Get 'em out ppl! Post up your favorite recipes that you use during Ramadan and even those that don’t fit into your Ramadan cooking scheme. Inshallah I’ll be working soon so I need some ideas, tips etc. ![]()
Re: Ramadan Recipes
I’m making this a sticky, since Ramadan is literally around the corner.
Come on ladies and gentlemen (Funguy), post some of your most successful recipes … and easy to make recipes for women like me who can barely cook. ![]()
juz grab a pizza n put it in the oven..:D
Can you guys post some recipe for ramzaan drinks - all types of falooda, smoothies and things?
Here is my smoothie recipe again. (please koi tau try kar k batao kese hai) ![]()
ingredients
(any fruits u like)
this is what I use
few strawberries (fresh or frozen)
1-2 apples
hands full of grapes
1 lime/lemon
carrots (hands full)
that’s about all the fruits I use but u can certainly add
kiwi, mango, cantaloupe, raspberries, celery (I know it’s not a fruit)
Ok so mix all the ingredients with orange juice and honey (according to taste).
Blend em all in a blender/smoothie maker. Voila!
Today they refused my leave request. Cant go on Eid. I miss mommyy… ![]()
My favorite milkshake for aftaari or sehari:
One apple with the skin
15 almonds
1 tall glass of skim milk
5-6 ice cubes
Blend evertthing in the blender for 5 minutes and enjoy! Very healthy and filling.
here is a yummy recipe for spring rolls. I usually don't fry them, instead bake them and they turn out pretty good.
Spring Rolls
Recipes .
Ingredients:
8 ounces chicken, cooked roughly chopped
2 cups cabbage, green shredded
2 - spring onions
1 - bell pepper, green
1\2 cup bamboo shoots, canned & drained
1\2 cup carrots, peeled and grated
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon salt
1\2 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon flour
1 Pinch water
1 package spring roll wrapper
. - oil for deep frying
How to Cook:
1. Heat oil in a wok or skillet over high heat until hot but not smoking.
2. Add chicken, cabbage, bean sprouts, spring onions, bamboo shoots, bell pepper and carrots. Stir-fry 2 to 3 minutes, or until the cabbage and carrots are just limp. Add soy sauce, salt and pepper, remove from heat, and keep aside to cool.
3. In a small bowl, combine flour with five teaspoons of water. Place the spring roll wrappers on a tray and cover with a dampened cloth.
4. Place 1 wrapper on the cutting board with a corner facing you. Spread about 1/4 cup of the mixture near the bottom corner. Fold the corner nearest you over the mixture. Roll the wrapper up once, fold both sides into the center. Then roll up, sealing last edge with flour mixture. Set aside seam-side down and cover with a dampened cloth. Repeat with remaining wrappers.
5. In a wok or saucepan, heat oil over high heat until oil temperature reaches 375°F. Carefully fry 4 to 5 spring rolls at a time, until golden brown, turning rolls to ensure even browning, about 3 minutes.
6. Remove with a slotted spoon and place on absorbent paper towels. Repeat with remaining spring rolls.
Serve immediately. Make about 20 spring rolls.
Dahi Baray
Ingredients:
250 grams mash dal (white)dhuli , washed a
. Pinch baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
600 ml natural yogurt
1/2 teaspoon red chili powder
1/2 teaspoon garam masala
1/2 teaspoon salt,
1 clove garlic (crushed)
How to Cook:
1. Wash soaked dal with few changes of water. Place dal, baking powder and salt in a food processor or blender and grind to a smooth thick paste. Add a little water at a time if it is difficult to grind, continue grinding, this will incorporate air and make the paste lighter in texture. Leave it to rest for 15 -20 minutes.
2. Heat oil in a deep fryer or karahi. Test the temperature by dropping a small piece of paste into the hot oil. It should rise to the top at once.
3. Drop carefully a tablespoon full of paste into the hot fat. Fry to a golden colour, turning once or twice. Remove from oil with a slotted spoon and place on absorbent kitchen paper. Fry 4-5 baray at a time.
4. Ten minutes before serving soak the dumplings in warm water. Press the dumplings between the palms carefully to squeeze out the water.
5. Whisk yogurt with 1\4 cup water, chili powder, salt, garam masala and garlic to make a smooth paste.
6. Arrange the dumplings in a serving dish. Pour the seasoned yogurt over it.
7. Garnish with Chat Masala and Sweet Imli Chutney
Usually, what i do is make kababs, roll, patties, etc in a larger quantity and freeze them. So, this way all i have to do is put them in the oven. Saves a lot of time during a long day of fasting and keeping up with other household matters.
Tuna Kabab
Ingredients:
200 grams tuna in water, drained
1 medium potato, boiled and diced
2 - green chilies
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon chaat masala
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup bread crumbs, fresh
How to Cook:
1. Place the tuna flakes, potato, green chilies and coriander leaves in a bowl. Add chili powder, chat masala and salt. Mix with potato masher or with clean hands, until evenly blended.
2. Shape the mixture into kababs of desired shape and size.
3. Dip the kababs first in the beaten eggs then coat with breadcrumbs and set aside.
3. Heat the oil in a frying pan. Add the kababs few at a time and fry until crisp and golden brown, turning occasionally.
Mahru
I ususally make that apple/almond milkshake but I can't
drink it without sugar/sweet n low etc. How do u drink it pheeka?
Sajal: Well, the sacrifices one has to make to stay slim;). I usually buy the gala apples and they are naturally very sweet so don't feel the need to add sugar. I guess i am use to the taste now, so it does not bother me.
Only if I could loose these last few pounds.
Mai bhi ab tumhary naqsh-e-qadam pay chlnay ki koshish karoon gi.
Aur haan...
do u really have to keep the blender running for 5 whole minutes??
yummy…I think I’m going to try this
Mahru
u said u bake em (spring rolls),
how long for?
Mahru :- I make my tuna kebabs the same way as you and they turn out delicious ! I will be making more this ramadan. They are light in taste and very healthy !
I have made the tuna/potato kababs but they
don't turn out so good. I guess my ration is not right or something.
you are not supposed to think about food during Ramzaan ![]()