Public, Private, Islamic or Homeschooling

Which one would you want for your child, and why?

I am actually thinking along the lines of Homeschooling + Islamic + Public, however not at the same time, at different phases of my son/daughter’s life. Probably the foundations will be laid with Homeschooling in the early years, then high school will be public, and Islamic either with University/college or after.

Homeschooling I strongly believe in now because its not an act of paranoia or over protection, but to tap the child’s full potential. Especially in the west, most of the early curriculum is easy going, and the child is not always at his best.

Homeschooling should however be done with alot of extra curricular activities which will allow the child to be social and so not to alienate him.

Another strong reason for homeschooling is to keep him/her away from the filth of the school system environment. Kids can be trained to withstand that and deflect all that filth away, however sooner or later it gets overwhelming and the child will have to give in. To safeguard him from that, homeschooling in the early years is best , for me anyways.

That is however my own opinion, and I am sure others here would say otherwise.

I am no where near to becoming a father…but its important to have this information before hand…so you and your partner know what they can expect in the future.

Thats only if Allah wishes to bless us with a child inshAllah.

Children are the only hope left for your legacy. Through ourselves and our children we can change the world, and they can inshAllah be great contributors to society.

Whats your take?

P.s. Hope you’re happy Niksik aunty ! :stuck_out_tongue:

Re: Public, Private, Islamic or Homeschooling

Homeschooling till they are ready to start school. Then private school as it is a big status symbol in our community. No seriously if you can afford private school in the west then it is the best option because they give you bang for you money. I cannot afford to send my kids to private school. My observation is that The kids who go to private schools are more disciplined, organized and do fairly better in higher studies and classes.
My take on sending the kids to public/private schools as opposed to Islamic school is that you want to immunize your kids from the things you are saving them from by sending them to Islamic school. At the end of the day the curriculum at a Islamic school is not necessarily better than any other private/public school. The kids and their parents are equally rowdy at the Islamic schools.
If you send your kid to an Islamic school till middle or high school they would not know how to deal with the issues of gangs, drugs, gf/bf culture, peer pressure, alcohol , partying , sex etc etc. After being in Islamic school till 8th grade or high school , when they end up in high school or college they will be exposed to all this filth.

This has been a topic of serious debate in the past...

I think the end result was that for some, homeschooling is the best option and for others, public or private school is best. There are many factors to consider.

-What is your local school district like? How is it rated, how well is it funded, what are their teaching philosophies etc.

-can you afford private school? There are many good ones but they are very expensive. You'd need to look into their ratings, funding, teaching philosophies etc also.

-do you have the ability and the support system to home school your child? It is perhaps easier in the early years where they are simply learning to read and write, draw and follow instruction. But it takes much organization, planning and structuring of the child's day. Successful home-schooling is typically those parents who have the support of a home-schooling organization so it would be best to look into these before deciding.

Last but perhaps most important is...what is your child like? And how would they respond to either scenario? Is it a child that readily learns? Readily interacts with other children? This type of child may be better suited to home-schooling than one who may need more interaction....some kids learn better in a classroom setting.

Just another thought since re-reading your concerns. In US, early education seems too easygoing to many easterners. In the east, the focus is on academics and rote learning from a very early age. In the west, the goal in kindergarten and even 1st grade is to establish a love of learning and teach creative thinking. Academics too, but to a lesser extent than schools in the east. When a child learns to love learning they tend to be more successful and learning to be creative is important to their success as adults (IMHO). Either way, children in teh west are learning approximately the same things as children in the east in the later grades so they do catch up.

This is something that you may want to consider. There are those who strongly oppose this philosophy and those who strongly advocate.

Private schools in the U.K are really suffering apparently (BBC Breakfast News report). Due to the whole 'credit crunch' parents can't afford the fees anymore, so a lot of state schools are becoming over subscribed.

I was state educated and I work in a state school so I would want my children to be state educated. I don't really have any experience of private or Islamic schools.

