Question for Pakistanis living abroad

Re: Question for Pakistanis living abroad

There is nothing wrong with your topic. You asked for opinions and you have one.

when you make threads like these, keep in mind that Pakistani guys living abroad includes first and foremost your family, like your father brothers etc.

soni, your response is cute in a way....but also shows inexperience. When you live in a western society, you can attend a work function, family function or even go to a pub and consume or not - it doesnt make any difference. And those who DO consume are for the most part, doing so in a mild to moderate manner. That is, they are NOT getting drunk and acting like jerks. Rather, they are enjoying a beer or a cocktail, maybe two and thats it. To call someone a drunkard because they've had a beer or two is just inaccurate and the wrong idea. I HAVE been to a couple of desi parties where the men go to a separate area and just consume alcohol till they either pass out or puke their guts out but this doesnt happen (or at least its very rare) at western functions. Not that I'm trying to convince you that its ok but you and those like you, should realize that there are people who are not forbidden to consume and they are able to do so responsibly.

alig: hehn ji? ..do u know her family and that her father and brothers r living bahar?

daffyduck: ..yaar i dont think alig_reinvented was trying 2 b rude 2 u per say..i think he was just trying 2 make a point..nd he did it in a sort of shocking way so that u could understand.

c it did shock u..u did not like the personal qs he was askign u right? so thats what he means is that u are getting waaay 2 personal concerning the lives of paksitanis living abroad who do engage in such types of activites that u described.

I agree with DD, aishii and some of the other people here. I have seen girls who come from Pak. exceling in certain things like dressing, clubbing, smokin etc compared to people who were born and brought up here. I personally don't think it's wrong to wear sleeveless clothes.However, i'm against see through clothes etc. There's a limit to everything and unfortunately some people fail to identify that.

daffy is talking about paksitani s who were born and raised abroad..shes not talking aobut the ones who come 4rm paksitan. she said so herself. it seems u may have misread her posts.

If you read her post numero #1 she mentions Pakistanis' born abroad and those who migrated there, so she means both. What she has wrote might be true to an extent but there are still some people in Pakistan and abroad who haven't went of the rocks so to speak.

no..she said its aready been discussed in other threads b4 that paksitnais in paksitan how they r not so innocent either..she is talking about the ones abroad..she said every1 is always talking about the paksitanis in paksitan(which also includes the ones who came to foreign coutnry as teens or young adults in my opinion bcs technically they were born and raised in paksitan but then migrated to a foreign country) but what about the pakistanis abroad?
if u read her posts and not just numero uno then u would get that.

Why?

Hmm lets face it, Pakistani just arent religiouse enough! whether it is abroad or in Pakistan. We were ruled by traditions earlier and now as they are going out, all we can do is adapt up to the western culture .. sad, but thats how it is! ..

^ then i say ..let the begairith overly modern pakistanis burn in hell. burrn baby buurrrrrrrrrrrnnnn...heheeeeeee hahaaaaaaaaaaa

Where does that come from? I live in Pakistan and so does my family. I just think there is a nice way of making a point. My topic is totally generic but the way you explained your point was way too personal and not a decent way of putting ones point as well. If you felt that my topic was poking my nose in your business you couldve told me a better way.

Lemme sort this:

1. I am not talking about Pakistanis living in Pakistan (these people including us have been discussed in various threads and those of this type, as mentioned in the first post, are not encouraged and not even appreciated here in Pak either)

2. I am talking about

• Pakistanis from Pakistan who have migrated abroad for study, financial issues, better life, got married there etc.
    • Pakistanis whose parents are Pakistani but were born there
    • Pakistanis who have been brought up there from the beginning but were born here
  3. This does not mean that the majority is or that everyone is this type but the focus is only on those who are and why is this happening if it is and how can it be rectified?

4. This has nothing at allllll to do with comparing Pakistanis here or Pakistanis there

5. This is not a personal direct point at any of you, i dont even know the real names of any of you let alone knowing what you wear. The discussion is totally general just to get the point of view of you who actually live there.

Regarding #1: The reason that people bring up Pakistanis living in Pakistan is to point out that the trend is not something unique to Pakistanis abroad. It is a trend throughout the world. Isolating one population and ignoring the larger context will keep you from actually understanding the issue. So not only are there people of Pakistani descent wearing short skirts and sleeveless tops abroad, there are plenty of people in Pakistan itself wearing sleeveless clothes, backless blouses, capris that barely cover the knees, etc.

The question is, does this increased skin exposure reflect the degeneration of (Muslim) society? I don't think it's so simple to say that what you are wearing is problematic.

What's troubling to me is why people feel the need to show off that kind of skin.

- It's one thing to wear shorts because that's how you've grown up and that's how you're comfortable (like many of my friends -- mostly non-desi),
- and totally another to wear them, talk about wearing them, and show off you're wearing them to get attention from members of the same sex or the opposite sex, to feel like you fit in or belong, or (perhaps worst) simply to cause a scene.

For each person wearing that short skirt or backless top, the reason why is complex and unique, and until we understand that, we cannot understand if it is a problem or how to resolve it.

Well it clearly shows the hypocrisy or ignorance of Muslims.