okay..when i see pop and rock bands i know the exact role..title of the person, someone is lead guitarist, bass guitarist, drummer, keyboards, drums, percussion, horns, lead voacls, backing vocals whatever..
I want to understand the role of the qawal bands too..which roles are critical and which are not
1- lead singer..at some times there are two lead voaclists, and both have harmoniums?
2- couple of dhol players..how many on the average
3- backing vocals, clappers…these are the guys who just clap along and join the choruses.
4- pungay baaz insaan-- this is teh guy who interrupts the lead singer and makes a few loud statements..and then the music continues..dunno what he is called.
does anyone know more about qawals?
one more thing, are there different genres of qawals anyways? like in rocvk u have modern rock, heavy metal, hard rock, soft rock, grunge, goth..what nots, from what I have seen qawals are pretty much the same.
i never knew it was so organised Fraudia bhai except 4 some Qawwals, most qawallon kee toli look to me like u put a bunch of besuray guys together, tell them to make torturous noises at high pitch and resonance and act all funny and dramatic
Well, today the art of qawali might seem to be on the decline and there are now rock bands who are trying to take over and sing some sufiyana kalam...imitate the way these qalwals ..(well not in the same way would have done) but nontheless they are doing it.. However, as besuray as they might seem today, you cannot however say the same for those erstwhile Qawals such as Aziz Mian and Sabri baradraan. Nusrat Fateh Ali I guess also started as a Qawal if I am not wrong...(somebody help me there..)
I know I know sometimes their way of singing the Qalwali puts u off, however try to focus on their choice of kalam...some of it is awesome. I read that Aziz Mian Qawal was highly educated person.
dekho ms phd in qawali, u have not answered my basic question, what are the titles of these ppl, especially the pungay baaz insaan that i mentioned. which members are standard in every qawali group, and which are ad hoc..
please batain zara
P.S I am not picking on their style, i just need to understand the roles in the band better
Its been a while, so my recollection is a bit rusty. It something like, lead singer (with or without the harmonium). Then there are support singers. Can't recall drums or dhool (may be some use it), but they do have the guy with that jhunjhuna kinda thing. Then there are bunch of clappers who just form a chorus. Thats about all I think.
"Daff" in Arabic... "Daflee" in Pakistani-Arabic! :-D
By the way, this daff/daflee is the plate like thing with silver danglings on the border and is beaten on the palm. The jhunjuna kinda thing has a handle with metalic parts that make sounds just when you hold it in your hands and shake 'em. I think I have seen both in some qawaal groups. But daff/daflee is definitely very common.
yeah u have diff types of daff.
having done a fair bit of percussion , if u go to a music store here and ask for a daff, they will know, but will not know what a daflee is.
the fact is that daff, daflee, of daffla can all be used, but when madame irem comes with the world wisdom of its NOT "daff" but it ios "daflee" is inaccurate.
teh same thing is referred to by diff names by diff ppl, :)
you know squat, had you said its also called a daffli you would have been factually correct, but saying that its “not” daff but “is” daflee is incorrect.
oh btw a better spellign is daflee or duflee no fees for info this time..but this free education thing is adding up u know.
accha ..haan bhaio or behno... qawali mein phd logo..aap zara batan passand karein gaye keh what is that "pungay baaz insaan" called who interrupts the qawaal and makes statements and all..
daf daflee par toh sab champion ban gaye thay..zarra mushkil sawaal aata hai aur sab ko saamp soongh jaata hai..