quickest dish ...

So what dishes are the ones that you can get done in less then half an hour ? or are easy to do after you come back tired and a busy schedule ? :hmmm:

Desi options please …shukriya

Re: quickest dish ...

Bhindi ki tarkari is the quickest dish for me ..takes about 20 mins..and the dum can take another 5 or 10 mins

Masoor Daal. Takes me just 10 minutes in the pressure cooker with the tarka.

Also I like making simple brown rice (with peas and/or potato wedges). Takes me about 25-30 mins.

Don't know any more, because I'm a basic cook =(

Re: quickest dish …

Banda thaka hara aye dafter say sur usay masoor key daal khanay ko milay !!!
Zulm key inteha hay yeh.

Freezer main kabab, tikka , aur yakhi banay k feeze kar dow , when needed it will take half hour to fry , bake , grill , or cook any of those. How difficult is that ? :@:

On that matter in our freezer we have many prepared but uncooked stuff which can be cooked, fried , grilled , baked on demand.

^^ LOL ^^ Whenever I plan to make masoor daal, I call hubby and ask ’ zyada tau nahin thakay huay aaj? daal banaa doon? ’ :smiley: :smiley: AND if I am angry at something, i call him up and tell ’ mainay daal banaii hai..zayada thakay huay hain tau kuch laitay aana sath’ :hehe:

i need an hour to cut and slit bhindi :bummer:

Thora compromise chalta hai Mirch uncle.

Oh and Kababs can be fried in 5 mins but they aren’t made from scratch so they don’t count. =p

There are many dishes which I tried and that took less than half an hour

• Anda ghotala - in just 10-15 minutes
  • Aaloo ki bujhiya - 15 minutes
  • Daal Masoor - 20 minutes
  • Mix Sabzi 25-30 minutes

am so lazy in this regard. I hate cooking in mass amounts and freezing the stuff..dunno why :bummer:

And each day the same battle goes in my mind …‘aaj kya pakaon’ urrghh…when would I learn :stuck_out_tongue:

hehe Proto I used the frozen and cut bhindi..it hardly takes 20 mins. But then again am usually just cooking for two so it doesnt take long to cut rest of the veggies :hmmm:

khatti daal
kheema & kichri
channe ka salan
khagina (not sure of spelling, it's the scrambled eggs w/hari mirchi, onions etc)

these are all a part of my 30-minutes-or-less repetoire :)

:rotfl: I feel for you hubby , say my salam to him. :smiley:

I think I had posted a 10 minutes meal or contributed to a thread like it in these forums. Let me dig it out.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-and-cuisine-corner/414285-recipes-for-21st-century.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-and-cuisine-corner/407192-throw-in-this-and-that-and-concoct-a-new-dish.html

egg N rice medley...fast N yummy :) takes only 10 min to prepare :)

(beef) qeema and chicken are the only meat items you can cook in less than 30 minutes.

Uffo…daal gets such a bad reputation, I <3 daal…and no its not the easiest/laziest thing for me to cook. dunno why it has such a bad rep :frowning:

Because most people make very blend daal most of the time. No or very little mirch masala is used. They think since it is sada/simple khana it should remain that way. This is what has given daal a bad rep. Samajh a-e k nahi ?
When I make it, and now my wife too, we use lots of mirch masala , sometime with qorma masala , sometime with chicken tikka masala, sometime fish curry masala etc.
If you make it that way , I would not eat anything else.

^mirch bhai please share your chatpatti daal recipe. hubby loves masoor ki daal..but am tired of cooking it the same way :bummer:

^me too! I <3 daal. Esp the khatti one with imli. Yum!

Pasta - literally any kind of pasta with mostly any kind of sauce
Daal
Basic boneless chicken salan and plain rice
Fried okra