middle-class like me, carried safety pins or other makeshift weapons to and from their universities and jobs. One carried a knife, and insisted I do the same. I refused; some days I was so full of anger I would have used it — or, worse, had it used on me.
The steady thrum of whistles, catcalls, hisses, sexual innuendos and open threats continued. Packs of men dawdled on the street, and singing Hindi film songs, rich with double entendres, was how they communicated. To make their demands clear, they would thrust their pelvises at female passers-by.
If only it was just public spaces that were unsafe. In my office at a prominent newsmagazine, at the doctor’s office, even at a house party — I couldn’t escape the intimidation.
On Dec. 16, as the world now knows, a 23-year-old woman and a male friend were returning home after watching the movie “Life of Pi” at a mall in southwest Delhi. After they boarded what seemed to be a passenger bus, the six men inside gang-raped and tortured the woman so brutally that her intestines were destroyed. The bus service had been a ruse. The attackers also severely beat up the woman’s friend and threw them from the vehicle, leaving her to die.
The young woman didn’t oblige. She had started that evening watching a film about a survivor, and must have been determined to survive herself. Then she produced another miracle. In Delhi, a city habituated to the debasement of women, tens of thousands of people took to the streets and faced down police officers, tear gas and water cannons to express their outrage. It was the most vocal protest against sexual assault and rape in India to date, and it set off nationwide demonstrations.
To protect her privacy the victim’s name was not released publicly. But while she remains nameless, she did not remain faceless. To see her face, women had only to look in the mirror. The full measure of their vulnerability was finally understood.
When I was 26, I moved to Mumbai. A commercial and financial megalopolis, it has its own special set of problems, but has, culturally, been more cosmopolitan and liberal than Delhi. Giddy with my new freedom, I started to report from the red-light district and traveled across rough suburbs late at night — on my own and using public transit. It seemed that something good had come out of living in Delhi: I was so grateful for the comparatively safe environment of Mumbai that I took full advantage of it.
The young woman, however, will never have such an opportunity. On Saturday morning, 13 days after she was brutalized, this student of physical therapy, who had, no doubt, dreamt of improving lives, lost her own. She died of multiple organ failure.
India has laws against rape; seats reserved for women in buses, female officers; special police help lines. But these measures have been ineffective in the face of a patriarchal and misogynistic culture. It is a culture that believes that the worst aspect of rape is the defilement of the victim, who will no longer be able to find a man to marry her — and that the solution is to marry the rapist.
These beliefs aren’t restricted to living rooms, but are expressed openly. In the months before the gang rape, some prominent politicians had attributed rising rape statistics to women’s increasing use of cellphones and going out at night. “Just because India achieved freedom at midnight does not mean that women can venture out after dark,” said Botsa Satyanarayana, the Congress Party leader in the state of Andhra Pradesh.
Change is possible, but the police must document reports of rape and sexual assault, and investigations and court cases have to be fast-tracked and not left to linger for years. Of the more than 600 rape cases reported in Delhi in 2012, only one led to a conviction. If victims believe they will receive justice, they will be more willing to speak up. If potential rapists fear the consequences of their actions, they will not pluck women off the streets with impunity.
The volume of protests in public and in the media has made clear that the attack was a turning point. The unspeakable truth is that the young woman attacked on Dec. 16 was more fortunate than many rape victims. She was among the very few to receive anything close to justice. She was hospitalized, her statement was recorded and within days all six of the suspected rapists were caught and, now, charged with murder. Such efficiency is unheard-of in India.
In retrospect it wasn’t the brutality of the attack on the young woman that made her tragedy unusual; it was that an attack had, at last, elicited a response.
Sonia Faleiro is the author of “Beautiful Thing: Inside the Secret World of Bombay’s Dance Bars.”
New year, old shame: 17-year-old raped by two in Delhi on December 31 night - The Times of India
just read this article…
with strict laws we need to educate girls about safety and security…
I believe people in India are reaching the conclusion that our boys need more educating than the girls. This understanding is one thing that is different about this incident.
