Re: Putting the Noble Quran on the floor of a mosque
I guess its a “sensible understanding”… now according to someone’s “sensibility” it means “understand” and according to others’ “sensibility” it could mean anything which “they” think is correct.
assalamu 'alaikum
This is not proper adab. It is makruh to even turn your back to the Qur'an then what about keeping it on the ground during tarawiH? It should be avoided as much as possible.
Sadya, how about your forget what the uncles and aunty jis told you and actually open the book and see what it says. It constantly AMAZES me how people like you don’t just open the book and READ!!! Instead of asking people and uncles and auntys why not find out for yourself? Are you willing to put your faith in others when it comes to something so important or are you just lazy? The first word that Gabriel coaxed out of Mohammed in the cave was “READ”, “IQRA”, and that is the last thing our people do, they choose the easy way out and ask others.
Funguy, I absolutely agree and understand your point of view. The Quran, while being the word of God is also a book and should be treated as such, meaning it should be read, it should be accessible on a daily basis, not covered in silk in a safe. As such, in my opinion, one can put the book on the floor or the bed, and read it whenever, while in the kitchen, while laying down, it is a manual, a manual can be referred to as often as possible with minimal restrictions.
Obviously you won’t put the quran on the floor where there is dirt. Saying that a girl on her period or a guy without wudu can’t read the Quran, these are the tricks of the devil so that reading the Quran becomes such an ordeal that people just say f**k it and fewer and fewer people read the Quran, as is obvious by some of the things people say on this forum where they say such and such is in the Quran while it is not. If they had read the Quran, they would know that making something up and attributing it to God is a big no-no.
ANyway, I just find it frustrating, but keep fighting the good fight funguy brutha!
at least we respect the book enough to put it high because we realize what it is and what a gift it is. better than those who read it and then misinterpret it to spread hate.
If we had read it ourselves, we wouldn’t have been lead to where we are, no?
Yes, that is true and you are right.
But for me personally, it’s not always clear. I don’t understand everything in it. And then there are many different interpretations and opinions on everything. Even something small as putting a copy on the floor or not, touching it without wudhu or not, reciting it just by zaban when being napaq or not… and this is just ‘small’ stuff. Don’t get me started on the really big issues which all have different interpretations each with good arguments. I’m no scholar and I find that quite confusing.
You’re missing the point.. Have you read entire Quran in a language that you understand? If so, have you come across ANYTHING that says not to put the Quran on the floor? I mean that kind of thing would be very clear, use your common sense, if it says don’t put the Quran on the floor, don’t, there are no two ways or interpretations about it. But I can tell you that there is no such thing in the Quran. The Quran doesn’t mention anything about how to treat/handle the Quran. The Quran refers to itself as a Hadith, as a beacon, as guidance, and as such we should be respectful. Do you ever sit on the floor? Do you eat on the floor? Do you pray on the floor? What’s wrong with putting the QUran on the floor then?
Now I understand what you mean. I guess that puts things in a different light, didn't think about it that way! You have a very good point there.
I guess what you say also implies to ahadith then, I've never come across any hadith that refers to the way anything with aya's written on it should be treated. But then again, I'm no scholar.
But, on the other hand, I must say, many things aren't written in the Qur'an which we then have to learn from the ahadith. I don't know. Anyway, it's no use to puzzle about this stuff I guess and maybe it's better to concentrate on other (more important) aspects of Islam.
I was reading the story of Moses (as) again and the part of his people asking too many unnecesary questions made me think about this. Maybe that's what I'm doing too. I don't know.
That’s a very damaging statement which also contradicts to what Allah has authoritatively claimed as the complete and guiding book for the mankind.
It could be diverting to other direction, but how do you figure out (from Quran) how to pray salaat that is offered by Muslims?
You guys are so funny :D
yes we do pray namaaz on the floor. but we pray on a pure place. u can;t just go rounf prying on a filthy place. wlel u cna if u have no other option. it;s not like u cna go pray namaaz on a high shelf now can u?
it's dis-respecting the quraan if u put it on the floor. there's lot's of hadits and story's related to this. your kind of insulting the quraan if you do.
Captain1, Funguy is right, God repeatedly says that the Quran is complete, perfect, and fully detailed, so is God lying? If you are sincere when you open the Quran, you would realize that Salaat, Zakaat, Hajj, all the religious rites of Islam were handed down from Abraham, which is why God tells us in the Quran to follow the religion of Abraham. If God told people at Mohammed’s time to follow the religion of Abraham, wouldn’t it be logical that the people at the time KNEW what the religion and rites of Abraham were?
If you tell someone to meet you at Starbucks, you assume they know what a starbucks is, you don’t have to say, “hey, meet me at Starbucks which is a world famous coffee shop and has a round green logo etc etc”, you just tell them to meet you at Starbucks. God says that the Quran is fully detailed and contains the important information, God doesn’t tell you how to clip your toe nails or any other things like that. You might ask yourself, well why didn’t God give us instructions on absolutely EVERYTHING. Well here’s the answer, as it is, people barely take the time to read the Quran, if the Quran had instructions on AAALLLL these things, it would be ten times as dense and even more people would tend not to read the Quran. God gave us the Quran and sight and hearing and brains to learn from it. In His infinite wisdom, he left out the unimportant stuff so that we would read the Quran instead of being daunted by its size and being discouraged.
[31:27] If all the trees on earth were made into pens, and the ocean supplied the ink, augmented by seven more oceans, the words of GOD would not run out. GOD is Almighty, Most Wise.
Ahadit are in second place in being important next to the Noble Qur’an. There is nothing meant to be damaging, I haven’t found an aya in teh Qur’an that tells me how to pray each kind of namaz. It’s the ahadith that give out that info.
Everything is in the Qur’an, but details about many things and explanations of many things are in ahadith. What’s bad about that?
This is turning into Hadith or no Hadith argument all over again. From my part, Sadya, God refers to the QUran as a Hadith and in over six places uses the word Hadith as a negative connotation, as in what other Hadith than this Quran do you uphold? I will get the actual verses when I go home inshallah, but doesn't that make you wonder? If God knew that there would come something called Hadith, 250 years after Mohammed's death, that He would know about it. And when God condemns any other Hadith besides the QUran, how can you put any weight in the Hadith that most muslims refer to in addition to the Quran.
Where does God refer to Quran as Hadith?
Hadith doesn’t compete with Quran, it implements Quran at a deeper level. Ahadith help follow the Quran’s order that “Obey Allah and obey the Prophet :saw:”. Quran refers to different issues very briefly and leaves the details to be followed according to the perfect model for humanity - the Uswah of the final Prophet :saw:.
I don’t want to indulge into a debate with Hadith-rejectors, but this is a very good reference for everyone: http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=1846&CATE=120. Baqi Allah jisey hidayat na diney chahei tau us kee koee madad naheen kar sakta.
Right, I also don't want to get drawn into a hadith, truth vs. fabrication debate. We all have our beliefs and we will all find out in time which ones of us were right and which ones were wrong, inshallah.
^ InShaAllah
ittay baray lecture ki zaroorat nahi thee, just answer my Question if you can… how do you extract information on how to pray “Salaat” from Quran, if you can provide me that info then JazakAllahu khair if not then don’t bother.