Quickest Shaadi to Talaq you have seen?

Re: Quickest Shaadi to Talaq you have seen?

Many times in a night, according to her. Can't blame him though.

^What an idiot couple.

I know a couple who were going out since school days, for quite a few years. They got married, went on honeymoon where they musta had a fight and came back about 10 days later looking to divorce.

Sillies.

Ridiculously huge. It was a VERY extravagant wedding. There were about 800+ people at the reception (nikkah was earlier in the day and mire intimate with just family and close friends), and it was at one of the poshest hotels in our city. Everything was as top class as possible. Both bride and groom sides were extremely showy people and were not lacking financially. Maybe this was Allah’s way of showing them their real aukat. Khair, the guy is now remarried (to a cousin!), as far as I know, girl is still single…

A distant cousin called it "quits" barely a week after her marriage. True/valid reasons to which are yet to be known. Rumors however has it, she was too business oriented and the guy allegedly was to be the more conservative type. Not mentioning the accusation of him asking her dad for help financially for a business venture (Her dad was/is a multi-billionare). He did achieve success in the end without the financial aid. The girl today and in her early 30's is busy managing companies and without giving much attention or interest to the endless proposals she receives to date. And as many would've guessed it, the setting was all arranged.

I also know of a divorce that happened a long time ago. A rich businessman from Pakistan transferred his wealth to USA and got married there. Just one week after marriage the girl filed for divorce and got away with half of his money.

^ Gold digga much...

Anyway back in Pakistan I know of one Shadi where you just knew it was doomed to fail. The groom and his entourage travelled to the brides house for the Nikkah ceremony at mid-day. Due to some trouble on the way (apparently a rival arranged a dacoit attack on the party) they were delayed by some hours and did not reach thier destination till around 7 or 8pm. The Shadi guest had by that time assumed it was all over and had left so runners had to go and re-call them.

Meanwhile it took some time to find a Molvi sahab as it was so late in the evening and the Molvi of that village had gone somewhere else. Then the Nikkah took place and all seemed well but some time into the Weding the groom spotted somone he did not want in the party and decided to throw a huff about it...

Long story short by mid-night the newly weds were rushed away and nobody saw the groom again. Rumours range from the guy having left the country to go somewhere for work, the guy divorced her as he wrote a divorce letter to her and had it stamped by authorities (the girls fammily never mentioned that, I reckon its a rumour), The guy died from an accident (murdered maybe???) The guy has some sort of terrible illness.... etc

Needless to say the most tragic aspect of it all the girl went completely mad and apparently clings on to the notion that her Husband will still come to take her away someday.

To be honest thats the saddest case of a Shadi turned baarbadi which I know of, and people still speak of it even here in the UK as a marraige which lasted just 4 hours. From 8pm to Midnight...

I think it was a great tragedy and mystery that we may never know the truth of but instinct tells me its definately not the worse case out there and niether is it unique... sadly simmilar cases must happen every few years.

As far as I understand, half wealth cannot be assigned to her if she was married for so short time.

It depends on the law and not your understanding.

My understanding of the law.

His lawyer must have been an idiot. If he indeed have a lawyer or if the story is really true.

Faris that is really sad…

For the second story are you talking about where the groom divorced his wife right on the spot on their wedding because the bride had cursed out his mother for accidentally dropping cake on her dress? Not sure how true it is…I think its turned into an urban legend now :vivo:

Find this hard to believe..

@ sara: my mum's friend went to that wedding where the groom divorced his newlywed on their reception because she called his mum the ''b!tch'' for dropping cake on her expensive ''designer'' lehnga :/

Not sure, I dont remember a Cake story… was that in UK or Pakistan?

I suppose it does not matter much either way as in the last half a decade or so the situation with peoples in both parts of the world is of very short tempers and very poor understanding in people.

kim kardashian?

That's sad.

But if she spit in her MIL's glass of Rooh Afza, then it would be justified. :)

7 days after the wedding ( groom spent around £70,000 on his wedding) and the other was 2 months after her wedding. Reason for the second one: She wanted the son to kick his mother out of the house ( bearing in mind the father had passed away ages ago). Even if the father wasn't deceased I personally think it was a great move by the son. Biwi to mil jai gi koi aur, maa kahan se aur lata.

Wow thats a bit messed up... I suppose I could understand the anger at the Moms stupidity but the Bahu had no right to swear either... and the guy really did not do himself much favours there becuase he should have interceded and tried to smooth things over rather than take sides in the arguement... or better still not get involved at all.

Shocking really.

^Someone posted a thread about this a while back. No idea if it was genuine or not, it was contested by a lot of GSers.

The bride's parents are to blame too. Why did they hide such a big thing from them? Did they honestly feel he'll never find out?