Question for Mr Lucman / Mubasher Lucman Corner (Merged)

Re: Pehla Pehla Pyar - Questions for M. Lucman

I guess you will haev to appreciate the difference between a pop singer and a play back singer. Its massive. Additionally, if you observe teh pop singers in India are evry week that is primarily because their film music is strong. A few years back when their filmi music was down you had Alisha, Mehnaz, Baba Saigol and a few others like Anaida etc suddenly they faded away when their musicals picked up. Thats the power of play back singing.

I do not mean to insult anyone but most of our singers are really limited. Ahmed Rushdie, Runa Laila, Naheed Akhtar, Mehnaz Mala and all were far too superior in quality.

mubasher i have a question for you.

two big films are releasing on the same day, on 12th august, was that a good decison and are you comfortable with that, and in a country were there are only 2/3 DTS cinemas in a city and only 1 in small cities, how will both films release on the same day.

I have given out so many similar replies on various pages now that I haev lost compleet track of where I am. I mean what page and what forum??? please do excuse my follies from time to time. Thanks

Perhaps if you call ARY digital in uk or write to them on their web address maybe they would haev a copy of it and dont mind selling it. Its a good idea though. The CEO of ARY is MR Salman Iqbal write to him directly.

Sir I dont think the comparisons are wrong. By the way the depth of the cinema in Pakistan can be judged by the fact that CHOORIAN did RS 37 crores of business and it had a ticket price of only RS 35. LIke wise YDAKH did RS 7 crores. The cinema figures are neither accurate nor do they work like that. The numbers are depreciating and very fast. There are multiple problems in our screening at the moment. If a typical Urdu film released in 22 theatres nationwide does a full house then in the first week the returns (BAck to the producer) are almost Rs 7 million or around that. But that does not happen. Look at this example, in case you have been to Lahore then you will know. All major cinemas are located on the Laxmi Chowk. Allama Iqbal Town has almost 11000 homes almost a mini city. Now add up to that little mini city, model town, defence, Town Ship, Industrial area, Garden Town, Muslim Town, New Muslim Town, Rivaz Garden, Mayo gardens, Gulshan E Ravi, Wasan Pura, Shahalam MArket, Band Road, Samanabad, Ravi Road, Jauhar Town, PECHS Society, PCSCIR, Tech society, etc you can calculate the population figures I am not good at statistics. Thats almost 4 to five million people living in these areas and guess what none of them have a cinema in there. If you add Gullberg as it has one cinema Capri that is not functioning then you can count the number of families that are far and away from cinemas. Now an average family in Pakistan does not own a car. So if they wish to come down to Laxmi chowk it means RS 500 per trip on cab and then add to that the late hours that can be evry discouraging for families when they are returning to far flung areas. This means that your last show is almost a wash out. Dont count on that. Also your other shows are hit by piracy and other disturbances in the city. For instance who would want to venture out to a movie when a bomb blast has occured around the old city?? Or if anIndia Pakistan cricket match is on? Not that it happens every day but it does keep people indoors. So the need is to develop smaller cinemas or multipleases in local areas that will give people the access or easy access to cinemas and only then it will be commercially viable. Now its not the hypothetical rates calculated but they go down even further. For instance my film will have a ticket of Rs 100, and the lower stalls or galleries will have a ticket of Rs 60 and 40 respectively. The average may seem to be RS 75 but it is not. In real terms say about 20 or 25 percent will be taken by the distributor and then cut out the cineam owners share then take out any publicity there is or allied costs of making photosets press ads etc. Then you can start to calculate my share that comes in after deducting all those shares.!!!!!!!!!!!
To do good business it is imperative that they are advertised adequately. To recover that ad spend is a nightmare. Hece a lot of people rely on scandals and press coverage otherwise and thats one reason why you seen such silly remarks coming out in the press about each other its all to generate some publicity for the film. When we make an expensive project like mine then we have to rely on heavy advertising campaign and if it does not do well even for a couple of days in the first week then its all over. Normally the recurring weeks give you 60% of the first week. Also the weekdays give you only 50% of the weekends, check the trends in Europe and the USA and you will know its prevalent there as well. So my friend we need to develop smaller and more viable cinemas and think of ways to attract peopel to cinemas besides improving our films!!!!!!!!! I hope you agree.

This is one reason when film makers who are determined to make a difference come and make a film it may not be the best one in the world but it is still an attempt and tehy dont get a favourable response at teh box offcie then they are totally washed out. They will have to go in the background make anotehr 25 million before embarking on a film or find a person willing to sacrifice his millions in a loosing scenario. Thats is discouraging and hence you see all tehse attempts wehre directors or makers are desperate to show vulgarity in cheap flicks thinking they will make a fast busk out of controversy or the younger crownd who can come on motor bikes etc and then turn away with their profits, that may not be a lot but still they are profits..

Thats why I have always maintained that if some one is to take the blame for bad films then it has to be all of us and not just one artist or a director simply all of us......Hard facts sir..I hope you will agree

Shuaib thats not my problem Its Reema’s I have my cinemas infact I had them booked about a few months in advance..FYI

I second your comment regarding playback singing and pop singing but that raises another question. Ali Zafar sang two or three kishore kumar songs in his debut album and he was quite effective in those. I am sure if given proper oppurtunity at this level, our singers can learn to orchestrate for a commercial movie. It is fine IF you chose Indian singers for your debut movie (making it a safer bet) rather than trying our singers. That massive difference can be bridged by some innovative people and I am quie hopeful that yougn directors will encourage our pop singers with nice voices and explore the oppurtunity of using their voices in movies.

