I heard Samina Peerzada saying in an interview that the perception that no one watches PTV nowadays (due to abundance of Private channels) is totally wrong bcoz when she was doing ‘Kath Putli’ where ever she went ppl gave comments on her performance in ‘Kathputli’.
The drama was written by: Zakia Akbar & directed by: Kazim Pasha (the team had already two classics ‘Kashish’ and ‘Uljhan’ on their credit).
Cast included: Samina Peerzada, Imran Jilani, Javeria Abbasi, Farhan Ali Agha,Yaar Muhammad Shah, Taimoor Danish, Rehana Akhtar, Qamr u nisa.
^ i have seen this drama..it wasnot bad...but the sets they used were a complete turn off.
i agree people not watching ptv is not other channel's fault. its cause ptv is not producing any good dramas for example daam that came on a private channel ary..and it was a par excellent drama.
^ Can't understand why state run channel having developed infrastructure don't bother about minor details such as set-designing. The other thing they heavily depended on third class private productions since last 6-7 years.
They had talented producers / directors including Sahira Kazmi, Sultana Siddiqui, Ghazanfar Ali, Tariq Jameel, Iqbal Ansari,Haider Imam Rizvi who produced classics for PTV, but due to bad policies they all left the channel. Still they have gem directors like Kazim Pasha, Tariq Mairaj, Manzoor Magsi,etc, but they are not properly being utilised.
One strange thing I'm observing from 3-4 months that they are not telecasting new dramas since ICC worldcup started. Even after worldcup matches, they kept repeating 'Masuri'. Even they stopped showing dramas which were being telecasted b4 worldcup. Rangeel Pur 'written and directed by: Usman Peerzada' was not aired after its 11 episodes. Can't understand the policy, they are really ruining a channel which had produced classics.
^ ya surely Ptv isnot giving any space to the directors or writers thats why we dont tend to see good work from ptv now. yes they have started showing old dramas…rangeel pur was going good put they stopped that in between which is quite annoying. Ptv do need to get back on track and if they dont have any new good dramas they can atleast start showing all the classics…if i was teh head of Ptv thats what i would have done. :hinna:
(1) Noori Jaam Tamachi (a modernised version of Sindhi Folk tale ‘Noori Jaam Tamachi’ which is included in ‘Shah jo Risalo’). The drama was written by: Mehmood Mughal *ing: Shafi M Shah & Ghazal Siddique in mean lead. Other cast included Gulab Chandio, Qamrunisa, Anwar Solangi, Roshan Atta, Imrana Khan , Tahira Wasti,etc
(i) Zeenat written by: Fatima Suriya Bajia (based on 19th century Sindhi novel written by Mirza Qaleech Baig) *ing: Shafi M Shah, Mehmood Siddiqui, Rabia Noreen, Ishrat Hashmi, Gulab Chandio, Zaheen Tahira, Fareed Nawaz Baloch
(ii) Ravish, written by: Mehmood Mughal, staring: Abdullah Kadwani, Imrana khan, Seemi Zaidi, Tani Begum, etc
(iii) Angaray (originally telecasted in Sindhi based on tradition of ‘Saam- Refuge’) written by: Agha Rafiq *ing: Azra Siddique, Shahzadi, Qaisar Khan, Shagufta, etc
(iv) Saasi Punnoo in series ‘Daastan’ dramatised by Fatima Suriya Bajia, *ing: Qaisar khan & Shazia Syed in main lead with Gulab Chandio, Shafi M Shah, Shakeel, Mamtaz Kanwal, Mehmood Siddiqui, Mehmood Akhtar, Jahan Ara Hai,etc
(v) Inteha, written by: Kehar Shaukat *ing: Qaisar Khan, Mishi Khan, Muhammad Yousif, Yaar M Shah, Imrana Khan, Tanveer Jamal, Ghazal Siddique, Mehmood Siddiqui, etc
thanks guys!!! ... there was this drama "Kashish" starring Shabbir Jan and Fazila Qazi!! I tried to look for it on youtube!! but couldnt find anything.
it was really a well written drama!! and ofcourse the actors did a amazing job! :)
Kazim Pasha is one fine director!!! is he still into direction??
I have dvd of this drama “Chaand Girhan” I think I’ve watched it couple of times!! absolutely loved Shafi Muhammad in it!! wat a natural actor he was!!
Kazim Pasha is really a gr8 director. One of the directors, who kept producing classics after classic, even when other directors did nothing for PTV. Kazim Pasha produced dramas like Chaon, Seedhiyan, Jaangloos, Aitraaf, Jaal (old one), Raat Rait aur Hawa, Mandi, Uljhan, Kashish, Kaffara, Aanchal, Sham say Pehle, Thoda sa Aasman, etc for PTV. He is still directing. His last serial was ‘Baarh’ telecasted last year.
Yes. Chaand Girhan was a really good drama, written by: Asghar Nadeem Syed and directed by: Haider Imam Rizvi (although as per the titles of drama the director is Taajdaar Haider. Due to restriction by PTV that no director of PTV woud produce drama for NTM unless he forgo half of his salary, many of PTV directors produced plays for NTM without mentioning their names). Shafi Muhammad Shah really did amazing performance in Chand Girhan.
Kashish indeed was a very good drama...fazila as well as looking pretty she played her role very well as a woman who is more into her social life circle rather than her husband and kids.
Does anyone remember PTV's telefilm called "Hero" (i think). it was from islamabad/pindi centre (again i think). it starred Iqbal Hussain (husband of doctor/host/actress farah hussain). it was about people who perform on stage like doing dramas etc and iqbal was one of the naukars who would help around and had a desire to become a hero. in the play the two main heroes have a big fight. and one of them wants to take the revenge so he puts actual bullets in his rifle instead of the fake ones (so that he can take revenge from the other one when they are going to act where he is meant to shoot him in one of the scenes)...no one knows that he has actual bullets in his rifle...when the show starts iqbal sits on the floor (where all the audience is sitting) to watch the drama. the guy fires the rifle but he accidently shoots iqbal...everyone on stage gets shocked and they get to know its the real bullet but infront of the audience they pretend as if iqbal was part of their drama..they then drag him back to the stage and call the ambulence..cant remember whether iqbal survives or dies (think he died) the dude who fired gets panicked.
Yes, the concept and story seems familiar. I think this drama was included in PTV competition for long plays. Other plays of the competition included Ek thi Mehroo & Qissa Saat Raton ka (Karachi Center), Thodi Si Roshni & Cat Walk (Lahore Center)
thori si roshni wohi jia ali and asad wali....that was a good one...the little girl acted really well....it had that title song "thori si roshni chahiye..."
Yes exactly that one. btw do you remember which dramas were telecasted from Peshawer & Quetta centers in that Festival.
I think from Peshawer Center, there was a drama in which Shariqa Fatima played the role of editor of a literary magazine. I just remember her dialogue while giving interview for post of the editor 'maine Quaratulain Haide ke Mere bhi sanam khane se lekar Manto ko thoda boht padha hai'. Probably the drama was written by Amjad Islam Amjad.
From Quetta Center, they telecasted 'Sheeshe ka Saibaan'. No more details coming to my mind.