quota system and Pakistan

Re: quota system and Pakistan

why is a baluchi less likely to be educated than a punjabi?

they dont owe shyt to anyone not then, not now, not ever. Get that out of your head that people who moved to what became Pakistan owe teh folks who were sitting here anything.

nope, we are talking quota system overall. I dont see a similar example of quotas in other places, why is that?

I am sorry if you are hurt, but I am trying to find out if such help for disadvantaged people is available in Punjab.

Not from what I have read. I could be wrong, but the urban rural divide seems to be present in sindh only.

I said twice before, i am for qoutas for all disadvantged groups, Balochis, Sindhis or christians or whatever.

so in your view this is a selective application of quota system for disadvantaged groups, because a similar application of quota system does not exist in other places.

Shame on others for screwing over their under represented people by not giving them the benefit of a quota.

^Other provinces don't see it with "ethnic" glasses, hence there isn't much resentment there.

hey man, Balochistan has Quetta, though :)

The ethnic glass was created not very long ago.

now now lets not run away with ethnic eye comment, the point was quite different :)

if the quota system is in place to really help under represented groups then why is it not present in other provinces in the same manner. do they not want to help under represented people in the province, what about those from out of the province..

are you saying that the under represented people in those provinces dont mind being under represented and dont point fingers at others in the province and whine?

baat toh yeh bhi sahee hai aap ki.

Well that was started by none other than our PM Liaqat Ali Khan. He had Sindh urban quota + a quota for Urdu speaking people who were still in India. That's whey lakhs of our fore fathers showed up in Pakistan well after 1947 (like 1950s). These Urdu Speaking people had job guarantee while our Sindhi brethren suffered under pro-Urdu discrimination and prejudices.

This juggling of quota system and the Islamic slogan was meant to create a "voting constituency" for LAK sahib.

Even though LAK sahib was gone in sad circumstances, the quota system was entrenched and enforced by the dominant Urdu speaking baboos back then.

This "separation from dirty Sindhis" was so vicious, that big educational institutions in Karachi University practically stopped Sindhi admissions by various discriminatory policies. These draconian policies were only relaxed in the Mid to late 1980s. Even when few Sindhis did make it to Karachi, they were not allowed to rent 90% of the houses.

These are but few things that are very important to know for the current generation of Urdu Speaking people. They have been fed lies by their discriminating parents and that's why many of them are so angry at the perceived injustices against Urdu Speaking people.

Bottom line: My Urdu Speaking community used strict discrimination against Sindhis for good 40 years by hook or crook. Now that Sindhis are no more players even in their own province, our people want to challenge whatever little is leftover for Sindhis.

Frauds this for historical perspective only.

As for now, Karachi aka Sindh Urban Sindh should be creating private enterprises. Government jobs of yesteryears are all but gone.

Considering the Sindh Urban population even if we allocated 50% of civil service jobs, they still won't be enough.

So here are two options:

1. Create anarchy in the name of quota system, thus indirectly strengthening the terror Jihad by Mullahs.

2. Thank God, we are not living in Bihar and work hard to create private businesses.

if you go back and read, much of the employment has come through private enterprises. btw, when industries were nationalised, people already working tehre were screwed over because all of a sudden they had the whole quota system.

the quota system is not just in employment, cuz screw govt jobsas you say, the ppl of karachi has shown their resourcefulness by turning teh city into the business hub of Pakistan. But in karachi you have a big quota for education as well, is not just for rural sindhis but for ppl from other provinces too. Is there a similar quota system in other cities and provinces? do they have quota system for poor parts of Karachi?

I would have thought that a sensible approach would be to establish more universities and colleges in underserved areas. But then the blame for that can not go to ppl of Karachi.

Now, as far as quota system introduced by LAk being wrong, sure sounds like it, but that does not mean that the quota system introduced later is any right, if his quota system screwed over rural sindhis, then bhuttos quota system screwed karachites.

and yet again, I am still searching for similar asinine quota implementation in the rest of the country.

there are no under-represented groups in other parts if Pakistan I take it?

In the end, if youa re going to have a quota system to help under represented folks, then help all underpriviliged folks in all parts of the country.

mullah kee daurr masjid tukk
aur antiobl kee daurr mullah tukk

PS: I pitty your childhood man

PS 90: at least, tell us the name of that mullah who made you rebel that much:)

mullah doh piaza maybe

no within Pakistan for Punjabis in general.

how about Balochies within Pakistan, Sindhies within pakistan, Pashtoons within Pakistan as well?

why not in the province though? if it can exist in sindh, which people are saying is right and just, then why not have the same urban-rural type of divide in punjab for quota?

are you saying that the rest of teh country should accomodate underprivileged punjabis while the priviliged pubjabis can not? why not both?

why is that?

True Fraudz Sahib!

Quota system was never "introduced later". Bhutto used the same LAK formula.

As I said, Urban people in the rest of Pakistan never enforced their special quota. Punjab, Sarhad, and Balochistan always made province wide lists for selection.

Urdu speaking people however abused their power from 1947 onwards and set up their separate quota in the name of "Urban Sindh", and "As yet to immigrate Biharis".

I used to believe the drawing room talk by many of my elders. Then I started researching Pak history and found how my Urdu community set special deals to extend their hegemony over the rest of Pakistan. I have seen statistics, and read about the abuse of power by Urdu speaking baboos.

So instead of getting angry we need to put our heads down and thank god we are not living in the land of Lallu Parsad.

I don't know Fraudz if you have any cousins or uncles or extended family still living in India. If you do, just check if they are living in bigger mansions, and driving bigger cars than your family.

There are under represented groups for sure. But the difference is much smaller compared to Sindh.

The rest of three provinces have spent 60 years giving equal opportunity to their rural folks. That's why majority of students in Lahore, Peshawar, and Quetta are from the rural areas of their provinces. And this process has gone on from 1947.

This off course was never true in Karachi. Way back from 1950s our parents and grand parent's generation openly discriminated in housing, education, and employment.

Off course the good times never continue, and the gold rush got over. Now thanks to MQM and Jamat Islami this city of lights has been turned into a cesspool. And quota system can't clean all that muck.

Its true people in villages etc need a bigger boost than your average city goer.. but you cant achieve that by giving them preference. How about giving them equal opportunities? How about shooting all the feudal lords in the head and giving an equal level of education too all those kids of punjabi and sindhi farmers and villagers who have spent their lives slaving away for their feudal lords /choudhry / pir / wadera / etc.

Strike the root (i.e. remove feudalism and provide equal opportunity education) is the answer, quota system isnt the answer.