Question for Pakistanis who have lived in Pk as well as abroad

Many of my relatives have spent their whole lives in Pakistan. Most of my friends have spent almost their whole lives abroad, apart from holiday trips to Pk.

I myself have been living in Austria all my life. Only in the last 6 months I had the opportunity of living in Pakistan.

I don’t know many people who have had that chance of living in both environments and I was just wondering what experiences people made by either moving away from Pakistan or moving to Pakistan:

Where do you think, life was/is better?

What were the advantages/disadvantages of living in Pakistan/abroad?

Umer, the Pakistani Brain of Austria

[This message has been edited by Umer (edited February 28, 2002).]

oh nooo

barri mushkil say iss kambakht creative writing say jaan chuttee thee.. ab yeh teacher kahan say aa gaye??.. jaan jalaanay..

nahin likhoon gaa kuch bhee

MLA style gayaa bhaarr main

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/teary3.gif

I miss my mohalla, dost biilai kay gosht, masjidain, galliyaan, koochay, bus stops, girls college etc. etc.

j/k

Oye Gadhe! You’re almost there. 2 posts left for your 1000.

Umer-

That is so awesome! that u got a chance to go and live there!!!

Can u start a thread in culture and talk about your experiences there! I would love to hear about it.

I’m from the US but originally from India so I’m not sure how different life in India is vs. pakistan. And how muslim Indians are different but I’m sure it would be quite exciting to hear about your trip.

One day I’ll go and stay in India for a while

just to experience the culture.

umer bhia.. it sucks here.. in america thr is nothing goood at all..

i dun know somehitng happened today i felt so sad that i wanna go back to pakistan

those gooray ppls can never accept us.. DRSCRIMINATION every where

beher haal education is very different than in pak. in pak teachers makes things so harder to
undersatnd and here no they always try to make things easy for us so that we can have a better understanding..

i have realized this ke those stuufss i had leanred back in 8th grade in pakitsan those stuffs comes
in my 10 and 11 grade class… in my Algebra class ppls usually calls me smarter cuz i always
go ahead from teacher.. cuz almost everything i know they teach.. (talking about ALgebra1 only) kahir now
i have Calculas but still i have a strong base of concept.. i am not saying its not good in pak
but still in pak sometimes they make thinsg difficult for us to even have a better understanding..

anyway i love my homeland i wish i can go back now but can;t cuz my brothers are in graduate school (Masters)
so my mom wont leave them and go back with me, she wants too but she knows she can;t stay thr without whole family.

i am lucky i had experianced to live both places i have lived thr almost my whole life thr in pak.

PAKISTAN

Friendship is a precious gift from ALLAH, only lucky ppl have got this gift. And thank God, I am among those ppl

jsut a quickly reply.. ke munni thr is a big difference btw muslims living in pak and
muslims living in india.. i dun live thr but those who do (my fellows class mates)
they do treat good but still they find some sort of hatress inside indians heart..

doesn;t matter hwo nice they treat, but never trust them they can go as hard as u can;t
imagine..

plzz if any hindus reading plzz dun get offended.. thats what i heard.. but in pakistan
its a pure muslim country no objection no discrimination, ppls treat each other so nice

offcourse ache bure loog har jagah hote hian

dun take it in a wrong sence i am not saying india is bad or anything but still
thr are huge differences btw those two country…

Friendship is a precious gift from ALLAH, only lucky ppl have got this gift. And thank God, I am among those ppl

Produpaksitani,

I think you just had bad expereinces with Hindus.
As you said achche bure log har jagah hote hain..
There are many good Hindus also..

So no blanket statement

Originally posted by proudpakistani007:
** jsut a quickly reply.. ke munni thr is a big difference btw muslims living in pak and
muslims living in india.. i dun live thr but those who do (my fellows class mates)
they do treat good but still they find some sort of hatress inside indians heart..

doesn;t matter hwo nice they treat,, but never trust them they can go as hard as u can;t
imagine..

So PP, what do u think of people like me, Indian Muslims born and raised in America?

Your views on Indian muslims are interesting.

offcourse thr is some good hindus..and some of are my friends i love them so mucb but u knwo the worst part.. jab kabhi koi porb hoty hia to sab se pehle hindus hi saaath chor kar jate hian.. i am not the only one who experianced this..
anyhow i dun hate indians offcourse they are human being and Islam never
allow us to discriminate anyone.. like u guys have cast system..and some sort of Achooot ppls..

kahir.. i am sorry for being rude if u are indian>> hindu

Originally posted by Muni:
So PP, what do u think of people like me, Indian Muslims born and raised in America?

Your views on Indian muslims are interesting.**

i am sorry sister i could quite get what u are asking..

as i said to andha qanoon i dun hate anyone even though i dun hate those who hate me..

doesn;t matter if u born in india or pak or america as long as u are muslim..

i respect u alot.

and my views i dun knwo if its interesting to u. but that what i have been told by some
indian muslims ke they dun get enough rights thr.. as hindus does kahir i never experianed this
so i shouldn;t say this..

so what was your quesiotn?

muni and andha qanoon
take a look at this: http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum26/HTML/005923.html

isn;t disgusting

[This message has been edited by Muni (edited March 01, 2002).]

i missed every thing here

ummm…specially my billa jo ab is dunya main nahin sniff

cricket and my friends aur yae honae ka ahsas kae ham apnae piyaray sae mulk main hai sigh

~~~~~ ~~~~~
Zara yeh to bataao
Tum ne mujh say ziada zindagi ki
Baharain daikhee hain
Dunya ke nashaib-o-faraz say bakhoobi waqif ho
Yeh dunya itni zalim
Khudgharz aur behiss kyon hai?
~~~~~ ~~~~~

Ĵŏ ţêŗãў Ðîļ ķo łũbĥæ ŵőħ äďä mµĵĥ mâïŅ ňąħĩ
ķŷŏџŅ ńå ţưĵĥĕ ĸőĩ ŧēŗį hï äďâ ρạỉśħ ķǻŗŏüŃ

Moving to society & culture forum, as it seem to be more appropriate forum for this discussion.

I find it really interesting, that when you ask people in Pakistan, a majority of the "upper middle class" is trying to find a way out.

They will give you comments like: "Me ne to baahar jaana he. Idhar Pakistan me kya rakha he?"

And most of us living abroad are missing it and wish they could go back.

Is ko kehte he: "Duur ke dhol suhane."

[This message has been edited by Umer (edited March 02, 2002).]

Umer,

sometimes it also depends on what age group the person belongs to now..

People with firmer roots in the US today, those who've made it and adjusted to it, will always find it 'better' and find faults with Pakistan, it's government, it's people and culture.

You need to subdivide opinions based on the number of years somoene has lived in Pakistan and then abroad to factor in personal bias.

There is No Spoon

Seems like I made the same experience during my short trip to pakistan, some ppl do want to get out of pakistan and I was there thinking and wishing to be living in pakistan

Why? cos it’s where I feel I belong to…I do know many ppl living in both environments, but mostly those who live abroad even if they wish to come back, remain outside due to family and kids education, financial reasons ect…

Welcome back SADI..

There is No Spoon