Thanks Crescent :D

My kid goes to a public school in one of the top school districts in the State. In addition she goes to a madrassah 3 times a week for Islamic studies. Her weekends are free/ no Sunday school because she gets comprehensive Islamic education at her madrassah.

I am very satisfied with this arrangement and I have had the opportunity to compare her skills and knowlege with other kids who go to private schools. There's no obvious difference. The key is to spend quality time with the kids at home and help them improve and offer new challenges. Also, public schools have programs for gifted kids, high achievers, so if your kid exhibits superior academic performance, be sure to enroll them for such opportunities.

Regarding negative influences, if you are at a high ranking school district, chances are that kids of professional and educated families are attending. Drugs and crimes, etc, occur mostly in a different set up. There is no way to protect them completely but as parents to try to lay a strong foundation from home, and setting the right example.

I am not very convinced by homeschooling because I feel my kids need social interaction and competition. Also, I don't think I'd make a good teacher! Complete Islamic school...hmm, I did enroll my daughter, she's still on the waiting list, but I admit I am happy in this system because I haven't been particularly impressed with products of a complete Islamic school system. They are great kids just like anyone else. Again, these are just my views and my experience.

Public school/ Islamic school mixed. like above Niksik says. my bros go to madrassa 5x week after school for 2 hours. friday class, they have their interactive session, they learn so much, they teach me duas :D public school because they get to see every walk of life out there. thru that insh'Allah, they can invite others towards islam. that's how some people i know have reverted.

I don't know what the future holds, but I think I will send my son to Public Schools, but hopefully be able to take him to either sunday school/madrassa...in evenings/weekend depending on programs available at local masjid. I myself went to public school and private school is too expensive too afford. As a parent we have to do our best, as no one way is the best way, and isn't always a fool-proof method to prevent kids from getting into any issues. I know of some kids who went to Islamic school until college...but once they got to uni, they went haywire with the new atmosphere....everything...and a lot went on the wrong path. I strongly believe kids do need to be exposed to everything, we must determine how much. And we must teach them the right from wrong as best we can and instils values/morals by our actions as well to hopefully set em on the right path.

Brother Umair

If you’re interested in homeschooling your kids inshaAllah then make sure that your future wife shares similar views because it’s usually the mother who does most of the work in home educating the children.

Besides, choosing a method and a syllabus can be a tough job too but now there are so many homeshcoolers and numbers are still increasing in America and UK that it’s not a big problem anymore. The method we chose for our kids is classical, you can read more about it on wiki…Classical education movement - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

And syllabus is from Kinza Academy.Kinza Academy: Hamza Yusuf Hanson, Muslim Children Books & Content of Character Copybook.

If we want our kids to become scholars like Hamza Yusuf, Abdal Hakim Murad and Zaid Shakir then we need to take the responsibility of educating our kids as there are less chances for a child to become a scholar who goes to a secular school.

Islamic schools like other schools follow the national curriculum so there’s not much difference except the enviornment will be islamic.

If you need I can suggest few good books to read regarding home education.

Here’s an article from Kinza Academy’s website, hope you’ll like it.

Shaykh Abdallah Bin Bayyah, a leading Muslim authority on Muslims living in non-Muslim lands, has said many times that Muslim parents should not put there children into secular educational institutions. Studies conducted within the Christian community have shown that 75% of Christian children educated in public schools have abandoned the beliefs of their parents by the time they graduate. This is precisely why Muslim parents are not supposed to put their children into secular programs, which include all public schools. What is an education worth if in the process of allegedly acquiring one, a child’s faith is lost?

Academically, the most common reason to homeschool in America is the obvious failure of the modern educational system to produce educated people. The 1993 National Adult Literacy Survey found that one in every five adults was illiterate. The illiteracy rate continues to escalate and has become a national embarrassment for the American government.

Departments of Education in such states as Alaska, Tennessee, and Washington have conducted studies that found that the typical homeschooled student comes out ahead on every significant measurement. Achievement tests have found that homeschoolers average as much as 30 percent higher than both public and private school students. Many elite universities, such as Harvard and Yale, have recognized the excellence of a homeschooled student’s education and are actively recruiting students at home-schooling conferences and fairs.

Many parents are concerned about their child’s character development. With the tendency on school playgrounds towards peer pressure, bullying, and cliques, it is difficult to encourage the finer qualities in a growing child such as kindness, justice, and compassion. Equally difficult to foster is self-motivation. In the modern school, where the love of learning is cut off at the root, children lose the ability for self-motivation and become dependent on outside factors to stimulate them. In adulthood, this translates into the subequent need for entertainment, amusement, and diversion from what should be a life spent in the pursuit of knowledge and truth.

On both public and private campuses, there is the increasing problem of children being exposed to violence, drugs, and sex at very early ages. With children now committing the crimes of adults, molestation, rape and murder by other children in school is a growing and alarming concern for parents. Schools are no longer safe places for children, and this is a reality we must first escape and then end.

Another important aspect of homeschooling that is often overlooked is the bonding that takes place between the child, the parent, and his/her siblings. Homeschooled children spend much more time with their parents and siblings–time that gives way to forming deeper bonds and more meaningful relationships with their family members. A healthy family realtionship sets the stage for the child’s ability to form lasting relationships outside of the home, which is essential if one is to get along in the world.

There is an amusing concern about homeschooled children being prone to anti-social behavior, the irony being that homeschooled children are in fact, better socialized than their public schooled peers. Homeschooled children are not confined to classrooms for eight hours a day where every other person in that room, apart from the teacher, is a child of the same age. On the contrary, home-schooled children are always interacting with parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, family friends, members of their local community and other children of all ages. They develop a wide range of social skills and are able to engage with people regardless of their age. Based on many studies, the poor socialization factor that is often associated with homeschooling has proven to be nothing more than a demeaning cliche unsupported by fact.

There are many perks that come with homeschooling: Home-schooled families, not the state, choose their own curriclum; homeschooled families, not the state, choose their school’s daily and hourly schedule; homeschooled families, not the state, choose their days off and vacation times; and homeschooled children, though better educated, actually have more time in the day to study Quran, learn Arabic and other languages, excel at a sport, become involved in community activities, and form meaningful relationships.

The benefits to homeschooling are many, and if we are to have healthy, lasting relationships with our children and raise independently thinking, self-motivated, educated, just, and compassionate people, homeschooling as an educational option must be seriously considered by all parents who are able to teach their children at home. If you are unable to teach your child at home, please consider establishing a one-room schoolhouse with several other families. These are the only two options that uphold a traditional approach to education.

also please define what "islamic school" is to you...

is it a public school with islamic values or a school that focuses on islam around the regular public curricula

Wsalam,

This is exactly why my perspective on Homeschooling changed from Public to Homeschooling.

After having a discussion on the issue with Sh. Hamza Yusuf himself, he had cleared away a lot of my misunderstandings of homeschooling.

It doesn’t necessarily involve alienating your child from socializing, as other social activities will make up for it. The key here is safeguarding a child’s imaan.

This is crucial and often overlooked. Madressas and Islamic schools are increasingly integrated into the education system, so its not that hard to pursue secondary education, which is good. However, Even in that the sense of faith may have the possibility of losing itself.

You can also hire a professional teacher to develop a curriculum, and you decide what your child learns. Therefore, it doesn’t necessarily have to be your spouse teaching the kids.

I was all for Islamic schools until Sh. Hamza yusuf cleared my eyes. He also gave me the example of the omish community. They are so immune to the dangers of this world, that at age 18 they are sent out into it, yet 98% of them return to their omish lifestyle. This is another real world example.

In the end, what struck me the most from the Shaykh, was his determination to preserve a child’s innocence and Imaan. This is the motive for homeschooling, and I think as Muslims we need to overcome the fear of homeschooling and try to understand it from that perspective.

