question/concern regarding the sidebar

Seems it was just implemented, about a minute ago. There is already one at the top of the page, plus the brand new ‘quickie’ sidebar is taking up some space on the page as well (especially for those who have 800x600 screen resolutions set). Is there some sort of temporarily testing going on currently, or is this change permanent?

Re: As they say in Pakistan: I have a "cushion" (question/concern regarding the sidebar)

After taking a more closer look at the side-bar, the "mini-thumbnails" that are placed before the text (five of them) can also be placed and organized at the navigation bar at the top, I'd think?

Nice images, nonetheless.

Re: As they say in Pakistan: I have a "cushion" (question/concern regarding the sidebar)

If it is a permanent change, please see that the letter "J" in the word "Journals" in the last section is capitalized (alongwith the rest of the first letters of each word). All others are, in all four sections, except for the above one mentioned. :)

Lagta hai baraa monitor khareedna parey gaa. Eik aur sidebar ko glue laga kar chipka diya bhai sahab nay.

Re: As they say in Pakistan: I have a “cushion” (question/concern regarding the sidebar)

Dhobi Bhai, hold your horses plz. :stuck_out_tongue:
It seems like they are testing some new ideas. The icons seem ok but they are not a must in the top nav becasue it will take more space and wouldn’t give GS that unique/simple look they have right now. It would look more newbie to me.

Anywho, here is the screenshot of it, I am, however, surprised at the groupings :hmmm:

I like the new one. It would be great if they move it up, I think it would look nice in the right corner NOT the left as shown in the screenshot.

Here is a screenshot:

Its permanent.

If it is permanent, is it possible to at least retain the formatting styles as it is on the top navigation bar? Such as the underline shown over mouse-hover, and things of that nature?

Also, could you please clarify the possible reason for its existence? It is taking up quite alot of space, and we already have one at the top, granted it gives a simple and nice look to the site?

Bizz's suggestion would work fine as well, I think, since the thread portion of the site would start below the new sidebar.

Re: As they say in Pakistan: I have a “cushion” (question/concern regarding the sidebar)

OMG, you are not kidding are you gizzy bhai? I see the top menu has disappeared, so a step into the new nav is taken. :hmmm:

Bhai, aik dow suggestions accept kareingey?
The layout are seriously messed up, if you know what i mean

This is most probably done to compliment the MAIN SITE of GS: www.Paklinks.com (which is in the making) I have seen the layout for it and the current modifications resemble it very closely.

However, this is NOT close to user-friendly, Gizzy bhai. Neither in the main forums sections and nor on the main page of the forums. If you want to keep the new navigations, atleast use the space wisely. You can seperate each link (put them on a seperate line) and write their complete names. That way you can be sure what you are looking at and clicking on. The space below is going in waste unless you have other plans.

baysakhta mumbles something bad under his breath

dekhain… YE theek nahi hay .. its taking valuable space on left permanently and as u read, rest of the screen is now over on right side.. distracting to be the first..

dots laga kar wapis ooper kar dain ..bachay jiyain, gori wife milay, doodhon nahayen, pooton phalain

dast-e-shafqat phairing chalain..shabash..

plus .. pm box ke bahir say nikalnay ke liay pahlay top-gupshup par jana parta hay ..

:crying: tera khana kharab ho gizzy..bekaar mo’aash kuch kiya karr, pajama phar ke seeya karr..:bailan:

the placement is perm but the layout is being dev'ed as I write this .. we needed to create some real estate and side bar is a good tool ... expect some more useful blocks in the near future ...

:smack: left side khali ki waja say zor say ghoori maarain to lagta hay sarr aadha shift ho giya hay right par…

aur jab posts parh rahay ho to left eye main uljhan hoti hai :(

too much wasted space on the left side because of this quickie :nook:

^ The layout is being developed, read Azkar's comments above.

LOL! :omg:

Sadaf ur too cute.

:blush:

Re: As they say in Pakistan: I have a “cushion” (question/concern regarding the sideb

It could be used on every forum but not in every thread like this. A drop menu should be introduced on the top pf every page.

Second, you could arrange them in vertical order. One by one so they take less space and become user friendly.

Sorry for the other site promotion but I like its lay out. Just my suggestions.