Radicalization of education in Pakistan

The ‘halal’ curriculum - Blogs - DAWN.COM

Verses on jihad in syllabus: KP to rectify ‘mistake’ - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

This is extremely worrying. What is worrying is the subliminal messaging in these texts. pictures or images of girls without hijab being removed and the rest. This is a radicalization that will eventually spread to the rest of Pakistan and split the country even further.

English and Urdu medium schools is already a division but this will further widen the gulf.

Re: Radicalization of education in Pakistan

I read the article, and to me it sounded more like a wannabe secular/westren trash talk...though I would like the text to be modified to the modern standards, but billing religion as the key point of divergence as sought by the author is really ignorant in my opinion.

An excerpt from the article:

Take its insistence on having the greeting ‘Good morning’ removed and replaced with*Assalam-o-Alaikum*. If Pakistanis were Arabs, and spoke Arabic, this suggestion would have some merit. But that is not the case.

gimme a break.

Ridiculous... to wish someone a "good" morning is unislamic? Assalam-o-Alaikum is perfered because to not say it would undermine Islam? Forget that said children are surrounded by Islam from the second they are born to ever moment of their life subsequently whether they like it or not... I wish Pakistani secularists would push back against these fools and inject sanity back into the system.

I do not have issue if books are telling kids to say "As salam wa alikum" instead of "good morning". Teaching kids whats "preferable" is not wrong but I have serious issue with Islamic books (and history books) not having chapters about Islamic hero such as scientists, medical doctors, inventors etc but only has chapters about victorious army generals and their conquering of world. In history, Islam was much more than some brave soldier conquering some land and spreading Islam.

Our educational system is RUBBISH. I believe everyone agrees to it. But I for one cannot tolerate some cheap ass blogger sitting far away from the land/people/system to try to curb the religious text just because he's an atheist or whatever. The issue is our children are educated in a very random manner, no hierarchy, no structure. Masses dont know the simplest of Ayahs, and their meanings. Huge number of students have a pea like IQ. I for one would definitely voice my concern over our educational system's breakdown... but this particular article is just a loosely based on assumptions and a personal opinion against PTI/JI and his a dozen times relayed "middle aged men" ... intoxicating rubbish.

***not having chapters about Islamic hero such as scientists, medical doctors, inventors

***Ditto... and thats mandatory.

Idiot (the blogger).

They could teach children about Dr Abdus Salam, but he doesn't count unfortunately... But whats more relevant to Pakistani Children then the only Pakistani Scientist to be recognized anywhere in the world ?
But really, why not just teach children Science and about Scietists in general minus the religious leaning? Why should it matter what religion these Scientists were?

Beyond that, are Pakistani Children aware of the Sumerians, the Egyptians, Greeks, Romans, etc? Its a tragedy that children arent taught about those societies which predate Islam and had such a immense impact on the world we live in today.

Really if I had to raise kids in Pakistan, I would home school them. Not an option for most parents though,

Your Children should be taught Ayahs and their meaning by the clergy, not govt schools. Why should it be the role of a simple village teacher too impart religious education? Should he be teaching ABC, 123, or teaching the Koran?

I was more talking about Islamic Heroes (which is a part of Islamic studies) and not other subjects.

Like it or not like.. People want their children to get religious education at schools. There is an increased trend in recent past to admit your children in schools which provide hifz e Quran courses alongwith routine subjects. Isn't this surprising that this idiot blogger and likes of him never raised their concern for syllabus of missionary schools todate, where they teach students passages from new testament and that too Muslim children in a Muslim country?

So u mean to say of all the time they spend in school, lets say 8-10 hours a day, they should ADDITIONALLY be enrolled into another religious institution so they could get the MOST IMPORTANT EDUCATION THERE IS... thats in itself is a very impractical approach isnt it?

Secondly why would u separate ABC, 123, xyz from Islam? No wonder why we have societies that develop cardboard degrees but nor morals, no ethics and no character development. Is this what u r suggesting?

The sure way to improve education in Pakistan is to introduce a law giving the top bureaucrats, military men and politicians option to have their children educated in government run schools or quit public service.

Yet again, the same depleted approach of a western mindset. Then they say Fundamentalism is bad and moderate is a tad bit better...why? because we ourselves have differentiated between materialistic knowledge and spiritualism.

