no he means that Afridi and Hasan Raza etc. are older than their official ages. (both Afridi and Malik admitted this to Fakhar-e-Alam). Put Waqar Younis in that category too. Shoaib Malik is 26 not 25
To put it more simply: In keeping with the wonderful age-old Pakistani tradition of hiding one's real age umar k maamlay mein sab nay dundi maari huey hai but ofcourse not everyone.
I believe that Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, Mohammad Yousuf, Younis Khan and Javed Miandad etc.'s official ages are also their real ages.
^^ Exactly. I'm not saying that *everyone *has an incorrect age listed, but some certainly do.
Misbah is very fit Masha Allah and if he keeps his current form and fitness, can serve Pakistan for a long time. If I'm not mistaken, Imran played until he was 40.
no he means that Afridi and Hasan Raza etc. are older than their official ages. (both Afridi and Malik admitted this to Fakhar-e-Alam). Put Waqar Younis in that category too. Shoaib Malik is 26 not 25
To put it more simply: In keeping with the wonderful age-old Pakistani tradition of hiding one's real age umar k maamlay mein sab nay dundi maari huey hai but ofcourse not everyone.
I believe that Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, Mohammad Yousuf, Younis Khan and Javed Miandad etc.'s official ages are also their real ages.
I don't believe ANY of Pakistan players are real. It's common, nay expected, to have your official age lowered, because if you don't then you're at a competitive disadvantage, since everyone else is older than their official age.
The current U-19 players seem to have their real ages though. PCB has recently stamped down on this age abuse thingy.
About Shoaib Malik being 26 instead of 27, I think he might be older still. Consider this: in an interview to Times of India a few days ago, his older brother described how "they" (meaning him and his brothers) used to stand outside the stadium to watch players. Then he mentions the India-Pak ODI played in Sialkot, and due to Indira Gandhi's assassination it was abandoned halfway through, and "they" stood ouside the ground to take a peek at Shastri, Amarnath, etc. Now if I remember correctly, Indira Gandhi's assassination was in 1984, so Shoaib Malik must've been 1 or 2 according to his official age.... rather too young to be waiting outside the stadium to catch a glimps of Indian cricket stars. ;)
^ I don't think that applies to everyone though. Watch the footage of Imran's debut innings runout. He does n't look any older than 18 or 19 to me. Also when Wasim came on the scene in 1984-5, he looked 18 or thereabouts to me. But yes Shahid Afridi aur Waqar Younis nay khul k dundi maari hai. Waqar Younis was finished as a bowler by the age of 31 (he was probably atleast 34 then). I know his back injury had much to do with it but maybe it was also his fake age that caught up with him eventually.
Right here, this goes to show how dried up of a pool we have dug for ourselves. Not an inch of a drop left. Clutching at straws, we have now managed to shortlist Misbah ahead of highly potential Younis. I mean, why are we even naming captains at this stage, isn't one set in stone already? What to make of this entrepreneuristic decision by PCB?
Let him prove his greatness against the grand-daddies. He possesses a great temperament amongst his peers. Keep him going while we can.
Right here, this goes to show how dried up of a pool we have dug for ourselves. Not an inch of a drop left. Clutching at straws, we have now managed to shortlist Misbah ahead of highly potential Younis. I mean, why are we even naming captains at this stage, isn't one set in stone already? What to make of this entrepreneuristic decision by PCB?
Let him prove his greatness against the grand-daddies. He possesses a great temperament amongst his peers. Keep him going while we can.
Such shortage of captains. What a mess.
No one is giving Misbah the nod ahead of Younis but given the latter's reluctance to accept captaincy and Malik's limitations so far as a player and captain, Misbah seems like a good choice 9-12 months down the line. That's all
Do we really need a captain? I mean after Inzamam, Younis and Malik we should be very careful in picking our captains. We can't have someone who has no idea about leadership and makes the team looks miserable on the field. Unless he is like Wasim or Imran, who could not only lead but play from front, we don't need one. Look at this way, bowlers pick the field. Batting goes by merit and consistency and in the end the best player who speaks English takes care of the ceremonies.
^ Yes he has been very impressive in this series but let's not forget that Misbah failed against South Africa in the recent 2-test series. Let's see how he fares in Australia against the likes of Lee, Clarke, Bracken, Johnson and MacGill.
don't we have bangladesh to tackle before aussies?
for heaven sake let him perform for sometime … He may be a smart cricketer but sometimes he simply lose it. Specially I dont understand the way he bats with tail enders specially Shoaib Akhtar and DAnish Kaneria. With them on the other end, any sensible cricketer will go hitting all out (and that too when you are in 100+ runs deficit and not trying to cover 10/20 runs deficit)…but he was still stopping balls and trying to keep the strike …in last 2 games …when you know that Kaneria tu abhee gaya k kabhee gaya
Interesting Decent, the same person who believes Yousuf has to stay in the team. Do we have a contradiction here? Isn’t Yousuf the player, who does similiar stuffs?
And then Misbah has rescued as from a worse defeat…many times now.
I personally think, he should not be appointed Captain. Captain ban na subh ke bass me naih hai.
he has scored on batting pitches so nothing special. even the likes of pathan managed to get a century. so its nothing special for misbah to score one too. his real challenge will come against teams like aus / SA etc. then we’ll see whether misbah will still be in for captaincy or gallows.
ridicule: :halo: all i’ve said is to let him play some more innings on australian and south african pitches and then judge him how good of a batsman he is. infact against SA in pak on pakistani pitches he didn’t do anything special either. so to score runs on batting friendly pitches doesn’t prove anything.