Question from Muslims who believe

that

a. Quran is the word of Allah
b. There are no contradictions in it.

In Quran, there are many places where it is mentioned that Allah created universe (earth, sky, etc) in six days. Then there are places which refers to ‘Kun fa yakoon’ meaning when God wants to create something, He just utter ‘Kun - be’ and it comes into existence (fa yakoon).

What is the reason behind mentioning two different things. I appreciate a response in beautiful words, which enhance understanding and love for Allah.

Re: Question from Muslims who believe

Peace Muqawe bhai,

U need detailed answer or just in short? :)

Allah must have created universe in different stages, just like he created Adam in different stages. Each stage of universe might be the result of kun fayakun, but to put together all the stages Allah decided to take six days.

My two cents

both. which can explain the matter.

Agree there must be some hikmat behind creating it in stages. Thats what I wanted to understand, if it has been explained in any of Islamic literature.

These 6 day are not literally 24 hours consisting of 86400 seconds... the day on the seventh sky is far more longer than the day on earth.. even you can see that a day on the Planet MARS is 2.7% longer than Earth...1 seconds up there could be a millenium for us down here... so when ALLAH said "KUN FAYAKUN" the process of TRANSFORMATION took some time of maybe seconds up there...but it could have taken 6 days for Human Beings OF earth...

and 1 thing we must know that When ALLAH says/orders, then the process of transformation or Angel took some time to complete/obey/perform it...

this is an example for us that ALLAH Is Almighty...and also there could be a pattern of forming the world or ALLAH ki Hikmat...

In addition,
I heard, people saying, *"Jab wo uthaye jayeinge to boleinge,hum to 1 min ya 2 mins ki zindagi jee ker aaye hein zameen per"

*___________________________

No one knows about ALLAH.. Who is Almighty... This "KUN FAYAKUN" is an instance for human beings to know about the Mightiness Of ALLAH PAAK...
We dont even knows that Do ALLAH needs to say these words for anything ?? I really doubt that...

gaining knowledge about ALLAH is prohibited, so we must focus on His Ehkamaat...

Agree with the longer days as compared to day in earth. even days on different planets are different in length.

But I think there is no restriction on thinking over universe made by Allah, its been encouraged. Islam invites pondering over universe and not vice verce. Although its not integral part of ones faith for which he will be questioned and focusing on ehkamaat is more necessary.

Why must we know everything?

Its not knowing everything. Its about if anyone have thought on this and explained it. Otherwise, this really doesn't affect ones faith. As they say ' janene se manena ziada zaroori hai. janene ke peechne padne wale kabhi kabhaar be-sakoon ho jate hain.. yaqeen kar lene aur maan lene main sakoon hi sakoon hai'.

You know... your question was shocking for me as I never thought about it.. but I explained it with my Common Sense... meanwhile I slipped away from the path and started thinking about ........................ :)

khair, maybe at some extent you are right... but I will consult someone on this....

but 1 thing is for sure that if you go beyond the happening you slips... thats why its prohibited...

If you consider the title of thread and first two lines, there is no chance for slipping. Once you believe its all from Allah, there are no contradiction. There may be problem with our understanding / comprehension but not with the Quran, there are no chances of deviation.

actually while thinking it went into another path... definitely if you thinks widely you will be astonished and become speechless... and MORE deeper thoughts decline the purpose and opens a broad way to think about...

Verily.. if you have a strong faith then no chance of deviation...

^^ btw have you heard about the "Big Bang Theory" ???

what are your concepts about it ??

I have a presentation that I made for a US company's interfaith meetings back when I worked for them which summarizes the Islamic Story of Creation. It is based on Quran's clear evidence and sequence.
Would you like to see that?

^ please share

Can't figure out how though...file is a .pptx and too big (16 slides)..

can you print screen and upload the individual slides as pictures?

yes , please do share

It is good that you asked because there are lot of confusion amongst people regarding some phrases in Quran that could become clear from answering your question. Anyhow, it is unfortunate that sometime such question can open Pandora box and even though there are answers to most (if not all) questions, time and commitment restrains comes in way, and certainly not all could get satisfied with answers ( as answers may satisfy people of one understanding and may not satisfy people of another understanding).

Anyhow, let me give you answer according to my understanding ... at least this answer satisfy my understanding of Islam.:).