We should stop having such sexually repressive societies and start treating women with respect. Also, please, control your lust.
What do you mean by sexually repressive societies? do we not have rape/gang-rape cases in sexually progressive societies?
The smiley was appropriate for the sentence it followed. Very simple to understand. Now try not to drag it or argue further!
The thing one has to understand is, what may be appropriate for one may be otherwise for others. BTW U are more than welcome to express ur views. Thats only why we all are here. Plz refrain to tell me what to do or what not.
Nice shayr. I do like it. Thanks.
Shukriya.
Rape victim’s friend appears on TV; slams police, ‘apathetic’ public
*Why do the police need to pat themselves for catching the rapists, it’s their job’; police to file case against Zee News which aired the interviewThe 23-year-old gangrape victim’s friend appeared on television on Friday evening to say that while the protests against the crime were welcome, the fact remains that no one from the public had tried to help the two of them on December 16 as they lay beaten and bloodied on the road for nearly half an hour.“If we are lighting candles to support someone, I feel that we should also help someone who is lying on the road. We were without clothes. We tried to stop people passing by. For about 25 minutes, several auto-rickshaws, cars and bikes slowed down but no one stopped. Then someone called the police. Three PCR vans arrived after 45 minutes, before that no one came to help us,” the victim’s friend said in an interview to Sudhir Chaudhary, editor of Zee News.“We didn’t have clothes, we were not able to stand and there were people passing by… They could have taken us to hospital, given us clothes in that crucial one and a half hours. For a dying person, every minute is important,” he said, adding that even when the police finally took them to hospital, “no one even brought us a blanket”.“At the hospital, we had to wait and I had to literally beg for clothes. I managed to borrow a mobile from someone to call my family,” the friend, who is the only witness to the horrific assault on the woman, said.
Male friend of gangrape victim slams police, public apathy
Breaking his silence, the male friend of the Delhi gangrape victim tonight severely criticised the Delhi Police for its tardy response and bemoaned public apathy after both of them had been badly injured and thrown out of the bus after she was gangraped by six men.He said that they had been lured into boarding the private bus on December 16 night at Munirka in South Delhi."The bus occupants had everything planned. Apart from the driver and helper, others behaved like they were passengers. we even paid Rs.20 as fare. Then they started teasing my friend and same led to a brawl. I beat three of them up but then the rest of them brought an iron rod and hit me. Before I fell unconscious, they took my friend away," he told Zee News in an interview telecast tonight."From where we boarded the bus, they moved around for nearly two and a half hours. We were shouting, trying to make people hear us. But they switched the lights of the bus off.We tried to resist them. Even my friend fought with them, she tried to save me. She tried to dial the police control room no.100, but the accused snatched her mobile away," the male friend said.He said before throwing them from the bus, "they snatched our mobiles and tore off our clothes in order to destroy any evidence of the crime".Recounting the sequence of events on that fateful night, he said, "after throwing us off the bus, they tried to mow us down but I saved my friend by pulling her away in the nick of time. We were without clothes. We tried to stop passers by.
From all appearances progress is being made. On TV certain politicians who tried to blame the girl had to eat their words. In Mumbai protests were not well attended. Delhi was a different story.
... Talk Talk.
You sound frustrated... Perhaps your not praying hard enough?!?!
And get this stupid thought out of your head. i dont have a problem with Islam. i have a problem with the way Islam is practiced by many of the so called Muslim nations. Pakistan is an example where religion has been turned into something divisive and ugly. and such is the case with any nation that thinks they can run official policy on dogma. This includes PAKISTAN and IRELAND in the case of the Indian women who died there.
I dont need to prove prove my love for my country or my faith to the likes of YOU. Its people like YOU that have helped destroy the country.
From all appearances progress is being made. On TV certain politicians who tried to blame the girl had to eat their words. In Mumbai protests were not well attended. Delhi was a different story.
Nice to see people are awake to the situation in India. I wish we had something similar happening in Pakistan, but most people there are complete "Diwana."
Your new Sig. at the bottom should read, ... secularism vs the brain dead. Seems more accurate.
I agree with you!