What is there to teach about Adbus Salam? I would like to know your view in context to a text book and syllabus!
The Egyptians, greeks, romans all fall into the HISTORICAL context... and that's in MOST parts of the bigger world is a selective category, not a mandatory one. 90% of regular Americans can't find countries on a map right under their nose, does that make them less literate? Its subjective to their course in desire. Where as if our children are taught about MUSLIM era, culture, tradition.. it will not only bring more harmony to their everyday lives, but a whole new dimension of how to develop into a better human being in every way. After all arent we Muslims FIRST, and then everything else later? If u have to argue there then thats the end of our discussion, right here. Period!

And IF you had been living in PAKISTAN, again we would not be having this kind of discussion to begin with. Eliminating IF's and But's help shed better insight to the argument at hand. Trust me.

Wont that be awesome?

Either the Government educational sector becomes THE standard in no time, or...

or we faell from our beds and get over this ludicrous dream.

Yeah religious zealotry has really helped shape muslim nations into civilised societes, where injustice is pretty much non-existent. Especially towards minorities.

And what great advancements we have made in the fields of science and inventions. Everything we use in our daily life was invented by muslims. Refrigerator, tv, car, computer, light bulbs, telephone, even how to utilize electricity for the benefit of man.

And we muslims certainly don't flock to those kuffar western societies. Hell if they are actually doing far better than us in each and every field. That certainly is a lie.

Improvement? Who wants or need it? Muslim countries certainly don't. What we need is even more religion in our lives, so we can fight over who is practising it correctly and who is not.

Ever heard of Sunday School? If you must teach them about religion, do it when they arent in school. You know that in the US there are Chinese schools where Chinese children on top of their regular studies are taught to speak and write Chinese?

Why the hell would you include 123 and ABC with Islam? What does any of that have to do with religion. MoralS ? What morals are you talking about? If your religious education created morality, you wouldnt have the Taliban, your wouldnt have people falsely accusing others of Blasphemy, murdering minorities, teachers etc. If anything, your religious education have created a generation of immoral drones. I dont see any morality among your madrassa graduates. In fact, i see more morality among many atheists, agnostics and non Muslims then among the most religious of people coming out of Pakistan's many Madrassas.

Pakistanis have only become the more violent and less sensible the more Religious the society has become.

How about teaching your children basic science, basic math and basic everything else isntead of injecting your religion where it has no place being. Teach your children Islam at home or madrassa. Teach you childrens morals yourself, dont leave it to the school. If you dont teach your children any morals, then you shouldnt be having them.

Western mindset depleted? Thats dumb considering the West is light years ahead of Musim "society" in terms of development. You can thank Western society for much of the comforts you take for granted today. Immunization anyone?

You teach the same of Abdus Salam what you would of OTHER scientists. Inspire children by telling them that he was a PAKISTANI Scientist and what he contributed to Science.

Any teaching of history would cover the BIG important societies of the world. Greeks and Romans are hugely influential, and you cannot understand the modern world without understanding how they influenced it. If you dont cover them, you arent teaching proper hisotry.

yEAH, that does make Americans less literate. And its a shame. But then again, Pakistanis have no place comparing themselves to Americans.

Teach them about muslims by all means, but dont negelect thousands of years of history prior too it and after.

Being muslim FIRST has done nothing for the betterment of Pakistan or mankind. How about teaching your children to be human first and contribute to society instead of giving them a bias myopic view on existence.

Its a shame that it takes a Pakistani to LEAVE Pakistan to see the reality of the world... You should be glad there are people like me who have left fish bowl and seen the world outside it. Its tragic that you want to limit your children by hindering their learning.

By the way, our ancestors were Hindu aswell, the nation of PAKISTAN was at one time part of a Buddhist kingdom. Thats also a part of Pakistan heritage and history. Why isnt study of that part of Pakistan's history not mandatory like Islamic studies?

if there is one scientist our young students would feel excited about that will be dr abdus salam because he was pakistani and a noble prize winner...but hey he does not count!

oh wait, he got nobel prize because he was qadyani..western conspiracy against us i guess!

I remember what mushtaq yousafi once said ...

he said that had we shown same amount of passion in teaching our kids science that we showed in teaching them about medieval arab muslim scientists (jabir bin hayan etyc) , we would have had some real pakistani scientists by now at international level :)

kaya sahiee baat hai!