Ramadan Objectives

Let’s list our personal objectives for this Holy month. Rule: you are not allowed to comment negatively on anyone’s personal objectives. That means, you don’t hit the reply button if you feel like saying something discouraging. If you want to post, post your own personal objectives, or respond positively to something you read in this thread, but don’t discourage anyone please. Gracias.

Okay, having scared everyone off now ( :smiley: ), here are my personal objectives:

• at least pray twice a day, every day. i know for some this is no big deal. Some of you Masha’Allah pray five times a day. i hope that continues Insha’Allah. i figure, for myself, i will try to at least to do Fajr and Isha on time.
    How to achieve this goal? Be better organized vis-a-vis my time. Plan things out ahead in advance and schedule my routine around the prayer timings, not the other way around which i always always do.

• Finish the Quran in Arabic and English. Last year i started doing this but left the English because i felt it was too time-consuming. This year, Insha’Allah, i will do it in both Arabic and English and not give it up.
    How to achieve this goal? Finish one paara every day, no matter what. i’ve found if you fall behind by even two days, then you really are left behind vis-a-vis the surahs…so it’s imp to stay on top every day.

• obviously, keep as many rozas as i am able to and attend as many taraweehs as i am able to.

• think no bad thoughts/don’t lie/don’t gossip
    How to achieve this goal? This is going to be hard… but Insha’Allah i will try my hardest. Basically, have to keep reminding myself it’s Ramadan, i am fasting, keep my mouth shut. i think the hunger will help Insha’Allah. Less energy in body —> less energy to invest in useless things like gossiping

These are my humble, but important for me, goals.. Share your’s, folks.

although it’s brilliant to see many muslims doing lots and lots of ebadat during ramzan-ul-mubarak it would be gr8 if all of us could do the same for the other 11 months in the lunar calender :frowning:

ofcourse this ^ doesn’t apply to all, some ppl r very steadfast and do ebadat-e-ilahi throughout the year constantly which is a tonic :k: whilst some tend to concentrate more in ramzan-ul-mubarak!!!

Originally posted by #let uz chat#: *
....it would be gr8 if all of us could do the same for the other 11 months in the lunar calender : (**

sigh :( i know.... This is one of my biggest faults. i never keep up the 'good' practices past Ramadan. :( :( :(

Folks, pls stick to the topic. I don't know why you want to go off on tangents. The spelling of Ramzaan/Ramadhan is now split into its own thread. Feel free to add your comments there. And OBL, your 'Ramzaan' objective also got moved there, so feel free to add your objective here (and just that).

Thank you so much for doing that, Faisal Bhai… i really appreciate it. :flower1:

Mine:

Pray five times a day , I already do so inshAllah it wont be too hard.But will try to make sure I dont miss any due to lectures ,docs appointments etc.

Finish the Quran at least three times.Did twice last year.Memorize about ten Surahs- they say the best time to memorize Quran is during Ramadan.

No gossiping, no getting angry (hardest part) , and no wasting time on gs.

:slight_smile:

nadz, my biggest personal weakness is my impatience and my anger and my over emotionalness, i really really need to get a grip on myself…and i need to control my tongue…which gets out of control real fast when i am in a mad or angry mood
:S

thats going to be inshallah my jihad

and not to let depression overtake me no matter what

thats also going to be another one

another one is to be a better daughter and sister, right now i suck

and…yes…praying on time inshallah…and yes INSHALLAH completing the Quran as well…

and yes…not eating too much iftari :blush: :smiley:

good luck on ur resolutions inshallah nadz :flower1: may Allah swt help u and all of us aameen

MASHALLAH MQ :k: really impressed :slight_smile:

MASHALLAH keep it up yaar aur Allah ham sab ko tofeeq de aameen

Mine: Drinking water (or any liquid) in masnoon (sunnat) way. They way Hazoor :saw: ordered us. Which are..

1. Sit down
  2. Hold glass in right hand
  3. Say Bismillah before drinking.
  4. Don’t release breath on water
  5. Drink in (atleast) three sips
  6. Drink while looking at water
  7. Say Alhamdulillah afterwards

Regretfully I mostly do not drink in proper way. I forget something or the other.

*Originally posted by Muslim_Queen: *
....Finish the Quran ...

How come every one is after "finishing off" Quran? Leave the book alone. Rest of us needs it too.

no wasting time on gs.

Cmon! gs time is waste! I mean where would we all be without our dear gs. Anyway we miss you for the whole month. Do remember us in prayers.

I already do [pray 5 times] so inshAllah it wont be too hard.

Aren't we boasting a little?

My ramadam objective would be to pray all Namaz with proper concentration. I lack in concentration when i pray namaz and so lets hope insha'Allah i can fix that this Ramadan.

Nice thread Nadia.

1. Being more focused when praying.
  2. Learn more surahs and their English meaning.
  3. Sometimes I don't realize I do this but I tend to say "i'm hungry" so many times, which is not being the least bit considerate of my family and friends. I know some people try to focus on something else and me saying that ruines the whole purpose.

It would be nice to update this thread after Ramadan.

Good luck everyone :-)

This is a very important thread, sadly we are habitual of ignoring important things in life.

*Most of us lack required motivation. But we can get motivated seeing others. Thanks *

well i posted this already in Relationships, but here’s what i want to do this ramadan:

*i want to stop spending so much darn money
*i want to try praying more often. I’m not saying five times, hopefully ill work my way up to it, but as many as i can.
*This I feel is hte biggest and most important of all, for me at least: i want to develop “inner hijab.” i’ve had some trouble with it these last three months or so of wearing it and one of the reasons was that i felt i was only wearing a scarf on my head. while i realize ive made much progress over the last year, i still haven’t learned to control myself liek a real hijabi. So..that’s what i hope to accomplish this ramadan. :blush:

*Originally posted by antiobl: *

How come every one is after "finishing off" Quran? Leave the book alone. Rest of us needs it too.
Cmon! gs time is waste! I mean where would we all be without our dear gs. Anyway we miss you for the whole month. Do remember us in prayers.
Aren't we boasting a little?

Im listing the facts.Since when was praying regulary anywhere near the category of boasting? Sheesh.Use some sense sometimes.

Nadia --- Iv got another.I also plan to finish the Quran in English too.

only one objective, to strive the best i can to please Allah....

This all sounds like a group of christians discusssing lent.

*Originally posted by observer2004: *
This all sounds like a group of christians discusssing lent.

what's your point?

oh, and welcome to GS Observer!! :blush: