Punjab is the greatest hurdle to democracy in Pakistan. It is a province of the status-quo and has always supported the forces of the status-quo e.g. the civil-military establishment predominantly of Punjabi origin and forces that are the political fronts of the establishment (like Muslim League, etc. People Party was supported back in 1970 but because Generals wanted Punjabis and their feudals to do so…then political power of Bangal had to be confronted).
Can we hope democracy in Pakistan in such circumstances?
Punjabis are 62% of the total Pakistani population, and if they vote, how can that be a hurdle to democracy in Pakistan? Your assumption that Punjab is a province of Status-quo has leaded you to this conclusion. Punjabis have voted for every aera ghera nutho khera party from anywhere in Pakistan, its one the most divided provinces when it comes to voting for political parties. Punjab is the battleground for PPP/PML for the last 30 some years, how can that be a record for status-quo?
The establishment (Military-Civil nexus) or the elitists in Pakistan are the one who are for Status quo, who would side with anyone just to protect their interest and network. So do you think the Punjabis should be blamed for all this since these elitists have some Punjabis in it as well?
Mr. correct your figures. Punjab is 55% of the population of Pakistan (this includes 10% Siraikis). Before partition Punjab had voted Unionists, a pro-colonialist coliation of Hindu, Sikh, and Muslim Punjabis, to power. After partition when the feudal leaders stroke an accord with Mohammad Ali Jannah, Punjab supported Muslim League and cilivil-military establishment of that time. In late 1960s, when it became apparent that elections will be held and Bangal will stand behind Shiekh Mujib solidly, the establishment (Gen Pirzada, Gen Tikka Khan, Air Marshal Rahim Khan, etc.) started supporting a Sindhi Bhutto to forge an alliance of Punjabis, Sindhis, and Muhajirs against Bangalis. Nevertheless Bhutto too was hanged in 1978.
During Zia period and afterwards, till Nawaz Sharif and Q-League one cannot cite even one instance where Punjab has supported a pro-democracy movement.
Actually, Punjabi civil-military bureaucracy is at the top deciding which political strategy will maintain Punjab-oriented status-quo and the Punjabi feudal-Urban elite follows this.
We cannot hope for democracy until this problem of Punjab is fixed.
The problem is with the elitists that exist everywhere in Pakistan. Its the Feudal land lords, the Army, they Mullah etc who keep Democracy down since it threatens their base of power.
Blaming Punjab is overly simplistic and naive...
Please, half these parties couldnt spell democracy let alone support it. The political climate all across Pakistan is averse to democratic principles. The entire country is ruled by these oppurtunists... They will call for democracy today since they arent in power, but they will have no problem joiniing hands with the Undemocratic forces if they ever do get in power.
Your own MMA jumped in bed with the Army lest you forget!
Im sorry if I dont buy into your shallow interpretation of Pak society. Pakikstans lack of Democracy is far more deep rooted and complex then your simple blame it on Punjab hypothesis...
Do you honestly think that a tribal society such as that of Afghans and Pathans is open to Democratic rule? Take Bugti saab for example... In all honesty, do you think he would ever allow any democratically elected challenger to his pwer in His area? Even in Afghanistan, you know as well as me that the elections arent based on credentials, but ethnic tribal loyalties.. You call that Democracy?
What about the tribal elders that run the Jirgas etc, do you think they will ever allow any young upstart to take the reigns of power thru democracy? Will these same people ever allow women to take part in this democracy... Just in the last election we had example of Women being barred from voting... How do you explain this?
I am sorry, I just mentioned the 2010 estimates, the current est are 58%, and yes Siraikies are Punjabis.
LOTD, you are right Punjabis are Tughay, they would just vote for what ever.
So what you are saying is that the Punjabi civil-military bureaucracy and the Punjabi feudal-Urban elite is helping each other out, is that right …and both of these are pushing the punajbis to vote one way or another…I told you punjabis are such tughay.
Democracy has no place in Pakistan because it is a Western idea contrary to Islamic Salafiah principles, which will soon become officially enforced ideology in Pakistan.
PP, For your info, the most democratic people on the face of earth are Pashtuns. Before you post any stupid comments about Pashtuns, give me a favour, go to google and search on Pashtunwali and then come back and post your comments.
Do you smell that Malakand? Perhaps if you lift your nose up a little...
ME thinks its the distict odor of... BULL SH1T!
Most democratic!
Its not me making this claim, its the BBC and every other analyst..The Afghan electionare based on nothing but tribal loyalty...
Pashtunwali im sure is a great system, but it is a tribal system that cannot function as democracy... Unlike you and your people, i actually have SOME respect for other people and their customs.. But the fact of the matter is that a Democracy cant function in a society that split down triabl lines.
Just take the example of your own prophet of Islam.. Muslims in Arabia didnt succed until the began to put aside their tribal affiliation and begab seeing themslvs as one people.
Triabl society just cant function as a democracy, in fact, it cant function at all except on a small scale...
By the way, Im willing to bet that even Pathans disagree on the intracacies of Pashtunwalli, outside of the old protect your land, your honor and your women routine...
For your sake PBUH, but get used to it, I dont use most of the Islamic cliches… More to piss of the die Hard Islamists.. I dont need to verbalilze what god already knows…
Ouch.. Hot under the colar! Wow, you are like just about every Pathan stereotype wrapped up in one man!
I did google up some stuff, and all I found was
Defend your honor. Kill anyone that dishonors you.
Defend your land. Kill anyone that invades your space.
Defned your women. DEFINENTLY kill anyone who dishonors your women.
If anyone asks for sanctuary or protection, even an enemy, you must obllige.
Pashtunwali
Pashtunwali is the Pashtun code of life. The Pashtun, speaking an east Iranian dialect called Pashto, live on both sides of the border between Pakistan and Afghanistan. Although predominantly Muslim, the Pashtun live according to a cultural code, Pashtunwali, which demands courage, hospitality (e.g., giving shelter to anyone who seeks protection), and revenge—unless the aggressor seeks public pardon. Pashtunwali, however, never forgives shame-causing crimes, especially those involving a woman’s honor. Pashtun society is well known for its generations-long cycles of revenge murder. Conflict resolution in the case of murder involves public pardon, forgiveness, the ceding of land, or the giving in marriage of a woman from the aggressor’s family to a member of the aggrieved family. Pashtunwali is driven by nang (honor) and tor (shame). As a compendium of cultural customs, Pashtunwali guides a Pashtun’s every public behavior and action. Sometimes its many expectations make it difficult for even the staunchest Pashtun to live by the letter and spirit of the Pashtunwali code. “To be a Pashtun is a curse,” says a Pashto proverb, “but not to be a Pashtun is a shame.”
Further Reading
Still not a democratic system though…
Nah, I have a lot of respect for Mazhab… I just have no respect for the self styled defenders of the faith… My faith is between me and god. If god has a problem with my beliefs, then he will take it up with me when the time comes… Till then, kindly mind your own…
You criminal! You are trying to impose Western ideas of religion and Ataturkian secularist filth on the pious Islamic people of Pakistan.
In Islam religion is not a private matter. Stop trying to promote secularism in Pakistan. It won't work. Pakistanis are deeply Islamic and they believe in Islamic government.
lol.. Relax
No one listen to me anyways
"Meh nahi houn Nagme Jaan fiza, koi sun kai mujhai kuraiga kya?"
Still, its no secret that im a secularist.. Welcome to Gupshup.