Thanks for posting such precious information on this thread. I am also very nostalgic about that great PTV era. Does anyone remember a program by Shoaib Mansoor in which Zia Moheyuddin used to read poetry and a guy (probably Javed AllahDitta) playing sitar ? I think, its name was Merey bhi hain kuch khwab. Is it available somewhere ? Secondly there was a long play telecasted in 80's in which Ali Ejaz acted as father of Khayyam Sarhadi, Bindiya played the role of Khayyam Sarhadi's wife. Ali Ejaz leaves home and goes to his friend's home because he is not comfortable with his son's way of life. I think it was once of MNH's classics. Can somebody tell me the name of that long play?
Anyone remembers Jangloos. I was a kid when I used to watch it with family and I was scared senseless by the dude named "Lali" I used to hide in my blanket and I used to watch it by uncovering one of my eye. :D
Jangloos was a great serial. I was a kid too at that time, I think it was telecasted around 1988-89. It was the last serial of Saleem Nasir (R.I.P) who acted brilliantly and debut serial of Shagufta Ejaz. Recently watched some of its episodes on youtube and enjoyed it alot. The serial was left incomplete and it was expected that its sequel will be made but that didn't happen.
Sangchoor (Islamabad center, starring Hassaam Qazi, Bushra Ansari etc. It had a beautiful song which was 'jeb mein nanhi munni si thee, mein ne apni maan se poocha, kia mein sundar phool banun gee....' still remember its lyrics :))
Dhundley Raastey (Islamabad center, written by Hasina Moin, directed by Shoaib Mansoor. Vitals Signs acted in this short drama serial)
Haveli (Lahore center, written by Ata ul Haq Qasmi, directed by Mushtaq Chaudhry)
Qasmi Kahani (Lahore center, based upon Ahmed Nadeem Qasmi's stories, directed by Ayub Khawer. I especially liked the play named Ehsan in which Azm ul Haq and Arifa Siddiqi acted)
Kahani gher (Lahore center, some brilliant Urdu afsaney were dramatized in this series)
Dukh sukh (Lahore center, starring Saleem Sheikh, Resham, Sohail Ahmed - who acted as a driver and all his dialogs were related to driving and were very interesting)
Poorey chaand ki raat (Lahore center, directed by Tariq Jameel who also directed Aanch & Raahein)
Jinnah se Quaid (Karachi center, a wonderful play presented on Pakistan's Golden Jubilee, directed by late Mohsin Ali (R.I.P))
An Islamabad center play, don't remember its name, its cast included Ayaz Naik, Robina Ashraf, Shamim Hilali, Nayyer Ejaz, Sajjad Kishwar
Another nice long play from Karachi center in which Talat Hussain acted as a professor, his wife is Fazeela Qazi. She gets anonymous letters which are actually written by her husband Talat. Fazeela acted brilliantly.
Maanoos Ajnabi (Karachi Center, starring Shabbir Jan, Hafeez Fatima, Huma Mir etc.)
**I visited PTV-Lahore for Ayesha's MEENA BAZAR show after a very very long time....!
Last I visited was sometime in 1995when I called on Yawar Hayat, Nusrat Thakur and Farrukh Bashir.
Same studio same ambiance BUT full ofYAADEIN of mid 70's in this building which was inaugurated by ZAB in 1973.
The show went well and I also met Abrarul Haq....who was there for a support program before my segment. Meeting Asimyar Tiwana was fun too:)
This visit also proved worthwhile that I got a chance to click my 12 megapixel on some classic and great B&W pics of yesteryears like scenes from WARIS, MANCHALLAY KASAUDA, AIK MUHABBAT SAU AFSANAE, KHUDA KI BASTI, ANKAHI, RAGOUN MEIN ANDHERA, RAAT RAITT AUR KHATT...and many others--which I'll download on this thread when I get back home by Thursday 10 Dec evening.
This morning ....my show in MORNING WITH FARAH on ATV from ISLAMABAD went smooth and we had a wonderful time exchanging a lot of goodies...on showbiz.
Cheers--------
Raju (Isloo)
Raju,I noticed that the only surviving video of Qurat Ul Ain(AMSA)has been removed by the user.I am so disappointed.
Do you know if it is still available online anywhere?
Re: PTV Plays ... (Drama in which Khayyam Sarhadi played Freedom Fighter)
Yes, I remember "Raat Rait or Hawa" and some scenes are still stuck to my mind, long cars running in a queue on sand in night ...
I want to talk about another PTV long play in which Khayyam Sarhadi (may his soul rest in peace) played the role of a freedom fighter (hurriyat pasand), that was played on Kashmir Day with an excellent background track "Pyari maa, mujh ko teri dua chahiye" ... Unfortunately I forgot the name of that drama, can anybody remind me that? so that I try to find that sound track. I liked that too much "Pyari maa mujh ko teri dua chahiye".
Re: PTV Plays ... (Drama in which Khayyam Sarhadi played Freedom Fighter)
hello everyone i am doing a comparative research on ptv dramas/private channel dramas. i need to get filled out the questionaires by people who have watched ptv dramas of 80's 90's and private channel dramas such as those of geo n hum tv. please guys fill out these questionaires n post ur replies here. only condition is that u must have watched dramas of ptv, geo n hum tv. kindly be as quick as possible its really important for me