I had one other example:

When girls today starting in middle schools, are dressing the way they are. The shamelessness in society that is becoming widespread is reaching the eyes of your son, regardless of his training at home, do you think he won't find the opposite sex appealing?

Move that scenario to High Schools, where it gets worse. Everyone has a weak spot, and iblis utilizes all his resources to make sure we falter. This in turn has an effect on Imaan, and these subtle mistakes prove destructive in the long term.

What do you think?

I am currently a student-teacher. My experiences in the past couple of years in public schools have made me go :bummer:

This year, I am placed in a French immersion school and w.h.o.a the difference is unbelievable. Kids are highly disciplined and given *real *education. Teachers also take their work more seriously as their programs are well-funded and supported; plus, there is a high parent involvement in these programs.

Not a parent - but for English Canada, this sounds like a very very good option right now. :slight_smile:

I went to a private Islamic school for a good while and Im not sure Im going to put my kids in Islamic schools in the future. I really think if I hadnt gone to public, I would have had a culture shock when I went to college.

The bad thing about private Islamic schools is they raise kids so closed and away from Western influence that sometimes the child doesnt know how to deal with American culture when he/she is finally exposed to it. It will happen, sooner or later if you live in a Western country so why not prepare your child for it? Give them the tools they need to deal with inevitable situations. I felt SOOO shy and was very quiet when I left private. It felt odd to sit in a classroom and have a boy sit in the next seat as our school was segregated. The first time it happened, I just looked at him like he was crazy. "Doesnt he know he can get in trouble for that???". We also had a few Muslim teachers that were very passionate about their beliefs and would just condemn anything and everything. This too is wrong. I had one teacher (this is a true story) say that everyone who has lice will go to hell because in her eyes there is no excuse for this. Cleanliness is half the faith. We had a heated argument because what about the millions of poverty stricken families who cannot affort drinking water, let alone lice shampoo?!

On the plus side, private Islamic schools have a very community/family oriented environment. All the teachers, principals, volunteers are like our uncles and aunties. They treat you as they would their own children so it makes it a bit safer. (This does not mean alcohol or drugs dont make into Islamic schools, where there is a will there is a way) Most Muslim teachers will pour their heart and soul into teaching the kids so they get a lot of attention. I remember during finals, our trig teacher had review classes at his house - no time limit! All of us would be going over last minute problems and whatnot and his wife would be making dinner and snacks. We went home when we were ready. He was my favorite teacher, you can tell. If I needed a minute of his time, he dropped what he was doing and paid attention. :) I always pray for them because they are true gems Mashallah. There were a few students who couldnt afford extras like application fees for college, fees for AP exams, the teachers would get together and help out. And its not like Islamic schools can afford to pay these teachers more then bare minimum so they were struggling too with whole families. But they didnt want "their" kids to be left behind so did what they could.

Some people dont want their kids to have any exposure to American society and some want it as much as possible. Some want to make sure their kids are the exact opposites of them and some want theirs to walk in mommy and daddy's footsteps. I know parents who have completely let go of any traces of Islamic lifestyle as well as desi culture. On the other hand, you have mine who were very adamant about instilling Pakistan in our home. The only thing we were missing was a flag on our door step...lol.

I guess it just depends on what is important to you and how you want to raise your child. I think a good school, supplemental Islamic education and attention to the child's development is great as Nik said earlier. Im not a mommy yet, but thats what I would want to do.

Hmm, this is a tough question to answer. As a student, I've attended both public school and private islamic school. As a teacher, I've taught at a Muslim school and a public school.

There are pros and cons to both. Private schools run on donations.....and when the economy is down, the schools suffer because they are unable to purchase up-to-date textbooks and other resources that public schools can easily get from the state. Due to lack of funding, extra curricular programs are often times cut. On the positive side, most of the kids in an Islamic school tend to be more well-behaved because there is an emphasis on religion. Students learn more about their religion as well. BUT THIS ALSO HAS TO BE REINFORCED AT HOME IN ORDER TO WORK. The Islamic school that I taught went up to high school and its graduates went on to become successful professionals (doctors, engineers, etc.).

