This is a semantics argument you are raising. To justify the sectarianism angle to your are purporting you need to show more than linguistic separates of them and us … In this context we are talking about Ikhwaan and non- Ikhwaan or Sufi … So the we and the. Is forced linguistically … I always consider Ikhwaan my brothers in Islam … But that is not the topic here.
Rather than asking what the Ikhwaan have done to be offensive to others … Is it not just a better thing to seek the true reason of the thread and leave it there … I have no desire to speak ill of the Ikhwaan but you are asking us to … And further to prove it … When we do that you say … Sectarian hatred.
to stir it up a little more… does going to mazars and worshipping one’s peer makes them sufi? or listening to qawali does the trick?
if one claims to believe in spiritualism but insists on being from the other-side-of-the-fence
or believes in “shariat tariqat ki namaz ka wazoo hay” kind of logic, does this make them sufi enough? or there are any special rituals they need to perform to avoid being categorized as TTP and evil and bad etc etc? genuine question seriously
If it makes you or anyone at peace then there is hardly any real connection to Raabia Basri RA or four fingers sign. The word came from Rabaa as far as I have read. There is no deliberate attempt to disrespect anyone from the past.
There are some reports Turkish maybe the one who began this sign. But again, so what?
Why be soooooo sensitive? Four fingers, three fingers whatever.
The differences are made so big that even a minute connection is looked for and criticized.
Sensitive to whom? It is just Sufis telling Sufis not to do this … Hareem01 has taken this from my Shaykh. And there are underlying messages in this form of communication, which is not about dissing another group, but about how they can let us know what their particular orientation is at a given moment in time.
The reason why I follow what I follow is due to positively affirming this way, by comparing the ways and looking at signs and guidance through Hadith and traditions.
to boycott a madhab due to the arguments of the poor examples of the adherents is as good as defining who you are not, without saying what you DO believe in … it’s like throwing the baby out with the bath water. I would recommend studying the various ways and making an informed choice rather than rejecting based on the ill actions of people who have taken sides and fail to use decorum.
The funny part is that it reminds me of that like to cure cancer on facebook. Changing dp to support/protest against a cause is the lamest and mot stupidest thing ever.
Lolx ye tou history hogyi , aur aap kahan se kahan chali gyein , aap zra apni pehli post read krein , me ne uska reply kia tha
K ppl ko is se koi lena dena ni k ye sufi hai ya anti-sufi , they r using this cuz of that place name nt cuz of kisi sufi ki history n all !
You have debunked what you think you have debunked … So we are all good then. To be honest - it was a musing of a scholar who noticed this ignorance … everyone jumping on the bandwagon … they were doing it for Morsi (a person who does not represent the Sufis) with the name of a famous Sufi ascetic … His point was if they knew who she was … would they still be doing that? He then proceeded to inform the Sufis who were taking a stand against the Egyptian army not to use that symbol - i.e. not to appear ignorant. It is not a major issue - and no one is making it ultra important - as I said these little statements are designed to give us information about orientation and stance.
And what did or would the esteemed scholar say to the notion that four fingers sign is not really related to noble Raabia Basri RA? It is related to Arabic word for four.
I really doubt if people who began or make this gesture is because of Raabia Basri RA. Not that I care about MB or Assad in anyway whatsoever.
Whole reason I participated in this thread is because OP sounded driven to a preconceived idea and bringing something so trivial that I had to check myself if OP was correct in anyway.
Basically I had never heard of or observed this four finger sign before this thread and had to search to get to the conclusion I made. It is all rubbish.
Psyah bahi, like I said living in a box is what so many (educated or illiterate, …desi or non-desi, Muslims or non-Muslims) people do and …the problem may lie on these so called ‘religious leaders’ of a group who may deliberately incite people to think in their own ways rather than looking outside the box.
peace to you too psyah bro
thanks for for answering my question.
then how come its legit to label everyone as TTP and the likes if they do not fall under this definition of tassawuf/ sufism?
Not everyone…just the jihadi groups. Not that Sufis are pacifists but they are against the ideology of warfare of Islamist groups like killing innocents and unarmed etc.
for your information, not all non-sufi have the ideology off killing innocents and unarmed, to say that would be big lie and generalization.
and what is a “jihadi group” an “Islamist” by the way? these terms pollute the minds of so many people
I never said all non-Sufi are like that.
Obviously, you are one of those who deny any elements of radicalism in Muslims. So no point in discussing that with a pure minded person like you.