Question for the men here.............................................

Re: Question for the men here.............................................

how many girls date with approval/consent of their parents???

this 'hypocricsy' is part of the dating process......both girls and boys do this......

Every time I'm about to reply to something you said I read your signature and think 'screw it'.

^please do.....

Parents dont need to know whom I date, but they do need to know whom I Marry.

Okay I see your point.

Yeah, they do.

kiyonkay paisa tou aama abba nay hi lagana hota hai shaadi pay.... aur phir shaadi kay baad amoomunn Larki ko joint family main rahna hota hai, issiliye larkay kayliye "ammi ji shaadi karloo paasnd ki"? ka poochna zarori ho jata hai....

anyways..... poeple dont date with the intention of getting married to the same person..... but sometimes they do become serious though.

Kiyoun-Ke ammi dating sey mana kerti haiN, shadi sey nahiN......Duh

Re: Question for the men here…

make sense :slight_smile:

Well why single out guys? Don't girls do it too?

Anyways, when I was single, my parents and I had the understanding that if I chose any guy he would be approved by my parents (well on the basic level--Pakistani, Muslim, educated, "good" family etc). I never even "considered" the type of guys I could never marry....made life alot simpler :p

I think it is possible to feel an attraction with someone who would not be a good life partner. But there can be chemistry. You feel alive and excited when that person is around, you enjoy that person's company.

But then when things become about marriage, home, family, children, etc. Then you need to consider other factors.

Peace Reha

Good question ... I believe it is good manners for a boy to ask the parents of the girl to court her ... this is what was done when times were moral. The thing is people get kicks out of doing the Romeo and Juliet thing. They both did the rebellious thing too.

^^ agree

i dunno if i agree with this…i think ur parents should know who ur with whether ur a guy or a girl… im of the opinion that these days parents can be open to their kids dating provided there are certain limits …and it makes it a whole lot easier on everyone if the parents know… i dont thik i cud date anyone unless my mom knew about him and approved of him at least on face value

i think parents should know about both

OH? is that ryte? and do you practice what you preach mr KKF ? :rotfl:

whats wrong with you woman ??? :nahi:

Being an Eastern Guy, I never go on dates :blush:

Agree.. My family is like this as well and I think this attitude is becoming a lot more common now.. Most of my the kids in our circle are allowed to go out and find their own partners when they get close to engagement/marriage age.. I never asked for explicit approval but of course if they had a problem with the guy they would have made their feelings clear anyway..

My parents encourage me to find my own partner and know if I like someone etc as long as I stay in my limits and I keep them informed.

Because they have given me this respect and privelage I dont think I would date someone without thinking long term and without making sure my parents would approve.

A very close friend of mine is marrying someone she dated for 5 years and she comes from a traditional family but because she kept her mother informed and stayed very very much within her limits her parents were very happy to allow her to marry this man :)
Its a different story that I cant find anyone myself at the moment who I want to date seriously!

So how does this dating thing work? You date to determine coherence and compatibility? 1 year 2 years 5 years? Then determine a yes or a no? If you cycle starts again? 1 2 5 years? Yes/no? Again back to square one. Seems to me like a endless flowchart of seem less partner-seeking mayhem.

I kinda get the bigger picture. So, there are two basic scenarios first you date (no hurry) until you find, it might take you a couple of tries, by the time you reach 35-37 you be like what the hell just happened. The second scenario is: I want to date because I want to find someone I want to marry (hurry), but it takes time to find the right person. This one is a big gamble.

But us Muslim desi's don't, which is: this whole concept of dating is fairly new to us (meaning we are the first generation to go through it). While, NA and European cultures have passed many generations. So, we have somewhat map what will happen to us. But the thing that scares me the most (actually freaks the hell outta me) is that Pakistani culture is 180 degree part from north American culture. Thus, the implications of generations of dating in NA having disastrous results imply we be gifted with catastrophic ones.

So you tell ur parents whom u date, did u ever bring a date home and introduced him to ur parents ?

what are we defining as 'dating' here?

“Dating is a form of courtship consisting of social activities done by two persons with the aim of each assessing the other’s suitability as a partner in an intimate relationship or as a spouse. While the term has several senses, it usually refers to the act of meeting and engaging in some mutually agreed upon social activity in public, together, as a couple.” - wikipedia