Qoutes from Today's Speech by President

Re: Qoutes from Today's Speech by President

enforcement is important no doubt about it, but much depends on people;s own sense of what is right. and that does not appear to be the case in Pakisan with so many ucchakay not paying their taxes and thus cheating the nation. Its not that someone is preventing ppl to pay taxes, just like no on is forcing them to steal power and water etc. It boild down to do the people do what is right.

People can blast the govt for being this or that, cosporacy theories are abundant, every bcom mein nakaam insaan all of a sudden becomes an economics expert debating world bank figures...but the qaum can not look in its own garebaan and do what is right.

I mean look at this .. ovrwhelming majority of Pakistanis are cheating their country by not paying taxes. Fine..having a strong enforcement authority is going to help but what are these numbers saying about the people. That they indeed are crooks..

Iconoclast Baji, what you need is an MQM Nazim in your city. Inshallah they will build roads, underpasses, and overpasses.

hahah

U r converting the converted. I already said "taali do haath say bajti hai" :p

I am just optimistic maybe. A lot of nations suffer low tax to GDP at the stage which we are in. I am optimistic it'll be all fine. Really..my anti Mush bias aside. :)

Ill be honest to you bro, the traffic since 2002 has increased considerably, I have driven all my life in Pakistan and just a gap of 2002-2004 and then 2005 made me realize how everyones buying automobiles, as if there was a boom of some sorts. And no im not makign this up.

I dunno what to say ! when poverty and inflation are mentioned President says, if there is poverty how come people buy these cars and motorcycles.

Lai Expressway to be renamed as Sheikh Rasheed Express Way.

I have mixed feelings about this, I mean as much as I hate Sheedah Talli, you cannot ignore the fact that the man is a legend in Pindi, and over the years has won every election which proves that the business community (especially the one near that lai, gawalmundi etc) they are all with him, so why not name it after him? But then again, hes a deceptive lota, sometimes he says the wisest things and on some days hes going to utter bakwas that puts every pindi-waal to shame.

Well if your verbal diarrhea has stopped, get your teeth brushed.

Last time i checked it is government's resposibility to get the country rid of corruption and enforce free and fair hiring in government jobs. I do not hold just military responsible for every evil in society but those who have ruled the country for major part of its history shud also take the most of the blame.

Talk about hygenic practices, large number of kids in country do not even have shoes, have no access to clean water, no clean toilets. And a fat behind sitting in US resisting the urge to drink says, "Ugly, disgusting people, with unhygenic practices.

And i don't work in Pakistan.

Spock, one reason for increased sale of cars is that Banks are giving loans much more liberally than before. Hence a person who bought a car after working for 10 years, can now buy one after a year and then pay installments.

fact remains, ppl have enough funds to buy car on installments.
that is sayng something.
majority of cars bought in US are also financed (or leased) and not bought for cash.

They are being bought mostly on credit, not standard installment payments

and what does credit mean? that they dont pay back? or that they dont pay back in installments?

please explain what you mean by credit? and what you mean by a 'standard installment plan" because i have no idea what you mean.

Atleast we are seeing progress in Pakistan in Musharraf's era...which people like Iconoclast don't like..

any thing on this?

Fraudz if that is the only means of showing prosperity than car sales have steadily increased since the creation of Pakistan.

But you are ignoring other things like UN's human development report that says 44% of people in Pakistan are below the poverty line.

The problem with Pakistanis is that they have picked sides of corrupt leaders and will back them up no matter what.

And if you mention to them the obvious misuse of power and corruption there DEFAULT response is "atleast they are better than Fulan/Fulan or Flan". This is same with supporters of BB, Tind or Fazlu.

I am not a blind follower like you people. Mistakes/abuses/corruptions must be protested no matter who makes it, be it politicians/bearucrats/military men. That is the essence of democracy.

Re: Qoutes from Today’s Speech by President

Doesn’t that mean that people’s buying power has increased? (irrespective of the fact that Govt is slow in infrastructure development?) :konfused:

That is not the ONLY means of showing prosperity, that is one of the globally acceptable gauges. and yes car sales have gradually increased, normalize population growth with number of cars.

I am not ignoring Uns report sayign what number of ppl are below pverty line, but at the same time I am not ignoring UN reports that the right steps are being taken and growth in middle class etc.

you are seriously exaggregating, maybe you hate mush or something.

but to tell you the fact, the amount of new roads in pakistan have nearly double, there have been millions and millions of roads made, which pakistan do you live in?

I wonder why they don't have access to clean water, etc etc. Its because doctors like you, who are the only ones really to help enforce and promote health in Pakistan, have left. So that you can have nice comfortable jobs elsewhere.

A fat behind sitting in the US - what does that make your behind? You're admitting you're not in Pakistan.

Fraudia you have a good point about Musharraf tailoring the speech for an illiterate and uneducated population.

But he is such a cutie isn't he? Ghar walon ko bathakay bhi nahi jaathein hain. LMAO!!!!

Saad sahab...we are not talking abou UAE..its pakistan...let come here to see yourself that milk and honey lakes flowing in Pakistan !!!!!!!