Hariz Zuberi, I told him to make a movie about Internet affairs, but he wont listen to me - he thinks most people in Pakistan don't have access to the internet.

any reason for being so protective towrads your hindi film industry? Why’re you defending your position just accept it that you people are insecure about your own talent.
As far as Madan Noor Jehan is concerned, she has worked with greats like Khawaja Khursheed Anwar .That alone speaks volumes about her talent as a playback singer.
According to you, ‘indian playback singers are far more talented than our singers’ but how can you reach this decison without even giving our local singers a chance. If Pakistani film makers won’t give their own singers a chance how will they be able to prove their mettle in the art of playbcak singing?Does Adnan sami’s voice suit any indian hero yet he sings for them and everyone knows how successful a playback singer and music composer he is . Bet you now if he comes back from India you’ll definitely give him a chance.
Film making might be a business for you but first perfect the art of film making and then improve on your business sense.

^ I would say that what needs to happen is some auditions need to be held.

I don’t understand how there are no females/males that can sing in Pakistan. If you’re looking for bollywood-type voices, then approach some of these people that sing for dramas. I swear, the drama songs sound like Indian songs, some of them :rolleyes:

I once watched a documentary on NFAK - he apparently had some sort of training center or something where he or someone else would give lessons to people. So they showed like 3 girls and they each did a demonstration. They were prettyy darn good…definitely their voices could fit young girls…

Besides, its cheaper to find a Paki debutante who will do it, than to hire Ashe Bhosle or someone of that calibre. :slight_smile:

And you know, not everything is located in Lahore. You can go to Karachi, and you'll find plenty of talent there. Go to hyderabad, also you'll find talent there.

I hear musicians from Peshawar are fleeing since its hard for them to do work there due to the MMA. Maybe check them out?

The sky is the limit.

It was actually Rakht or something, Paap was the one with Ali. Also, I personally know alot of artists who did work for bollywood or Indian stuff, and goto india regularly, like Ali Azmat, Kamijee, Bilal and Faisal, they are happy with the whole bollywood experience, they never complained about ‘not getting credit’, and they even said that its surprising people make issues out of it in Pakistan, whereas they themselves see nothing wrong with the way titles are presented, ofcourse their names wont be on the front cover of the movie poster. On the other hand, they would never do anything for Lollywood; maybe they dont trust doing business with the Lollywood producers etc, or maybe its the way they think they will be treated.

Phew. I only gave my opinion. Sorry did nt want to get on your nerves. Sorry if I have been a cause of any discomfort.

I will however give you a passing tip for the last time. How many singers do you know )pop singers) who can sing in B minor, C shrp and F major at the same time????
I rest my case.

Dear Mubasher Sahab, Welcome to Gupshup. It's great to have you posting here.

I wholeheartedly agree with all the comments you have made so far. We are all in the same boat when it comes to taking the blame for the demise of Pakistani cinema. All these New Napoleans in this thread think they are living in a Utopian world. The fact of the matter is that 90% of film buffs in Pakistan have a education level of less than grade 5. They don't give a fly over art films. They want light love, a couple of fights, 8 songs and a feel-good ending.

Why would a producer / director spend 37 crore to attract less than 10% of population.

And Indian playback singers are way better than any of the current Pakistani lot.

Mr Lucman, I dont know much about the pakistan show business, but I know that Reema is overrated. I heard you talking about her in one of your previous posts. Why dont you get better actresses?

Last paki film I watched was hum app ki how.. will defintily watch yours.. just noticed the website and watched the pic in teh gallery, noticed that once again, the actress weren’t wearing very beautiful cloths, maybe they will look better in the film, in ony pic, resham is wearing a white suit, which shows her underwear under her cloths !!!??? :eeeek: gros

welcome to the 21st centry :slight_smile:

you see let me begin to get a little more honest and open if the moderators allow me so? One of the main ingredients of our films is dancing. Where can a girl in Pakistan learn filmi dance???Guess, no where except for one?--------------HEERA MANDI! Surprised? Now when you want to see a song and a dance and I cant get a decent girl out there we are restricted to Heera MAndi. SO when we take a girl from there, she comes with her mother, a make up artist and a dress maker follows, a close sister or a relative tags along and very slowly the entire crop begins to permeate in to your system.....how can we aim to get class when we still are hypocrites we want the quality of the best in the world and attach the social acceptance of a randi to an actress??? I sincerely hope the moderators and you all will excuse me for my language.

Mubasher Lucman Corner

I must admit GS is getting to me and I am most certainly addicted to it or getting close to that dangerous level. However of-late I have lost all track of all posts and have no clue whats going on...so I decided to help myself by initiating a new forum and this will be an opportunity for all of you to join me on one forum and we can exchange our views with a freedom knowing well; that a not so web savy person like myself will not get lost in the middle. So I request all friends to join here and begin the conversation about Pehla Pehla PYar, the film industry, Music, Reema, Shoaib Mansur, Playback Singers, whatever we were discussing in other various forums to be brought here under one roof. Good Luck.

Re: Welcome All Friends

Mubashar sir, This is not a new forum but a thread but khair hai, dont jump in technicalities and leave it for us. Yes it will be easier for you to manage all queries and suggestions. But i would also suggest to check out other threads as well every once in a while as there are bound to be queries there as well. I will rename this thread as 'Mubashar Lucman corner' :D

p.s Yeah tell us about GS addiction. It is quite hazardous for health. :-/

Re: Mubasher Lucman Corner

Thanks saby I was just replying to a new cyber friend in IL about a site brought to my notice. It has me dragged into a very stupid controversy. Something I did nt know about and suddenly I am beginning to question my hours on the net? Are they really worth it?