Rangers kill Innocent Man in Karachi

Re: Rangers kill Innocent Man in Karachi

I know. and I am not justifying the murder, but it was the toy gun (and whatever he was trying to do with that toy gun) that started it all.

Let me ask you this. Knowing what you know about law and order situation of karachi, would you try to do some smarty pant act using a toy gun? I am sure not, right. Remember Sialkot incident where mob killed two brothers, pretty much out of similar circumstances. Before that, mob in Karachi burnt dacoits alive. Point is that you just cannot play games in Pakistan without risking your life and that young man did that and ended up meeting tragic consequence.

I disagree, the guy wasn't trying to "snatch" the gun, he was merely begging to not point and shoot the gun towards him, he probably knew he was going to be shot so he was desperate enough to attempt to move the gun and when he was actually shot he was already pushed far away from that gun.

And people keep bringing up what could've happened in US... guess what media here would've raised the same issue "excessive use of force".

So he was robbing people using toy gun?

But there was no media journalist relationship with Sialkot lynching, was there?

"Probably" and being sure are two different things, hence why I made it clear in my post that it could be anything, avoidance of being shot or attempts to snatch the gun away. Whatever the case, none of both can be justified, as both were equally wrong. I genuinely wish the guy had not taken steps towards the officers, as that possibly could have avoided him being killed.

As for what may have happened in the states, difference of opinions really. Many believe he would have not been shot while simultaneously many believe he would have been shot. I for one choose to believe in the latter, and that is just my opinion.

A toy gun that appears to be real, yes, a toy gun that gives the same death scare as a real gun does, yes.

There was no media link in the Sialkot lynching case, I agree. However the case being discussed in this thread is different altogether.

Note that I didn't say "probably not snatching", he was clearly pushed back and then shot, if he was shot while trying to move the gun away then you had a point.

No difference really, that was extra-judicial killing while police was involved and in this extra-judicial killing Rangers is involved, so the common factor is extra-judicial killing making the hue-and-cry.

Fair enough, not snatching but "probably knew he was going to be shot so he was desperate enough to attempt to move the gun and when he was actually shot he was already pushed far away from that gun." Probability factor stands and hence does my point.

He was pushed back because he was following the officer with the gun, be it begging for mercy or intentions to snatch. You just cannot follow an officer with a loaded gun. If he had to ask for mercy he could have chose another officer, perhaps the head of the unit who was standing on his right? perhaps not be following the officer with the gun and instead be on his knees? What could be and what could not be is not the debate here, following the GUN was just not acceptable or the right move and that is and always was my point.

I repeat, the incident being discussed in this thread is different from the Sialkot incident. Have had a few experiences of being on online forums before and have noticed it not to be a welcoming case where a member brings up a different incident into the mix. However, yes the Sialkot incident (That most definitely has its own thread already) may well be debatable but I wish not to get into it in this topic.

**ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court (SC) on Friday ordered the immediate removal of Sindh Director General (DG) Rangers and the Inspector General of Police over the killing of Sarfaraz Shah by Rangers in Karachi, Express 24/7 reported.
A five-member bench, headed by Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, was hearing the case after the SC took suo motu notice of the incident on Thursday.

The court said that the Interior Secretary should consult Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani over the removal of the two officials and directed the secretary to present a report on the action ordered against them. The bench also said that such incidents increased “hate” against the security forces.

It also directed the Interior Secretary to appoint Deputy Inspector General Hyderabad to investigate the incident.

The chief justice said the appointment of incompetent officials had led to incompetent administration.

The hearing will resume at 12:30pm today.

Shah was shot at point blank range in a public park in an incident filmed live and broadcast on television on Wednesday. Footage of the incident, filmed by an Awaaz TV cameraman, was broadcast repeatedly on local television stations.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/186208/rangers-shooting-sc-orders-removal-of-dg-rangers-ig-police

’Haspataal puhancha day yar, mujhay haspataal to puhancha day’’

‘Take me to hospital, my friend, please take me to hospital’ were my last words.

And why would they take me to hospital when they shot me like an animal. Had they considered me a human being, they wouldn’t have treated me like this. I would have been given the opportunity of proving myself innocent.

I am a 17 year old, youngest of five brothers, a matric student. And I go out to a nearby park as it was unbearably hot at home without any power for the fans to work.** I get involved in a scuffle at the park and one of the men pulls my hair and takes me to some uniformed men. I’m labelled as a dacoit. Six giants corner me and I plead for mercy and beg them to listen to my part of the story. I have hope that they would listen to me, probably arrest me and put me behind the bars but not in my wildest dream I have thought that they can take my life.**

They are mighty and armed and I’m weak and helpless. They do not let me speak and their metallic hearts do not mould. They remember no law, no jails, no courts and of course no mercy. They find no other way to handle the situation and they shoot at me.

But why? Was I a threat? Was I armed like they were? Or did I look like them, mighty and fearless? Did I have a suicide jacket on? None of these, but yes, they were inhuman and they had weapons in their hands and I was a target to prove their bravery and chivalry.

I fall on the floor. My hope begins to fade but there is something in me that keep me going and I beseech for help

‘Please take me to the hospital’

They keep wandering around me telling someone on the phone they have caught a ‘man’ while I exsanguinate to death. I’m helpless and slowly passing to the next world right under the nose of my own so-called ‘brothers in faith’. I am not in in Palestine, I am not is Kashmir. I am a Pakistani, a ‘La-Waris’ Pakistani, and I belong to a state whose rulers lick the boots of their western masters, whose armed forces watch their men die in drone attacks and whose law enforcement agencies strictly follow ‘jungle ka qanoon’. Yes! That’s how I define myself, ‘an orphan, lonely Pakistani’ and I close my eyes.

I die and a story comes to an end, but many stories erupt after I pass away to my Lord.

The world mourns after me. Eyes get tearful and there are screams in my house which I left a few hours ago and my dead body now lies in the lounge. The hands that rocked my cradle are up for supplication, asking for Lord’s mercy and justice. My father suffers from a heart attack and is rushed to the hospital. The people who asked the police for help in the park and told them that I am a dacoit, have disappeared and are now untraceable. An FIR is registered at the police, which tells the world that I was a robber and I was killed in a Police crossfire ‘ the ever famous Police Muqabla’. Then this video appears on TV channels made by an independent cameraman covering an event in the park. So another FIR is registered with some amendments. They now say I had a 30mm bore pistol with me. This cameraman receives threats and is now running for his life.

Note the moral of my story.

Have someone in your friends or family who can yell and tell the people that you were killed in cold blood for no reason when your life could be saved very easily. Probably my merciless killers did not know that my brother is a reporter at a local news channel.

And, also when you move around, ask someone to keep their mobile cameras ready in case you are shot at. Because unless proven otherwise, you are a terrorist and a ‘potential suicide bomber’ like Kharotabad incident victims or dacoits like Sialkot lynch mob preys.

May Allah have mercy on you all and this land where I leave you today amongst barbarians and butchers.

Fee Aman Allah.

http://blogs.aaj.tv/2011/06/please-take-me-to-hospital-my-friend

this made me cry … its sucha heart wrenching piece!

1st few seconds of the official video footage reveals out the following.

1: "Yaar asli nahi hai nakli hai" (The gun is not real, its a fake)

2: He also admits saying "main majboor tha" (I was compelled/forced to do this)

You can continue to believe what you want, you are entitled to that.

There is no justification of this act.

They are doing it since long with everyone but you can see only few.

Yes Sir, and so is everyone else.

p.s. Glad we finally agree on something. :D

Came across another video that is much longer and much more easy to understand and according to it, looks pretty obvious the Rangers officers had made the judgment to shoot him right after he was handed over and way before he started to walk towards them.

I stand corrected and my apologies to you and those who were misled.

Also came across a news report online where our very own Interior Minister Rehman Malik on April 16 2011 gave orders to shoot robbers, dacoits and extortionists on sight.

I’ve sent an email/letter to the Supreme court of Pakistan with a link to this news report included and I hope who ever is against all this also send their emails with the link to [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]

Please take out some of your time to send the above email.

Its alright :wave:

I see another round of extra-judicial killings now, can some ranger please shoot Rahman Malik when he comes to Karachi as he ordered it himself?

not to sound insensitive here, but i hope near future robbers think twice before robbing someone in karachi after watching this.

HELL Yes I am of the belief that this kid wasn't the saint people are vaguely rallying around.

yes, the paramilitary jawans that carried out this crime should be punished. They aren't the law. This isn't the protocol.

They had the chance to put this criminal in his right place, that is to be given to the police. Along with the stolen items and the fake gun. But they screwed it up. I hope this serves as a lesson to the forces in the cities as well.

Read all the comment..I'm really sad to see what just happened.

Even in Kashmir, they don't shot like this. They only shot those with gun shooting at police. Rarely, stone thrower are shot if it get too ugly and unmanageable. To say otherwise, is very inaccurate.

and thats enough reason to shot him cold blooded :chai:

later section of the video also revels that when he was shot, he was unarmed, outnumbered, non-threat and begging for life.

a mazeed later section of the video revels that he was begging rangers to take him to hospital after being shot but they did not

a mazeed late story tells that police/rangers got 2 FIRs registered in the local police station (3 hours after the incident of course it takes time to makeup the story). First of which said that “guy fired on Rangers and was killed in cross fire” (just shows intentions of police and rangers)

Believe me. This is not the first time such a killing has happened. Earlier mobs have burned robbers alive themselves. But robberies did not abate, let alone stop.
In fact if rangers are not punished for this action then they will become more emboldened and they will kill more and more people with impunity.