Putting the Noble Quran on the floor of a mosque

I saw girls (from Maroc) putting their copies of Quran on the floor of the mosque while praying tarawi namaz saying there was nothing wrong with that. :confused:

I thought Quran_e_Paq wasn’t supposed to be put on the floor or any other low place for that matter, wether it’s in a mosque or in a house?

Also, a girl (a Maroccan too) said you could touch, while being napaq (in periods), a book which just contains one sappara instead of the whole Noble Quran. She said they did that for studying purposes.
I think there is someone in Quran an ayah (forgot where) indicating only paq people with wudu and all could touch the Noble Quran?

I never heard it’s ok to touch a copy with just one sappara under these circumstances. That sappara is still a part of the Noble Quran, isn’t it? So then that should be wrong too. :confused:

Re: Putting the Noble Quran on the floor of a mosque

arab people usually dont consider it inappropriate to keep a copy of Quran on the floor of the mosque while reading it or when they need to do sajda-e-tilawat....
all that dont put the Quran down, dont turn ur back to the Quran and keep the Quran in a high shelf so no one can reach it, is found in the sub-continent....
sometimes one does feel that these arabs shud show more respect to the Holy Book....

touching the Quran is not allowed except in a state of purity as mentioned in the Holy Quran....

Quran 56:77-79
Most surely it is an honored Quran
In a book that is protected
**None shall touch it save the purified ones.

Quran 56:77-79
That this Qur'an is, indeed, a Noble Monograph
In a well-guarded Book
The Book which none but the pure of mind can touch (Those who approach the Qur'an with minds contaminated with preconceived notions and extrinsic material, will never understand it)

It is a common insult to say that men cannot touch it without wudhu and women cannot touch it when indisposed]

Surely people on the sub-continent are more likely to come up with Innovations though. They have more and recent non-islamic influences on them.

We were always taught that putting the Noble Quran on the floor on a lower level, touching it without wudhu, or being napaq was bad, etc. etc. (one of my Aunts once even said it was sinful?)

This is the first time I've seen people putting it on the floor.

It would make more sense that it wouldn't be allowed, just like you can't just throw pieces with aya's written on them in the dustbin.

How did people during the life time our Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) treat the peaces where upon they wrote aya's? I've never read anything about that anywhere.

Assalamu Alaykum,

Depends on how you think. I personally think it is may be more insulting to Quran if you put in on a shelf and never study it, as opposed to keeping it next to bed and studying daily!

I think a lot of this is only in the sub-continent as someone mentioned. Many scholars believe that Quran does not require one to do ablution before studying it, but doing it is obviously good. Most of the people who ask to hold it this way, like my grandmother, do so because they have always been taught so and then they taught us and we grew up into this thinking.

The scholars who think holding Quran requires ablution base it on the verse of Surah Tahrim quoted above. Those who oppose this say that this verse is not a command. In Arabic, negative command (as in 'do not do') is different than a fact (as in 'nobody can do it'.) - in English 'no body can do it' is also a passive command so it may cause a little confusion, but think of it this way 'apple cannot fall towards the sky' is a fact, not a command. The verse, is of this second type, plus it appears in the context of opponents of the Prophet (pbuh), plus Quran has at other places noted down the objection of the opponents of the Prophet (pbuh) that it was some daemon that used to send Quran to prophet Muhammad (pbuh) or that Quran may be polluted by them. Quran has apparently answered this objection by saying 'noone touches it except the pure', otherwise angels. This is just one of different opinion and this makes more sense to me.

Even otherwise, I personally respect Quran a lot, but then I keep it next to my bed, or if I am on floor, I have to hold it close to me so it is very close to floor in some cases. I do not put it on floor because I am also from the same culture. I respect it a lot and do not want it to be mistreated in any form, so I take care of it. But I also do not understand when people respect it so much that they cannot even read and understand it. For example, when ritually impure, you may agree or disagree whether you can do tilawat or not, but I do not see how one should not read the translation in heart or recite Quran in heart?

When a prophet of God came and with so much trouble gave us the book of God, implemented it, and we treat it by putting in our shelves forever and taking out, kissing it, reading it without understanding and put back, I am confused if this is more disrespectful or that?

Best,
Omer

Yes, that's true. Zaban is always paq, wether or not you've performed wudhu.

By putting it somewhere high I don't mean forgetting it.

But it's true we should read it more often and try to understand what it says.

(I looked up the aya's for the commentary in my Quran, and it is Surah al_Waqiah, Surah at_Tahrim is no. 66)

Different scholars have different opinion of "purity", some say you have to perform ablution (wudhu, which in turn requires that one be not in state of periods or janaabat), some say purity from period/janaabat is enough and some further say that its the purity of minds (as indicated by funguy). We, people from subcontinent, take it a mile further and make it so sacred that even if someone accidentally damages/drops quran we almost take our swords out, which is wrong IMO.

The commentary in my copy says one should have both a pure mind as well as performed wudhu.

Never found anywhere anything on wether or not one can put the Noble Quran on the floor or somewhere low-leveled. Still, it wouldn't make sense to do that to such a Holy book. Though that's just my opinion.

But it's true if you do drop it by accident everyone acts as if you've commited a major sin. Allah ji, Quran_e_Paq neechay gira diya, tauba karo tauba! While it wasn't on purpose at all and you're just as shocked.

Yeah, sorry about that. It is Surah Waqiah, that was a typo.

Assalam Alaikum

Its true that the Arabs don't think putting the Quran kareem on the floor is bad, but they do teach their children not to hold it as a writing pad, I saw one grown up Morocan girl using it as a sort of a platform and then put a piece of paper to write on that piece of paper and her mother immidiately told her not to, but the same mother never told her not to put it on the floor!! There are 'Kursi-ul Quran' kept in the masjid, you know the little book shaped wooden things to keep the Quran infront of you to read so that its not at your feet level etc. but the Arab women simply ignore them. I am the only one keeping it on a Kursi-ul Quran while reading it.

The Indian-Subcontinent Version of Islam (IVI) puts a lot of burden on the logistical aspect of Quran, its not that we should intentionally try to disrespect the book, be that any book, but we just have to make sure that the message in the book is always more important than the "Kurrsi" and "Green lace wala ghulaf" or having Quran collecting dust on the highest shelf.

In our school there was a big debate when it was allowed for students to write on their copies of Quran, I personally thought that it helped the students mark important Ayas and chapters and enhanced their understanding and familiarity with Quran. But then there were the IVI teachers who though that it was disrespectful.

FG, whose translation is this and where’d you get it from?

Desi people show more respect to quran but they don’t read it that often with understanding (I don’t consider reading Quran without understanding the meanings as actual reading). Arabs read Quran more often but don’t show respect to Quran that much. I have seen several times Arabs holding Quran with out wadu and putting Quran in places not that clean. I ask myself which is better. Treating Quran so secred and putting it on the top of everything and let it collect dust or treating Quran as a normal book of guidance and read it more often with or without wadu. I would take the later one.

Correct translation:

056.077That this is indeed a qur’an Most Honourable,
In Book well-guarded,**

056.079Which none shall touch but those who are clean:

Do not add your own words to the text. Strictly forbidden.

Arabs dont show much respect cuz to them its like ghar ki murghee daal barabar.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

^ its more like "user manual" for them, unlike us who keep it as "warranty".

For us its like the Emergency Red Button. Jab bhee maut aaiee to reach for the book on the highest shelf.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

http://www.ourbeacon.com

that is fine and dandy, can you please write down the Arabic words used in the ayah.

:jazak: