Long Live PTV.
IN 1990 WHEN IRAQ'S ATTEMPT TO INVADE KUWAIT
TOOK PLACE---A LOT OF PAKISTANI FAMILIES HAD TO EITHER
LEAVE KUWAIT OR FIND REFUGE IN NEARBY GULF STATES.
BASED ON THE SITUATION---I THINK IT WAS SHAHID KAZMI
WHO PENNED THE WONDERFUL SERIAL;
"RAAT, RAITT AUR HAWA"
WHICH WAS PRODUCED/DIRECTED BY KAZIM PASHA
FROM PTV-KARACHI.
THE STORY WAS VERY STRONG--SO WAS THE PLOT.
THE CAST WAS THE PICK OF THE SERIAL--EVERYONE TAILORMADE
FOR THE ROLE THEY PLAYED....
I REMEMBER TANVIR JAMAL (TONY), MEHAK ALI FOR ONE
AND THE PARROT AND SOME SCINTILLATING SCENES
AND DIALOGUES WHICH KAZIM TOLD ME...
ADDED A TASTE TO THE LOCATIONS LIKE QUETTA,
KOH-E-TAFTAAN AND ALMOST THE BORDER OF PAKISTAN
WITH IRAN NEAR ZAHIDAN......WHERE, KAZIM WORKED HARD
TO MANAGE RIGHT HAND DRIVE CARS LIKE CHEVY CAPRICE CLASSIC
WHICH WERE COMMON AND POPULAR IN KUWAIT WITH PAK EXPARTRIATES AND LIKES.
DURING THE TELECAST OF THE SERIAL, I WAS BASED IN DUBAI (1990) AND
WE HAD THESE PAKISTANI NEIGHBORS AT GOLDEN SANDS (now opp: Desert Rose)
WHO HAD FLED FROM KUWAIT...AND IT WAS OUR WEEKEND (THURSDAY EVENING) REGULAR FEATURE TO WATCH THE VHS RECORDING OF THE SERIAL MY VIDEO VENDOR USE
TO RECEIVE FROM PAKISTAN....AS WE DIDN'T HAVE THE ULTIMATE LUXURY WELL
ENJOYED & MOCKED BY THE GENERATION OF TODAY IN DUBAI OR GULF.
MY NEIGHBORS LITERALLY SHED TEARS ON SOME SCENES AND PAID RICH TRIBUTES TO KAZIM
FOR THE FANTASTIC WORK...MUCH SO MUCH THAT WE ALSO CALLED KAZIM AND CONGRATULATED HIM ON PHONE FOR BRINGING OUT SUCH REALITY BASED SERIAL
HAIL PTV...
RAAT-RAITT AUR HAWA
INDEED WAS A SERIAL WHICH WILL BE LONG REMEMBERED
BY THE DIE-HARDS OF PTV LIKE ME (& YOU)
Re: PTV Plays since 27 Nov-1964
Arjay,
As I write two KTV long plays come to my mind and I am sure they will ring up you too.
If I remember,Karachi received a torrential downpour in 1978 causing widespread damage to city life.This led KTV to produce a long play "Baarish" sometime in Sep 1978.
Liaqat Durrani Sahib(Marhoom)played a memorable character.
It is such a pity these plays have never been repeated and today's TV generation mostly attuned to ufone and Jazz produced commercial stuff don't know what quality TV was in the 70s and 80s.
Arjay,
As I write two KTV long plays come to my mind and I am sure they will ring up you too.
If I remember,Karachi received a torrential downpour in 1978 causing widespread damage to city life.This led KTV to produce a long play "Baarish" sometime in Sep 1978. Liaqat Durrani Sahib(Marhoom)played a memorable character. It is such a pity these plays have never been repeated and today's TV generation mostly attuned to ufone and Jazz produced commercial stuff don't know what quality TV was in the 70s and 80s.
I didn't see it--but I did hear a whole lot more about it from my colleagues at PTV. They say it was also recorded at places where BAARISH made worst for dwellers...
INDEED HE DID...and that I knew Liaqat Bhai from Khuda Ki basti days that he played a small but mazaydaar role as my silent boss with no dialogues... he was a jovial person full of wisecracks like Qazi Wajid....
"Baarish" was then followed by "Karachi Express" (B&W),another great play on the eve of Eid-al-Fitr.
Similar ones based on the theme of a train carrying relatives to Karachi on the eve of Eid were then produced over the years with similar cast but the original Karachi Express was the real one.
Ishrat Hashmi and Arsh-e-Munir (marhoomeen)were the stars of the comedy play Karachi Express.
Arjay bhai (or anyone)
can you please tell me the name of the drama serial, aired somewhere in the early 1984, Saba Hameed played lead role ![]()
I think her name ( or the serial’s name) was Neeli ![]()
i don't know if anyone can help me with this one or not. but i have few glimpse of a drama in my mind and i would like to watch it again.
the problem is that when i saw it i was very very young so i don't know much about it except one scene that is stuck in my mind for some reason.
all i can remember that it had khalid anam in it and i guess rahat kaazmi too. rahat kaazmi had two kids and their mother either died or going through a heart surgery or something like that and the scene that i had in my mind was when rahat kazmi and khalid anam were trying tell the kids about their mother.
when i saw this drama i must be under 5 or 6 years old so it had to be from somewhere between 1987 to 1993.
i am not exactly sure if it had rahat kazmi, but it definitly had khalid anam in it.
i would be really happy if someoen know anything about this drama. if not it's fine because i haven't given much clues either for finding it.
thanks anyways.
Drama Serial : Ehsas; Cast: Rahat Kazmi, Hameed Wayn, Mareena Khan, Khalid Anum & Sabiha Khanum
**I visited PTV-Lahore for Ayesha's MEENA BAZAR show after a very very long time....!
Last I visited was sometime in 1995when I called on Yawar Hayat, Nusrat Thakur and Farrukh Bashir.
Same studio same ambiance BUT full ofYAADEIN of mid 70's in this building which was inaugurated by ZAB in 1973.
The show went well and I also met Abrarul Haq....who was there for a support program before my segment. Meeting Asimyar Tiwana was fun too:)
This visit also proved worthwhile that I got a chance to click my 12 megapixel on some classic and great B&W pics of yesteryears like scenes from WARIS, MANCHALLAY KASAUDA, AIK MUHABBAT SAU AFSANAE, KHUDA KI BASTI, ANKAHI, RAGOUN MEIN ANDHERA, RAAT RAITT AUR KHATT...and many others--which I'll download on this thread when I get back home by Thursday 10 Dec evening.
This morning ....my show in MORNING WITH FARAH on ATV from ISLAMABAD went smooth and we had a wonderful time exchanging a lot of goodies...on showbiz.
Cheers--------
Raju (Isloo)
all dramas of ptv are good the plus point is that ye hamary surroundings pr base krty hen my best drama is ''ANSOO'' its greattttttttttt
Salaam to everybody …
It looks that some really intriguing discussion is going on and I happened to stumble upon this very interesting site by a sheer stroke of luck. It was shockingly surprising to see that how little did I actually know, and how much more is still there to discover and explore about the ‘ocean’ we call PTV. People have alluded to those serials and dramas, whose names had I never even heard. I wonder if PTV’s Master Library itself has the record of all those programs or even a complete list of them in a chronological order. I think this would be the very first attempt to create any such thing like this and truly said a valiant-one. Before starting my recounting, I would highly appreciate if someone could let me know about any source or place where I could find and purchase rare and old PTV serials as very few are available in the market.
Being a die-hard fan of all old PTV programs (Pre-1990 period) in general, and PTV dramas in particular, I would like (with the permission of all honorable members of the forum) to share some of my ever-lasting memories of that golden period. As most of the narrations are purely based on my personal memory (as a school kid from mid 70s till mid 80s) there might be a few blunders about actors, characters or the exact year those programs were telecasted.
UNCLE URFI … much had been written about this serial in this forum. Saw it first when it was re-telecasted sometimes in late 80s, and immediately fell in love with the serial. Without exception, the best TV serial written by Haseena Moin, and certainly one of the all time great TV serials ever produced. It’s a bit disappointing that some of the artists acted in the serial, never really appeared on the TV screen again.
INTIZAR FARMAIYE … (aired in 1975??) will always be remembered for the spontaneous acting of ATHAR SHAHA KHAN in the character of MR. JAIDI. Some of the phrases like; “ NEE … NAA … NEE …TING TONG, THANDA THANDA LAG RAHA HO GAA!”, “I AM MR. JAIDI MATRIC 2ND DIVISION FROM SARGODHA DIVISION” AND “BHOO LO KHANSI AA GAEE” are still etched to my mind, as they were an incessant source of fun and enjoyment for us kids. Someone in this forum has mentioned that it was repeated on PTV Global. A big pleasant surprise for me as in my understanding the serial had never been re-telecasted on any channel, and I could never even manage to see a single clipping of this serial. What a pity!! as the serials many years older than this are available on DVD or VCD. I remember that Talat Iqbal and Sehar Jalal also played some characters in this serial.
Continued ……
OMG, i can’t thank you enough you found this drama i have been looking for it since such a long time.
do u know if it’s available online to watch?
ONE OF THE OUTSTANDING & PAR EXCELLENCE
TV ARTISTE FROM PTV-KARACHI
WHO LEFT THIS WORLD AT AN EARLY AGE
LEAVING BEHIND IMMENSE MEMORIES
OF HER GLORIOUS PERFORMANCES
IN PLAYS LIKE;
“CHOTTA STATION” & “GOSHA-e-AAFIYATT”
GHAZALA RAFIQ
ANOTHER OUTSTANDING ARTISTE FROM PTV-LAHORE
TAHIRA NAQVI
WHO TOO LEFT US AT AN EARLY AGE
***LEAVING BEHIND HUGE MEMORIES OF HER ***
SUPERB SERIALS LIKE “WARIS” AND OTHERS;
TAHIRA NAQVI & AGHA SIKANDER IN
“WARIS”
UNCLE URFI
Naheed Rafiq - Qurban Jilani - Shakeel
PTV-Karachi 1975
SHAKEEL & NILOFER ALIM ABBASI
“SHEHZORI”
BY HASINA MOIN
PTV-KARACHI (1969)
“KIRAN KAHANI”
On extreme RIGHT–smiling and looking at the couple
is late Zafar Masud (NAUSHA of Khuda-ki-Basti of 1969)
Dulha and Dulhan are Manzoor Qureshi & Roohi Bano
PTV-Karachi-1970
More to follow…
**“MEENA BAZAR”
WITH AYESHA SANA
TUESDAY-8th DEC-09
FROM PTV-LAHORE **
and
Salaam to everybody …
It looks that some really intriguing discussion is going on and I happened to stumble upon this very interesting site by a sheer stroke of luck. It was shockingly surprising to see that how little did I actually know, and how much more is still there to discover and explore about the ‘ocean’ we call PTV. People have alluded to those serials and dramas, whose names had I never even heard. I wonder if PTV’s Master Library itself has the record of all those programs or even a complete list of them in a chronological order. I think this would be the very first attempt to create any such thing like this and truly said a valiant-one. Before starting my recounting, I would highly appreciate if someone could let me know about any source or place where I could find and purchase rare and old PTV serials as very few are available in the market.
Being a die-hard fan of all old PTV programs (Pre-1990 period) in general, and PTV dramas in particular, I would like (with the permission of all honorable members of the forum) to share some of my ever-lasting memories of that golden period. As most of the narrations are purely based on my personal memory (as a school kid from mid 70s till mid 80s) there might be a few blunders about actors, characters or the exact year those programs were telecasted.
UNCLE URFI … much had been written about this serial in this forum. Saw it first when it was re-telecasted sometimes in late 80s, and immediately fell in love with the serial. Without exception, the best TV serial written by Haseena Moin, and certainly one of the all time great TV serials ever produced. It’s a bit disappointing that some of the artists acted in the serial, never really appeared on the TV screen again.
