If India is to become a force in international cricket they have to learn to take risks, so they must declare early tomorrow
325 should make for an interesting run chase. Anything more and Pakistan might just lose interest in chasing and it might hurt India more.
If Misbah continues his form for the next 6 months, he would become his favorite to captain Pakistan
**----------------------------------------------------------------------------------**Malik has n’t really impressed me with his leadership skills so far, too Inziesque, someone who waits for things to happen rather than makes them happen thru his innovative field and bowling changes etc. He is not inspirational at all. Besides Malik first has to justify his place in the test team as a player. For a captain to earn the respect of his players he must lead by example. Malik’s batting is not of test class and if he continues to struggle with the bat in the coming months, then he must go.
I say not a bad idea at all esp. if Misbah continues his impressive form in Australia. He has displayed amazing consistency since making headlines in Twenty-20. He comes across as a cool and level-headed individual plus he’s intelligent and brainy, an MBA and all…and perhaps he can use his brain a lot better than others :hooray:
What do you say? Who should it be then Younis or Misbah?
Not a bad idea really. Misbah might be 33, but he’s supremely fit and can play for another 4-5 years. He’s shown a lot of consistency and is a really cool headed guy. Considering that Younis has already turned down the captaincy and Malik being extremely disappointing as a captain, he would be a very good option. Also, having a good education makes a huge difference when it comes to making good decisions and him having an MBA is big plus :k:
Well mashallah se our PCB has given Malik an extended run till December 2008, so unless they take another characteristic U-turn, I don't forsee such drastic changes. Also, another factor would be whether the added responsibility of captaincy would be detrimental to Misbah's batting. God knows we need that right now more than anything else.
Let the dude cement his place in team, if people start talking about him as future captain then it might put pressure on him or may be disturb his focus. For now let him do the work others have refused to i.e. batting
Captain you must show this opinion about Mushi as well :) Let him do the work others have refused to. Just kidding. you right about misbah though
yaar don’t be sarcastic all the time. Misbah is playing in his 9th test and in another six months or so he would have played around 15-18 tests. And if he is batting as well then as he is now then why not? Graeme Smith had only played 8 tests when he was appointed captain of South Africa at the age of 22 in 2003. And Misbah is mashallah mature (33). Younis has always been my preferred choice but given his reluctance to accept the job and Malik’s limitations as a player and captain I would n’t mind at all if the selectors gave Misbah the nod after the Australia series.
That depends on where he did his MBA from. I doubt it’s LUMS, but I’m hoping it’s some other half-way reputable institute.
I am inclined towards the idea that we should see how he performs against Australia, and then decide if he’d make a good captain. But on the other hand, we hardly ever perfrom against Australia (not the batsmen at least), so that’ll be an unfair test. If performing against Australia were the criteria, then all the Pakistani batsmen would fail, and most certainly our current captain. So in reality, appointing Misbah captain isn’t THAT big of a risk and a radical idea as it first seems.
One more point to note is that the upcoming Australia series is a HOME series, so our batsmen are bound to do somewhat well.
Another thing about misbah is that his english is one of the best on the team (along with akhter).
do you all remember when pakistan were in new zealand a few years back and at the toss the interviewer asked inzi wut he thought of the background view and he's like 'yes inshAllah boys play well'? LOL
Another thing about misbah is that his english is one of the best on the team (along with akhter).
do you all remember when pakistan were in new zealand a few years back and at the toss the interviewer asked inzi wut he thought of the background view and he's like 'yes inshAllah boys play well'? LOL
Lolz... that even beat the 'moisturizer' comment :)
Spoken English and presentability aside, Malik simply is not currently able to hold his place in the team as a player, certainly not on present form plus his captaincy is hardly inspirational.
Too soon. Rameez is jumping the gun. We have been through this road many times. We put a person on the pedestal too quickly, and then the fall from grace is equally hard. Just relax and see how he plays in the next 12 months or so (assuming he sticks around that long). With the bad experience of Salman Butt, who quickly became the blue-eyed boy of Gupshup crowd only to be the center of endless redicule a few months later, I think you'all should take a deep breath every now and then. Seriously. :)
i'm disappointed he didn't come in to the test side in his early 20's. At 33 he's a few yrs away from retirement :(.
You know, as far as his age goes, I think it's one of those cases where someone has revealed his "real" age. For example, I really don't think Afridi is 27 and Hasan Raza is 25.
^ ah k; yea, afridi is for sure over 30 but i dunno about hasan raza. he sorta has a baby face which makes his age believable. but i guess he's irrelevant as it doesn't seem like he'll be on the national team anytime soon