Racial Profiling

Have you ever racially profiled anyone?

I have. :o On a flight from Pakistan to Dubai, there was a group of the tableeghi jamaat. The bearded men were all wearing white shalwar kameez and green turbans, holding prayer beads, doing tasbeeh or reciting Quran pak like there’s no tomorrow. The thought that the plane was going to blow up did cross my mind. And this is coming from a fellow muslimah :@: Methinks I have also been racially profiled when I was travelling on the train last month. I had to walk through 4 carriages to get some coffee and I sure did get some weird looks as I was walking through the train looking retarded. Crazy innit!

Re: Racial Profiling

you were racially profiled because you were looking retarded?

Look at that…you are no ‘fellow’ :mad:

More so because of the hijab but yes retarded too.

:hehe: I felt very guilty afterwards and I’ve tried to refrain from racial profiling again.

Whenever I see a desi aunty in shalwar kameez at Walmart, I stay away. Jk, I don't.

But, when I walk back to the parking lot at night, I freak out more and become more vigilant when I see black folks around. As bad as that sounds, it's true.

oh..and BBQ…the plane blowers don’t dress up with shalwar kameez beards and tasbih and all that..they look like your own brother or cousine or something…normal looking folks like this..

lol i do that sometimes on the tube. If a desi is looking suspicious, i freak out inside!!! But i do feel guilty about it later!!

We were at the theme park a while ago when I heard a group of men with brummy accents complaining about how this Chinese group should get back to their own Country. I turned around expecting to see the typical white Neanderthal hooligan but was shocked to find it was a group of desi men.

You deleted your blog quickly :nahi:

Whenever I see a bearded man with loose clothing or suspicious luggage, I run for cover. Is it racial profiling?

I can't imagine going out alone after the sunset, I'm scared of men, specially on weekends.

it may sound weird but I feel quite safe and comfortable in muslim areas even late at night where you can see lots of bearded muslims with skullcaps.

whenever i see clean shave men coming close to me, i run for cover.

it happened to me once. we were doing a demo at the royal society, and our equipment included a laptop in a briefcase, connected with a wire to a home made white plastic box, with an antenna.. that blinked every five seconds. i had to bring that from the office, and i took the tube. got so many looks from goras, who i imagine didnt want to be in the same box as a brown paki looking guy with a satchel and a small home-made looking box that blinked.

I’m loving the stories and the phobias!

Also a few years back just after the bombings in London I had just parked up when I saw this angry looking gora guy running towards me. I was expecting either some verbal abuse or to be flattened when all of a sudden he runs up to me and hands me his parking ticket which saved me £7 (extortionate parking fees in London.

Racial profiling is an evolutionary self preservation phenomenon. Everyone does it to an extent.

its the people of the same race doing it to people of their own race......thats funny :D

Imagine how he would have felt if you started to run away.

Once at the station I saw a group of asian youths running towards me with their hoods up and i was like ok im going to die but realised they were running for the rain.

It was racial profiling plus the gangster attire they were wearing.

I do, all the time. I generalize and attribute traits to people in general, like Arabs, Indians, Orientals, Blacks, Russians etc. And it is quite sad but if there is a proper he/she maulvi on the plane, I get quite uncomfortable and worry about my safety and I approve of them being checked more meticulously and interviewed at the airports.