Raita

If made with kadu, is it suppose to be boiled after grating?

Re: Raita

what type, some can be eaten raw if its young and tender enough

give us the recipe!

Lazy_dee, it's not much of a recipie. Grate the kadu, add some thin cut onion and all the spicies you want. Add yougart and wallah, it's ready.

I didn't feel like boiling them but as the raita didn't taste quite like when Mom used to make it, I thought maybe the kadu was supposed to be boiled.

Raita

Ingredients
2-3 Tablespoons of Yogurt
Salt (according to taste)
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 tsp zeera powder or crushed zeera

Instructions

Mix together all the ingredients and you have a creamy raita to serve with Biryani or Pulao.
In the summer add grated cucumber to it.It keeps the heat away.
Good to eat on its own or as a dip.

PS: Couldn't find a recipe for Raita with kaddu...will try again...btw...whats the english equivalent of kaddu...

PS1: Like the raw cucumber use in raitas...I am sure the kaddu is also used raw as very thin slices...

Okay...got the white pumpkin one:

150 gms white pumpkin
1/4 tsp Jeera
1-2 Green Chilli
2tsp of grated fersh Cocconut
1/4 tsp Mustard seeds
2-3 Curry Leaves
3tsp of Curd
1 tbsp Oil
Salt to taste

Instructions
Dice White Pumpkins(aprrox. one tea cup full)into small pieces or desirable
size.
Make a paste of Jeera, Green-Chilli and grated Cocconut.
Boil the white pumkin with little water and salt till it is almost cooked.
Then at this stage add the cocconut paste to the pumkin.
Saute this mixtute with mustard seeds and Curry-Leaves in oil.
Allow it to cook untill one boil and remove from fire.
Allow it to cool and then add 3tsp of curd to it.
Mix it well and the pachdi (raita) is ready.

AJ, you don't boil the kaddu but you steam the kaddu till it is tender.

does the kaddu add taste or texture

I always thought kaddu tasted of nothing much

Aj, we boil it when making raita and then gently mash it before adding to the yogurt.

Yes, kaddu has a really refreshing taste and it kinds of gives the raita a lacy texture… actually it really depends on the concentration of the yougurt.

What's Kaddu?

We grate and then boil the ghiyya (kadoo) . Then drain really well before adding to whipped dahi along with zeera, kaali mirch and namak.

belle ghiyya is that long or round green veggie. I have no clue what it is called. I want to say its called gourd but i know i am wrong :D

Thanks guys. I will grate it and then boil it next time.

belle, kaddu is the long white pumpkin type veggie you get at desi stores or it can be the boss you don't like or the guy you dumped last year. :D

^^Gol wala kaddu bhi tou hota hai...

is your version of khaddu also called Dhoodhi..

ive always known kuddu to be Marrow...the big courgette things or any form of pumpkin or squash

i love kaddu ka raita... although my mom never boils the kaddu??? she just mixes it in with the yougurt and the other ingredients. tastes good :)

here is how i make this raita. Peel the skin off and shred the kaddu/loki. Now heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a frying pan add zeera to that once the popping sounds comes add the shredded loki to that. now stir and get all the shredded loki coated with the oil and turn off the heat once the loki looks tender. Now in a bowl, whisk two cups of yogurt add some milk to thin it out a bit. Add salt and black pepper for taste. Once the loki is cooled down add that to the yogurt. Mix it in well. Now your yummylicious raita is ready. Enjoy it with anything or just plain. I have never heard of boiling the loki that would just make it too soggy and also i have never heard of putting it in the yogurt raw that would be too disgusting.
I am sorry for being so egotistical but my recipe is the best:) Check it out for yourself!

^ Its ok Mahru dont apologize, we understand... plus thats the only thing you're good at !

Mahru, it is the first time I have ever heard someone frying the kadu for Raita. Are you sure about this?

Ahmadjee: you are not frying the kadu, you are only saute-ing in a tablespoon of olive oil. Trust me on this one. What you are trying to do is coating the kadu with oil and basically making it tender. Try it and you will be sending me thank you notes:)

:(

yes thats how I make it.