Question for Pakistanis living abroad

Hey!

Before i start the topic id like to say that this topic isn’t directed towards some one specifically and i would prefer that this be kept as a healthy discussion and no personal attacking and harsh wordings please. ***

Recently, lets say in the last 4-5 years i have seen so many Pakistanis living abroad, born there, migrated there, or on study purposes have truly changed them selves completely. It is good to change with the environment but now girls hardly wear anything. Seriously, lots of my own class fellows & batch mates study there and wear such deep-neck shirts, very small length tops, mini skirts, strapless blouses etc. you all know what i mean. In every other picture, Pakistani boys and girls are seen posing for a photograph sticking to opposite gender people of other countries. I know they are just friends but aren’t we Muslims? and also Pakistanis? This is really not our culture. I am not a narrow minded person and i also have friends but i think there should be a limit. Going to dance clubs and exposing so much of skin and hugging, kissing, drinking, fooling around etc people of other genders just in the name of ‘friendship’ that isn’t wise.

I know many of you will say we don’t do it and people we know don’t do it. But the fact is that no matter how much anyone denies it, this thing is prevailing so much and is progressing so much day after day. Why have Pakistanis abroad totally forgotten their roots all of a sudden? I know here in Pakistan people are like this too but right now i am just focusing on Pakistanis abroad, there have been lots of discussions already on Pakistanis living in Pakistan being westernized. People in Pakistan have westernized but there is still a large majority that is still sticking to their roots.

Everyone should adapt to their environments, westernization and modernization but within limits. Wear jeans and skirts etc everything but at least we should be fully covered and some distance should be maintained with the other gender. Hanna? This isn’t our culture or our religion, neither am i conservative person but to adopt so much to some one else’s culture that you totally forget your own roots isn’t right at all. What do you think?

Re: Question for Pakistanis living abroad

salaam dd..

i completely agree with you...i was born and raised in london so i have seen what u have described... i dont want to sound judgemental or nething but from what iv seen i have to say that i no a lot of girls who have come from pakistan, settled in the country and kasam se they are so much more 'westernised' than the pakistanis who were born in the country.... sleeveless, short skirts, smoking, clubbing, freeness with guys...iv seen it all! and its so shocking, i no girls who have come to the country to 'study' so their parents are still back home but they are totally taking advantage of their freedom... ofcourse it would be a lie to say that all british pakistanis are good muslims (cover, no clubbing etc) but the worst seem to be the ones who have come from back home... i really dont no y that is :s

i Agree with Aishii

Exactlyy! Their parents don't even know what the kids are doing and those who have been living there ever since, their parents have been seeing it for years and are so used to it so they don't say a thing to the children. Also the kids have rights from the government so they can do what ever to the parents. There should be some way to control this? we are ruining everything that for years that elderly Pakistanis and Muslims have made over years.. the culture, the upbringing, the ethics, the mannerisms, etc. I mean there is a reason that most mums find a spouse for their kids in Pakistan even if their kid lives abroad. It is this very reason that most Pakistanis are stuck to their roots here. A much needed change is required abroad too. What can we and you all do about it to reduce it else it will keep engrossing everything?

i blame lack of deen..thats all it comes down to... sharam, haya its gone out of the window! funny thing is wen a girl like this is confronted she shows no remorse or embarrasment instead ur left feeling stupid, like ur the wierd one... iv noticed that the reason they are so 'modern' is due to the company they keep...the dont want to mix with hijabis or girls who dress modestly, they prefer girls from different cultures who wear short skirts have boyfriends etc also ur right to say the western culture gives that freedom where the mentiality is 'its my life, i can do wot i like & anyone who dsnt like it can go to hell' sad sigh

who cares? let them do it..htey burn in hell . lolllz.. nd ull go 2 heaven. theyll suffer 4 it some time or later..or they learn..n snap out of it n leanr there lesson..im sure its transitional..temporary..they r kidz..come 4rom srtrict pkstn..c freedom n go wild.

nywayz i think thyr r worse things gogin on in pkstni culture like family politics, jealousy, resntment, vengeance(espcly between reltaives) nd its scary!

true but the reason y i personally care is becos i will be raising my kids (inshallah) in this mahol, for me thats really worrying..if things are like this now by the looks of it the situation will only get worse (Allah na kare)

neway may Allah guide us all ameen

It matters to me.It also matters to many other people who have for years built the culture. Also, it matters to those who don’t want their country and religion’s name go down the drain. We are nobody to judge whether or not they will burn in hell but at least we should try to make things better instead of sitting and watching everything.