Muslim kids attending public schools have the advantage of up-to-date resources and exposure to a variety of extracurricular programs. They are also exposed to negative influences (drugs, sex, etc) and one can look at that in a positive and negative way. The positive is that they become aware of the real world, so they're less naive. The negative is that parents fear their kids will get involved in those dangers. BUT, i have seen muslim kids who attend public school turn out just fine. My siblings and I are examples. It depends a lot on parent involvement. In my experience as a teacher, the kids whose parents are not involved, are more likely to suffer academically and go astray. And i've seen parents balance things out by providing Islamic education (madrassah on weekends, for example) for their kids as well as practicing Islam at home.

It's hard to stereotype because i've seen all sorts of examples. I've even seen kids who attend Islamic schools that are sooooo messed up and its because the parents are not involved and do not reinforce values at home. They think that schools do a sufficient enough job. And sometimes kids can rebel if parenting is too strict. It's hard to maintain a balance.

I'm not too crazy about the idea of homeschooling because I feel that kids need the disciplined routine of a schedule that schools provide. At home, it's easier for parents to become lax in doing that since there are other responsibilities that can come in the way. And I also feel that the socialization a school provides is sooooo important for a child's development......even negative exposure can teach children conflict management skills. Home-schooled kids tend to be more sheltered, i've noticed, and can have difficulty adjusting to school later on. I remember teaching a previously home-schooled student, who although did great academically, was always stressed out because her mom was actually tooooooo involved and over-protective. Not only that, but the girl struggled with socialization. Since she was home-schooled, it was as if she didn't understand the dynamics of natural socialization such as playful joking and constructive criticism. She would take other peoples words completely out of context, take them way too seriously, and run to mommy for protection. And mom thought that everyone was out to get her baby because she found it hard to let go. Needless to say, even the administration became agitated with the mom's over involved behavior as it was extreme. It was just odd. The interaction that you get from being around your parents all day is one type of socialization.......but kids also need to get exposed to various types of personalities among adults and peers.

Hmm, this is a tough question to answer. As a student, I've attended both public school and private islamic school. As a teacher, I've taught at a Muslim school and a public school.

There are pros and cons to both. Private schools run on donations.....and when the economy is down, the schools suffer because they are unable to purchase up-to-date textbooks and other resources that public schools can easily get from the state. Due to lack of funding, extra curricular programs are often times cut. On the positive side, most of the kids in an Islamic school tend to be more well-behaved because there is an emphasis on religion. Students learn more about their religion as well. BUT THIS ALSO HAS TO BE REINFORCED AT HOME IN ORDER TO WORK. The Islamic school that I taught went up to high school and its graduates went on to become successful professionals (doctors, engineers, etc.).

Muslim kids attending public schools have the advantage of up-to-date resources and exposure to a variety of extracurricular programs. They are also exposed to negative influences (drugs, sex, etc) and one can look at that in a positive and negative way. The positive is that they become aware of the real world, so they're less naive. The negative is that parents fear their kids will get involved in those dangers. BUT, i have seen muslim kids who attend public school turn out just fine. My siblings and I are examples. It depends a lot on parent involvement. In my experience as a teacher, the kids whose parents are not involved, are more likely to suffer academically and go astray. And i've seen parents balance things out by providing Islamic education (madrassah on weekends, for example) for their kids as well as practicing Islam at home.

It's hard to stereotype because i've seen all sorts of examples. I've even seen kids who attend Islamic schools that are sooooo messed up and its because the parents are not involved and do not reinforce values at home. They think that schools do a sufficient enough job. And sometimes kids can rebel if parenting is too strict. It's hard to maintain a balance.

