Dad expects us to be in wazu when we are eating sehri. After eating, we (everyone except him) sit for a minute, you know, trying to understand what the heck is going on at 5 in the morning? He asks us almost everyday “Kis kiska wazu hai?”…of course nobody raises hands and then he gives us this look “kuch nahi honey wala tum logon ka” I mean come on dad!!! It’ll only take 5-7 minutes for all to do wazu, normally there should be a gap of about 10-15 minutes between the sehri time and fajar prayer but he expects us to be READY when we come to eat.
This is a funny one Ok so in Pakistan, there is this myth that paranoid (in my opinion) old bazurgs used to say to us. If the jaa-e-namaz is on the floor and no one is standing on it and praying, shaitaan comes and stands on it!!! So to prevent Shaitaan from standing on it, you fold one corner of it. I mean WTH!!! Use common sense and logic. First of all, Shaitaan is chained up during ramadan, so he ain’t coming and standing on the jaa-e-namaz. Second of all, if he’s not chained up, don’t you think he has any other dirtier places to be? He’s going to choose where people come pray his enemy (God)? Third of all, ok fine I admit that he will come stand on it when no one is standing on it, what the heck does folding a corner do that he won’t come stand on it? I understand if you fold it in half, but A TINY LITTLE CORNER? Does shaitaan get the hint that hey, the corner is folded, I better not go stand there??? msn wali phatima smiley
I used to force some common sense to my brother’s brain but now I’ve given up and I keep my mouth shut
Actually it’s gunnah and I know most desis do it (including my family) and I’ve been telling them that it’s not advised to go over time, even for “safety” sake. That’s disobeying Allah. He said open it at 7:08, open it at 7:08 damnit
What matters is consistency. Pick ONE calendar and stick to it. It doesn’t matter whether sehri time is late and iftar time is early or vice versa. What matters is that you not using one calendar for sehri and another for iftaar. Consistency is the key here. Allah knows you are not doing it on purpose to trick him, unless you are :halo:
Even though listening to music is bad, I still like the fact that you not doing something only because it’s ramadan What I mean to say is that most of us don’t pray 5 times a day but when ramadan comes, we are pakkey namazi. That’s good thing but it’s also a bad thing because we should be praying 5 times a day even when it’s not ramadan. I have reduced listening to music since last ramadan. In the morning while driving to work, I listen to news radio and while driving back home, I listen to music to relax myself after a hectic day and when I am among idiots who are driving like maniacs around me
I don't know about the Shaitan coming up and standing on the jaanmaaz, but I know that you're not supposed to leave one out if you're not using it, so sometimes people just fold the corner in.
yeah u r pretty right abt Azaan ofcourse I dont do that on purpose…
and u r very rite abt namaz i sumtimes get consitent in namaz when its not ramzan but yesterday i was thinking tht why wasnt i praying just a day b4 ramzan and now am praying 5 times a day then I thought chalo atleast IAm and hope I wil make it a habbit even after RAmzan
I kind of agree with your dad on this one (that is if you all pray in jamaat)…imagine a household full of people…now imagine how long it will take EVERYONE to do wudu. It may take you 5 mins… but what if it takes your wife 10 minz (maybe she wants to do a few things here and there before she does wuzu) or your bro 20 minz (because he is feeling tired and lazy and is doing everything slooowly) Now…if everyone just gets up…does wudu and comes down to eat…everyone will be ready right away when it is time for fajr. WOW …you know what…I am gonna implement this rule in my home when I have my own family inshAllah
ok so my pet peeve…
It bothers me when I prepare a nice sehri…everything is warm and crisp…and people wander down the stairs like 5 minutes before fajr to eat …the foods gone cold and it just doesnt taste the same anymore!!! angry face ticks me off!! My BIL’s do this!!
I don't know about the Shaitan coming up and standing on the jaanmaaz, but I know that you're not supposed to leave one out if you're not using it, so sometimes people just fold the corner in.
it's just a myth....everything.... from the shaitan part to the not leaving it out part.