One should remember that Quran is communication of Allah for people. In communication, one uses words, phrases and concept what other can understand, and that is what Allah did in his communication with people (Quran), in the language of humans.

In human communications, most words, phrases and concepts has own meaning (metaphorical meaning) as well as literal meaning … and unfortunately, where Allah used metaphorical phrase in Quran Shaitan made some people to take it as literal and where Allah has used in Quran something literal Shaitan made some people take it as phrase (or metaphorical) … and in both cases these confused (or misguided) people do not use intelligence that Allah gave them to differentiate. All this has not only changed Islam but has created lot of mayhem (that I would not like to go into here).

Coming to your question: Kun-fa-yea-koon and mention of 6 days … in one sentence.
‘Kun-fa-yea-koon’ is literal … and … 6 days is metaphorical.

Obviously, days and nights only exists due to movement of heavenly bodies (planets and stars) and those who know that such is true, would know that days and night could not have existed when planets were yet to get created.

Secondly: for Allah, there is no such thing as days or nights … or even divisions in time, that days or night … or days consisting of x number of hours would exist.

Third … days and nights is material concept for material world that Allah created and it has nothing to do with spiritual world.

Allah has already mentioned (and that is obvious too to those with some understanding) that Allah only needs to say (or think … or desire) for anything to happen and that happens. That mean whatever Allah desired … including creation of this universe, it happened instantly … no time required.

Anyhow, 6 days even in metaphorical form means time … a length of time. So, when Allah used phrase ‘6 days’ in Quran, what Allah meant?

Here, Allah is addressing people and for people, time is most important thing. Whatever we see around us is related with time. Anyhow, concept of time is two.

One: Time is constant and human is moving in time.
Two: Time is advancing and human are advancing with time.

Belief in some scientific circle: World time is in spiral form (concept one above), and that is, even though all what is happening is already there (time is constant), for human, humans are moving forward in that constant time (not moving with advancing time). And it is this concept that has created concept of time machine and star-trek (space ship voyager) travelling in space as well as time … and so on.

Allah created universe instantly … with all its time variations, events, and everything … from start to finish (spiral time belief) … so ‘kun-fa-yea-koon’ is literal.

On the other hand, we human see time as advancing and humans are advancing with time and that everything that is happening takes time. So, in metaphorical form Allah mentioned 6 days.

You might ask why 6 days?

Again it is for human understanding and related to time scale Allah has created for humans (7 days a week) and in this phrase (6 days) a concept Allah gave to human regarding how human should spend time ... or '6 days' Allah mentions determines work and rest time ratio for human. With 6 days, a message is given to human that for human, in one week (that is also time phrase created by Allah for humans, that we follow), work time is 6 days and rest time is one day.

Hi again Bhaiya... earlier I said
"I heard, people saying, "Jab wo uthaye jayeinge to boleinge,hum to 1 min ya 2 mins ki zindagi jee ker aaye hein zameen per"

this is not people's saying... infact it is written in Quran (translation)* "Jab unko utha jayega aur pucha jayega to wo kaheinge hum to 1 din guzar ker aaye hein, aur koi kahega hum 2 din ki"...

*also in addition to time...

Surah-Al-Araaf, Verse 54:

"Surely your Lord is ALLAH, who created the heavens and the earth in six periods of time, and HE is firm in power, HE throws the veil of night over the day,which it pursues incessantly, and (HE created) the sun and the moon and the stars, made subservient by HIS command, surely HIS is the creation and the command; blessed is ALLAH, the LORD of the worlds"

^ "KUN FAYAKUN: Jo Wo chahta hai hukam Deta hai to hukam Deta hai ke "HO JAA", pas wo kaam hojata hai...

here when ALLAH says Kun Fayakoon and then instantly everything created....... BUT,,,,,,, there are certain things which ALLAH made by HISSELF, like Jannat and Insaan ka chehra.. so kisi cheez ko banane ke marahil hote hein...

aur isme ALLAH ki hikmat hai.. aur sirf WOHI jaan'ne wala hai.. insaan to haqeer aur faani hai... also talking about this matter is OK, per aisa kerne se guraiz hi kerna chahiyeey... :)

Beautiful explanation Sa1eem. :jazak:

I liked the part (Obviously, days and nights only exists due to movement of heavenly bodies (planets and stars) and those who know that such is true, would know that days and night could not have existed when planets were yet to get created), as it proves metaphorical usage.