:smack: Oho! This is what i stated shuru mai keh lets not make it Pakistanis in Pakistan vs Pakistanis abroad kind of topic. This discussion isn’t meant to compare people. There have already been many discussions on Pakistanis in Pakistan.

i DID NOT make it pkstns in pkstn vs. pkstns abroad stmt AT ALL..u r mistaken. i meant these issues i mentioned r regarding **paksitanis everywhere.

oops part of my post is mixed in with ur original post aobve..hehe..oooooopsies!

lol.

situation is not like that in australia. its worse in a different way! if a girl goes shopping wearing jeans....we are talking jeans ..... all the house wifes will know this and the whole community will errupt. heck, i still remember when 2 families collided full on when a one lady said she saw a girl wearing jeans at 9: pm on thursday night.

pakistani youth in australia dont go out clubbing/drinking as you have described in your post. there are no such thing as desi gangs and Asian gangs in australia.

ofcourse they arnt really conservative youth but they no the limit between socializing and islam.

the anti-islam that occurs in australia hasnt got anything to do with pakistanis/desi at all. its got to do with the arabs in australia.

Ok, help and suggest something how could things be made better? :D

I am surprised! :eek:

well im sorta surpirsed that desi’s are like this in the UK/USA. im very shocked about desi gangs in the UK. at first i found it very hard to believe. there is no such thing desi gangs in australia. it will be great if any australia posters can tell me that there is such thing but i have never heard of any such or seen any such. most pakistani youth are well educated people, either born here or from ever seas.

never in my life have i sen a pakistani girl wearing a skirt. never.

:dhimpak:

I am 100% agree with u daffyduck :k:

I think the reason being is that when they come from pakistan they just go crazy seeing all the freedom, I would blame parents aswell because they start thinking once we are here we should do what gora society do to get along with them

Utter rubbish!!

Unless you and your fellow pakistanis have created a colony out in the bush someplace and are living there with no ties to the city you wouldnt say such a thing.

Lets not forget the pakistani brothers serving time in the can for the rape.

Pakistanis in Australia are no better than the Lebs/Serbs/Turks etc.

And if god forbid pakistanis arent clubbing then why i wonder do they have a Dance club in Parra heavily polluted wtih skanks and junkies from pakistan every weekend :rolleyes:

I dont mean only those Pakistanis who went from here but also those and may be even especially those who have been living there from their birth and have been brought up there. They also are well aware of the culture here. Moreover, their parents also teach them but most of them turned out to be this type.

1. pakistanis are no way at the level of lebs. that is absalutely a joke. not saying pakistanis cant be bad but they are no way at this level.

i am not aware of a night club at parramatta. i am aware of one in liverpool but it mainly filled with curry skanks. maybe your getting mixed up with curries and pakistanis

[quote="DaffyDuck, post:14, topic:183557"]

I dont mean only those Pakistanis who went from here but also those and may be even especially those who have been living there from their birth and have been brought up there. They also are well aware of the culture here. Moreover, their parents also teach them but most of them turned out to be this type./quote]

Daffy, I would like to respectfully disagree. This is the reason I did not want to get involved in this thread earlier when I considered it. Because everyone has experienced something different and it is no good to generalise.

I was born here, so my siblings, many many cousins and extended relatives. I know of very few who (mainly in the extended network we know) who behave in this way. The reason being that when our grandparents/parents settled in this country they were deathly afraid of their children losing their cultural identity and religion. So most parents made a point to give their children strict upbringings, explain to them that we have our own culture and values that we should follow. Now of course this differs in every family. In my own, Islam has largely taken precedence over Pakistani traditions. Other families are different.

Now, I have seen what you described prevalent in the Pakistanis who come here to study at university. But i put that down to the fact that they are from rich families and their lives in Pakistan aren't much different, it's just easier for them to do what they want here.

Basically, I'm trying to say that this can be the case all over. It really depends on how the parents have bought the children up, what values they have installed in them, whether the children chose to follow what their parents have taught them or not and how religious they themselves turn out to be.

If anything there is an increasing trend in the UK to be proud of your religion/identity and over the past few years many girls have taken up hijab etc. In fact there has been a complete u-turn in a lot of people.

Totally agree with you stopit. But there is still a large majority of Pakistanis living in Uk,US,Canada etc. who are involved in all these acts. We cant generalise but whether or not their parents instilled in them the norms and ethics they still do all those acts. There is no worry about those people who maintain their sanctity fully. Masha Allah you belong to one of those nice families too. But we being Pakistanis should be considered about those who are going off track? Dont u think so too?

Well personally I think it is religion that plays the biggest factor in how we live our lives. If people are not religious then what reason do they have to for example, dress modestly or not drink? That one's 'culture' does not promote this behaviour is not enough.
If people grow up in an Islamic environment (in the house) and chose not to pray or follow the other tenets what can others really do? I know a family where some cousins wear hijab and the others go clubbing etc. The latter know the former don't approve but they are happy living how they do.