INTIZAR FARMAIYE … (aired in 1975??) will always be remembered for the spontaneous acting of ATHAR SHAHA KHAN in the character of MR. JAIDI. Some of the phrases like; “ NEE … NAA … NEE …TING TONG, THANDA THANDA LAG RAHA HO GAA!”, “I AM MR. JAIDI MATRIC 2ND DIVISION FROM SARGODHA DIVISION” AND “BHOO LO KHANSI AA GAEE” are still etched to my mind, as they were an incessant source of fun and enjoyment for us kids. Someone in this forum has mentioned that it was repeated on PTV Global. A big pleasant surprise for me as in my understanding the serial had never been re-telecasted on any channel, and I could never even manage to see a single clipping of this serial. What a pity!! as the serials many years older than this are available on DVD or VCD. I remember that Talat Iqbal and Sehar Jalal also played some characters in this serial.
Continued ……
They do.....
*Thanks a lot arjay for entertaining my query, at least we can hope now that all of this wonderful stuff will come out one day and be available to the fans of old PTV programs like me. Also many thanks for sharing great pictures. This site has actually proved to be much more than I was expecting for. It has a whole treasure of information about the old days of PTV and also my beloved Karachi. I have already read a few blogs especially of arjay about the ‘cinemas of Karachi’ and ‘old days of railways’ and they are a feast for reading. *
PTV has produced some memorable solo-plays either as tele-theater, long-plays or to celebrate a special occasion. Some of them which come to my mind are:
ZINDAGI BANDAGI … Abid Ali played the role of an old-fashioned school master and Tahira Naqvi (Marhooma) a retarded girl
*CHOAR BUKHAR … Was the story of a thief who breaks into a house and latter finds himself arrested by the love and friendship of a sick kid. Sikander Shaheen played the title- role of CHOAR with Nayyar Kamal the other lead artist *
KHAIT KHAIT HARYALI … Talat Hussain played the character of an old farmer and Shahid Shah of his son
*YE KAHAN KI DOSTI HAY … A serious play written by Anwar Maqssod. Rahat Kazmi played the character of a cancer patient and Huma Akbar was also in lead role *
*GAR NAMA-BUR MILLAY … Shakeel was in lead-role and Javed Shaikh played the character of his friend. I don’t remember the lady opposite to Shakeel in lead-role. I think it was about the deliverance of some latter on CHAND RAAT before EID DAY and many funny incidents happened in between. *
There was one more drama featuring Shakeel and Shaisat Qaisar. Shakeel played the role of an idiot boss who used to give dumb calls to his secretary (Shaisat Qaisar) as her potential fiancé, and asked for a DATE, and then had always appeared himself on the spot - apparently by sheer co-incidence - to scold her for her carelessness.
Dramas from all four PTV centers i.e. Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad and Peshawar (Quetta center was not inaugurated till then) were presented as a part of Jashn-e-Tamseel back in 1970s. Two of them as I remember were
*SONAY KI CHIRYA … by PTV Karachi, in which Nisar Qadri played the character of a crippled beggar and used to live in an undercinstruction building with his grandson *
PAGAL … BY PTV Peshawar, the only thing I remember about this play is that it had received 1st prize in the competition. Nothing more is in my mind about the story or actors of the play
I also managed to find six episodes of AIK HAQEEQAT AIK FASANA (Nisar Qadri & Mustanser Hussain Tarar) on VCD, but the most sought-after episodes DUBAI CHALIO & GORAY BABA KI WAPSI were not include in them.
CHORE BUKHAAR
(1973-PTV, Lahore)
Munawwar Saeed - Agha Sikandar - Uzma Gilani
(WARIS, PTV-Lahore, 1978)
Naveen Tajik with (I forget the bloke’s name..at the moment!!)
“QURA’T’UL’AIN”
of
AIK MUHABBAT SAU AFSANAE
(PTV-Lahore, 1974-75)
Dr. Anwar Sajjad
(PTV-Lahore, 1973)
MANNCHALLAY KA SAUDA
(PTV-Lahore, 1976)
Khayyam sarhadi & Khurshid Shahid