QF Australia vs. Pakistan 20th March 2015 @ Adelaide (3rd QF)

Re: QF Australia vs. Pakistan 20th March 2015 @ Adelaide (3rd QF)

For a while it looked like Pakistan might pull this off. Wahab bowled really well. However, the bowling was let down by lousy fielding. Australia did not have an easy win. Pak team will look back and realize how close they came to winning the qF.

Read the game summary. Well done Wahab the tiger. What spirit.

Yes. Misbah scored too fast.

The rest were losers while this young man was setting the world on fire

It would have been better to say that … thanks Misbah that you made sure only toddlers get in team so that a boy like you, with your tuk tuk, seems good.

[One reason Fawad was not included in team, and was always ignored, was that performance of Misbah looks good].

As for Afridi: I think with whatever fault he has, he is not proper batsman that one should expect runs from him, neither he is world class bowler (he is average bowler). But together, as pinch hitter and useful slow arm (leg break) bowler, he has done good job. Anyhow, because Pakistan have no proper batsmen in team, consisting of 3rd class batsmen, some started looking at Afridi as batsman too and start expecting too much from him.

Just imagine … in test:

Afridi (not batsman) … who played 48 innings, has Ave 36.5 @SR 87 … with 5 centuries … is better than most Pakistani batsmen .. for instance, looking at test matches, we see the performance:

Shahid Afridi … played 48 innings, Ave 36.5 @ SR 87 … 5 centuries
Umar Akmal … played 30 innings, Ave 35.8 @SR 66 … 1 century
Amir Sohail … played 83 innings, Ave 35.3 @SR 55.3 … 5 centuries
Shoaib Malik … played 54 innings, Ave 33.5 @SR 44.4 … 2 centuries
Ramaiz Raja … played 92 innings, Ave 32 … 2 centuries

So we can see that Shahdi Afridi is better batsmen than many .. and as for ODIs, he plays as pinch hitter and is the only Pakistani whose SR (117) is above 100.

It was better to lose today as compared to India in the semis… :smack:

We are the worst team in this world cup in terms of dot ball % age, boundary % age and team batting average. I was just listening to Ian Chappell and apparently it is not Misbah but Shehzad (60% dot balls) and Haris (56%) who are the worst offenders when it comes to dot ball %age. That is simply unacceptable at this level

^^^ Who keep them in team … and make sure they play?

But don’t you need dot balls to build strong foundation

You are right. That is the reason, led by tuk-tuk Captain, Pakistani batsmen make target of 300 dot balls in 50 overs game. Time is not far that Pakistan would post 5 runs playing complete 50 overs (those 5 runs would be extra) :slight_smile:

The pH was always 7 as boom boom and tuk tuk neutralized each other.

Taking inspiration from Sa1eem those 7 were extras

I can bet Afridi will take his retirement back … yet again!

Probably reason: “People luv to see me back in action”

You know na, chut’ti nai hai mun se ye kaafir lagi hwi :chai:

I would say it was more alkaline (i.e. defensive, because of the extra protective coating on Misbah’s bat) than acidic

Chalo ghamzada Pakistanio rona dhona choro ab… aur ye sun lo:

https://soundcloud.com/emi-pakistan/ik-bar-muskurado?utm_source=soundcloud&utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=twitter

Captaincy is there to be taken. Misbah may retain test captaincy but Afridi becomes automatic choice for T20 and ODIs. With all the connections he has in media and in the corporate sector of Pakistan, Younis will not get any chance.

With these stats he should play test cricket then… but guess the irony, who announced retirement from the test cricket during England series! The guy never considered himself good enough for test matches and left on his own but still he gets applause for the stats.

Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik along with Hafeez, Imran (Nazir & Farhat) are useless. It is much better to try Fawad in place of Umer Akmal, at least he will not habitually get out by giving simple catches. Misbah is way ahead of all these people that you’ve and I’ve mentioned. At least his average speaks for itself. In a team where players took oath on “Quran” to not follow their captain, he carried whatever set of players he had with dignity and honor. The captain before him was caught red handed along with two bowlers in spot-fixing. The fact that we did not hear any such incident in his time is worth praising on its own.

I’m not saying that Afridi has not done anything for Pakistan cricket, he was main contributor for the T20 world cup win in England and some memorable match performances but that’s it. We could never rely on him to win us a series or a tournament. Being the experienced player he was supposed to stand there like Watson stood for Australia today, weather the storm and still score run a ball. How many times that happened in his 395 match career.

In the end, your words perfectly sum up Afridi, “he is not proper batsman…, neither he is world class bowler”. Yes he was an average player who had some moments of glory and who happened to be there because of good fortune, showmanship, and lack of replacement. But now its time to say good bye!!!

And we expected the two-men team to win against Aussies-XI :bummer:

https://scontent-lga.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xtf1/v/t1.0-9/10427289_953886427957955_8315225676278424822_n.jpg?oh=c33c766fee17097d8cd69c8bcf716ce6&oe=5580A9FB

Not just against Aussie ix but also some Pakistani players

@ekumunng: Sorry, I forgot that pathetic batsmen whom PCB selected as Captain, but his figures are such that BD would feel reluctant to select him in their test team … and that is the reason, BD is getting better cricket team than Pakistan, day by day.

Actually, I forgot many players, because my purpose was not to pinpoint them, I was naming few batsmen from recent past who were in team but were worse than Shahid Afridi. Anyhow, as you pointed out, let me put down his name in the list too. :slight_smile:

Shahis Afridi as test batsman … compared to few who many may consider their hero. :slight_smile:

Shahid Afridi … played 48 innings, Ave 36.5 @ SR 87 … 5 centuries
Umar Akmal … played 30 innings, Ave 35.8 @SR 66 … 1 century
Amir Sohail … played 83 innings, Ave 35.3 @SR 55.3 … 5 centuries
Shoaib Malik … played 54 innings, Ave 33.5 @SR 44.4 … 2 centuries
Ramaiz Raja … played 92 innings, Ave 31.8 … 2 centuries
Kami Akmal … Played 92 innings, Ave 30.8 @ SR 63.1 … 6 centuries
Salman Butt … played 62 innings, Ave 30.5 @ SR 47.2 … 3 centuries

So we can see that Shahdi Afridi is better batsmen than many .. and as for ODIs, he plays as pinch hitter and is the only Pakistani whose SR (117) is above 100.

Now to say who play what (Test, ODI or T20) … than in Pakistan where many don’t care about performance, talent or figures, but love faces and worship parchis, it does not matter who play what. If there was appreciation for performance, talent and figures than many players would have never played cricket in Pakistani team, many may never have been Captain of team and certainly Misbah is included in one who would have never been Captain (though, I always believed that he deserve to be in test as player).