I'm not too crazy about the idea of homeschooling because I feel that kids need the disciplined routine of a schedule that schools provide. At home, it's easier for parents to become lax in doing that since there are other responsibilities that can come in the way. And I also feel that the socialization a school provides is sooooo important for a child's development......even negative exposure can teach children conflict management skills. Home-schooled kids tend to be more sheltered, i've noticed, and can have difficulty adjusting to school later on. I remember teaching a previously home-schooled student, who although did great academically, was always stressed out because her mom was actually tooooooo involved and over-protective. Not only that, but the girl struggled with socialization. Since she was home-schooled, it was as if she didn't understand the dynamics of natural socialization such as playful joking and constructive criticism. She would take other peoples words completely out of context, take them way too seriously, and run to mommy for protection. And mom thought that everyone was out to get her baby because she found it hard to let go. Needless to say, even the administration became agitated with the mom's over involved behavior as it was extreme. It was just odd. The interaction that you get from being around your parents all day is one type of socialization.......but kids also need to get exposed to various types of personalities among adults and peers.

but thats part of being alive- your son's faith *will *be tested (high school is just one place), and he will have to hold fast to his teachings and his beliefs in what is right and wrong. it is ridiculous to blame the other person for temptation. it is your job, as a parent, to educate your child about what they will face in this world and to give them the tools and support to get past all that.

for me, the plan is to send our kids to montessori for the first few years iA. it is expensive but i believe worth every penny. my mom teaches montessori and i've seen how strong those children emerge academically. i like the hands-on teaching methods and i think its important for kids to have a good foundation. teaching them Islam is my job and the idea of sending them to madrassa part-time works for me.

what i would not want to do is either homeschool them (no idea how, and also no interest in it-- i think the school experience is an important one). i went to a segregated school all my life until A levels, and like psquared said, the shock is ridiculous when you come into class and there are boys sitting next to you. it carried all the way up to university and made for some really uncomfortable times. i would never put my kids through that. from a woman's perspective, men are half the world's population and they're not going anywhere- i'd rather teach my daughters how to deal with them respectfully and with boundaries than to completely impose a segregation ban on them. i don't think it does them any favours, whatsoever.

complete islamic schooling is also something i don't agree with. i have friends who are living in the west and have completely separated from Western society and while they are happy socialising solely with friends from the mosque, sending their kids to islamic school, having no tv in the house because of the stuff that plays on it, and practicing other ways of controlling the environment... i just dont see how thats good for their kids.

Allah has sent us to live on this earth and while we should definitely do what we can to be good Muslims while on it, isn't part of being a good Muslim also being part of a greater community/society? if you closet yourself off so entirely, you don't really give the non-Muslims around you a sense of what it is to be a good Muslim and to be a good Western citizen too. if you pay taxes, you have a right and a responsibility to see what is going on in your community and to be a part of it. especially in this day and age, when being a Muslim is more challenging than it used to be what with 9/11 and the fallout from it etc., surely its our job to keep ourselves and our faith open for communication and questions so that we can educate people on what Islam really is, rather than hide ourselves and our kids away?

This is the reason why you need to look at the school district you're in and why it is important to choose to live in an area with a highly rated school system. The better schools do not allow shameless dressing and if a kid comes to school dressed inappropriately, they get sent home to change.

Boys should find the opposite sex appealing!! But they should also be learning how to deal with those feelings in an appropriate manner yeah? You cannot (or should not) shield a kid from the opposite sex till the day they marry! They need to learn how to interact with that half of the population yeah?

I agree that a man should be sexualy attracted to only a female and for that parents need to be loving and caring to their son especially the mother, she should be very soft and kind to her son so that he can associate love, mercy and kindness to women and in future treat them with same emotions.
And also we need to teach him to respect the women and don't look at them as a sexual object that media is trying to do with our kids these days.

In homeschooling you have the power to select the company for your children and you can choose families for interaction and socialization who are religious, modest and nice.

But keeping your son completely away from females can creat serious problems.

Speak to Shakh Hamza if you can on this matter and share with us.

Boys can or should talk to girls and shoud work with them [with modest girls] but when it comes to having a girl friend then you should just mary your son [or at least talk about marriage] with his choice instead of letting them destroy their iman and lives.