:k:Agreed:k:
Post No:18..............."REKHTA" means "URDU"
Like Dr. Gopichand Narang, Head of the Department of Urdu at Delhi University once said (at Jashn-e-Aali in Dubai, 1989) ;
GUFTUGU REKHTAY MEIN NAA KAR HUM SE...
YE HAMARI ZABAN HAI PYARE....
The only boring bit was when Moin and Sabah are lying in bed.. and talking.. it was never-ending. The relationship shown between damaad and fil was super-cute though!
Were the main reason for the ----SUCCESS–of the play!
warna..Moin, Qazi, Saba aur Annu bhai ko kisne nahin dekha
hai pehle…dramo mein!!
The only…possible…hard to gulp situation could have been
a son-in-law being so uptight on dad-in-law !! but then again
a drama IS a D.R.A.M.A !! almost 95% away from reality!
Moin and Qazi are spontaneous! There was another drama I blv on aaj tv.. with sameena ahmed that has a nosy neighbor.. it was super-cute as well!
nice caste...i sure will see it and will write me views.
Hardly THREE in cast..Zobia.
BUT
Heavy play on wit and humor of 50's !
SINCE I AVOID OPENING THREADS AFTER THREADS
(also as a competition to some I may see progressing or as a respond to some thread or as a sarcastic approach…)
I THOUGHT TO PLACE THIS INTERESTING PIC A TV DIRECTOR
SENT ME OF HIS SERIAL AT THE VERGE OF COMPLETION
TO BE RELEASED ON GEO OR ARY.
WILL NOT NAME THE SERIAL BUT ONLY THE PIC…
of the leading character of the serial…
ANY GUESS—WHO COULD THIS BE?
(though I know its a peice of cake for many on GS!)
Re: QURBAN JAIEEAAY on ARY (Eid AlAdha Play)
it is a guy for sure!!
faisal qureshi?? (just a random guess)
it is a guy for sure!! faisal qureshi?? (just a random guess)
Take another guess?
Features look like Fahad M’s.. not Faisal’s eyes or nose for sure! ![]()
POST NO.30 IS RIGHT!
TO ADD A BIT MORE info here;
Director Atif Hussain's serial
"VEENA"
is poised for release on ARY or GEO
by first quarter of 2009.
It's based on three eunuchs
played by;
Sunny Tonio (Fahad Mustafa),
Irfan Motiwalla and a choreographer Farrukh Darbar.
Mahmood Aslam, Beenish Chohan, Javeria Abbasi, Tehreem & other females play major roles too....
Appears to be a promising entertainment...as I gather
from what Atif told me on Saturday during the recording of
some scenes between me and Abid Ali for his other serial.
What do I get for giving the correct answer!? :(
we already have an eunuch begum nawazish ali.why add three more to the list????
oooh oki........ i said faisal qureshi because on nadia khan show he was all waxed up..... so thought keh issi ki tayari hogi!!
I agree with Lilly...... why is our industry promoting the bmw type ppl so much??? sari stories kya khatam hogai hain?? on geo there was a whole drama dedicated to them, as eid special........ its ewww!!!
drama 'moorat' had the same theme, but done very tastefully. it depends how a writer/director handles the subject.
VEENA will be quite contrary to the plot of "MOORATH" !
The latter was a story of a normal boy (Abid Ali) who got
disdained and ran away from his home and parents (myself
and Tahira Wasti) and accidently became an eunuch..which
**he was not! plus MOORATH also had a side segment where **
Maria Wasti did superbly and got the LSA (now declared a GAALEE)
also.....!!
VEENA may have the eunuchs..but its story is far away from any proximity with MOORATH's!
Raju Jamil
I was about to write about Moorat as well.. it was spectacular..
oh ya moorat was a class apart!!
but still why so many topics about this group of ppl??? why are they highlighted so much??? coz now they have a represenative (begam nawazish ali)???
we have so many issues to address...... why do we discuss BMWs??
oh ya moorat was a class apart!! but still why so many topics about this group of ppl??? why are they highlighted so much??? coz now they have a represenative (begam nawazish ali)???
we have so many issues to address...... why do we discuss BMWs??
BNA was a concept by...Imran Aslam of GRIPS/GEO primarily which was leaked-out to AAJ by someone that a suit was also filed.
**Nevertheless---it is quite strange to refer BNA as an eunuch!! quite strange really!!! **
IMO its just a characterization--for fun sake!
How many reviews etc has anyone gone through--on DUSTIN HOFFMAN being referred to as an eunuch for acting in TOOTSIE or has Moin Akhtar ever been stamped as ZUNNKHAA for beautifully portraying the character in ROZY the play by the name itself!??
Here lies some deep hatred for ALI SALEEM...and all the "IN" issues which are 'spicy' - 'yummy' and most reckoned amongst some...for some Godforsaken reason!?
ALI SALEEM is a huge talent in pak_showbiz. Be it BNA or PNA..that I care two hoots!! if I would..then it will be his acting and characterization I will be concerned about---and which has been simply par excellence....by all counts!!
I may not agree with the format of BNA...involving famous people! My dad and me were twice invited by the Zuberis for BNA...but my dad simply refused that he cant accept the fact of talking to a male by taking him as a female...and he strictly forbid me to go on that show even if I am paired with someone else! I agreed with him--but I convinced him that ALI SALEEM enacts the character beautifully--which not only he--but many agree!
ON with Ali Saleem bashing (a fashion I guess!) now!!!!
Q: Are you an effeminate man?
A: This is a very interesting question. From childhood, I have been a feminist and believe that women are actually superior to men. It is not essential that a man who is effeminate is a feminist also. At the end of the day, because they are guys, they would still want to be supreme. As a child, I was totally in awe of my mother and would love wearing her dupatta. I used to try and copy her and she was my role model. I have always enjoyed the company of my mother's friends more than my father's friends and have always liked aunties more than uncles. There were times when I was effeminate to a certain extent. Being a feminist, you can be effeminate, and subconsciously you mimic your female role models which is probably how the Benazir thing started. Ever since I have started doing Begum Nawazish, I feel less effeminate in my day-to-day life because the woman in me is expressed on the show.
*Q: There is a very mixed response to the show - people either love or hate it. *
A: If they hate the concept of a man dressed up as a woman then they need to grow up. I have taken a very bold step, given the falling media standards. The concept is original and something to be proud of. It has a viewership so I am very happy. Why, nothing like this has ever been done before, not even in India. India makes its heroes - they know how to build them up and then cash in on them later. Aishwarya is world famous while we peg Meera down at every given opportunity. Who is our national hero after Quaid-e-Azam? Bhutto was a criminal according to the law of the land, Imran Khan has one skeleton after the other popping up. I want to break this mindset through my show. We don't let individuals live nor institutions flourish. We are a repressed, sick society and there is negativity everywhere. I stand for everything that is positive and not bad. It is very easy for ten people to sit in a drawing room and criticise others, and we are too jealous of anybody who is even slightly better than us. This should change with our generation.