PTV Plays since 27 Nov-1964

Re: PTV Plays since 27 Nov-1964

Do anyone remember Mini Serial ‘Nasl’ *ing: Atteeqa Odho, Shafi Muhammad Shah which was aired on PTV-World in late 90’s and then re-tecast on Indus TV. I think the drama was remake of PTV mini serial ‘Sunhare Log’ *ing: Sakina Sammo, Seema Rizvi. ‘Nasl’ has a very beautiful theme song ’ Tumhe yeh sochna to tha’ sung by Sadaf Munir. here is the link to the song:

PTV series in 1997 celebrating 50 years of independence: 'Qissa Nisf Sadi Ka', the series included many good plays including:

(i) Lahore Center's drama based on Jalyanwala Bagh incident *ing: Resham
(2) Karachi center's drama directed by Sahira Kazmi revolving around domestic violence
(3) Hum ke thehre ajnabi written by: Hasina Moin, considered to be story of East Pakistan's singer Shehnaz Begum
(4) Lahore Center's drama, written by: Mustansar Hussain Tarar, a story of young girl who, defying the police,scaled the walls to hoist Muslim League's flag atop Punjab Assembly building during British rule.
(5) Play based on Saadat Hussains's story 'Naya qanoon' staring: Saba Pervez

PTV Series ‘Daastan’ regarding folk love stories from all the provinces.

(i) ‘Rawal Jugni’: Rawal (Asif Seemab), Jugni (Laila Zubairi), Anaeta Kemfar
(ii) Sassi Punhoo: Based on Shah Latif’s Sur Sassi, dramatised by: Fatima Suraya Bajiya and directed by late Muhammad Bux Samejo *ing: Qaisar Khan (one of his first performances), Gulab Chandio, a new girl Shazia in the role of Sassi (Shazia then did certain Pakistani movies like goli tere naam ki), Mamtaz Kanwal, Mehmood Siddiqui, Shakeel, Noor Muhammad Lashari. The drama was very beautifully executed especially the background music including the following haunting alaap of Abida Parveen.

(iii) Sehti Muraad (*ing: Nida Mamtaz, Sohail Ahmed) alongwith some scenes from Heer Ranjha

(iv) Yousuf Khan Sher Bano

(v) Hani aur Shah Mureed

Following are some beautiful serials from PTV Islamabad center.

(i) Saarang: written by: Amar Jaleel *ing: Irum Hassan, Ayaz Naik, Kiran Zaman (Sunhare Din fame)

(ii) Ashob : written by: Khanlida Hussain directed by: my favorite Tariq Mairaj *ing: Laila Zubaeri, Mehmood Aslam, Sehrish Khan, Jameel Ahmed, Asif Seemab, Iqbal Hussain, Aliya Imam

(iii) Shehbaz: directed by Syed Shakir Uzair. A part of the drama was uploaded on youtube, but the uploader has some difficulties in splitting DVD, so he offered someone in New York to pick DVDs and upload the same. here is the link for video:

shahpar was a good drama too.

Story & Script: Sultan Mahmood Haali & Jahanzeb Aziz
Writer: Mustansir Hussain Tarrar
Director: Qaisar Farooq & Syed Shakir Uzair
**Cast: **Sarfaraz Usman, Faisal Rehman, Arif Kazmi, Tazeen Hussain, Zohra Farooq, Saima Shafique, Shamim Hilali, Usama Aziz, Azam Khan, Khalid Saiful Islam, Abid Majeed, Rubina Kamran, Sultan Mahmood Haali, Ainee Haali

Chao was very good too. Loved Zulqarnain Haider’s comedy (he was young then but played the old role so wonderfully…loved his line “alqamoonia main tou aisa nahi hota” after everything.)

and OMG ayub khosa looked pretty good with short hair. totally different

Cast: Laila Zuberi, Ayub Khosa, Aini Zaidi, Hussam Qazi, Rukhsana Jamil, Mohammad Nawaz, Aamna Khan, Raiz,
Obaida Azam, Z. Haider, Aleem Anjum, Farooq Sarwar, and Jahangir Khan

^ Agreed. Chaon was an amazing serial that proved that good dramas can be made in queeta too. Kazim Pasha directed the serial very well using new cast [Laila Zubairi, Ayub Khoso, Hassam qazi, Rukhsana Jameel and Aini (girl plyaing Bela)] and new outdoor location of outskirts queeta (Hina lake, Urak). When I visited queeta with my family in 1993, we visited Hina Lake and remembered the scenes of Riaz running from police in mountains near Hina Lake. We also visited PTV Quetta Station and met some actors of then running drama 'Tikon'.

Kazim Pasha is a gem director, who always produced gr8 dramas including the following:

(1) Jangloos
(2) Shikast e Aarzoo
(3) Raat Rait aur Hawa
(4) Kirdaar from quetta TV
(5) Seerhian (I loved the script of Abdul Qadir Junejo and acting of Rubina Ashraf, Salman Shahid and M Warsi)
(6) Aitraaf (Based on MA Rahat's novel dramatised by: Hameed Kashmiri *ing: Laila wasti, Bushra Ansari, Qurban Jilani, Adnan and her ex-wide Sadia Jilani, Shabbir Jan)
(7) Aanchal
(8) Kaffara
(9) Kashish (Fazeela Qazi did wonderful job)
(10) Uljhan (Qurban Jilani's last play)
(11) Sham se Pehle (Love to see that drama again)
(12) Kath Putli
(13) Thoda sa Aasam (Umera Ahmed's serial)

all three of them gave one of their best performance in that play. It was one great production.

^ Seerhian is not available online. Can anyone plz upload the classic serial.

Abdul Qadir Junejo written some gr8 dramas including:

(1) Dukh Sukh: Actually tele-casted in Sindhi with the name 'Jhaar- means Jaal', the drama was re-written after ten years in Urdu directed by: Muhammad Salim Tahir *ing: Resham, Salim Shaikh, Mehmood Aslam, Andleeb, Sohail Asghar

(2) Chhote bade log : *ing: Behroz Sabzwari, Najma Kavish, Huma Nawab

(3) Deewarain : Trend maker drama (originally telecasted in Sindhi as Rani Ji Kahani) directed by: Haroon Rind *ing: Mansoor Baloch, Shehnaz Soomro (as Rani), Muhammad Yousif, Qaisar Naqvi,Noor Muhammad Lashari, Sakina Sammo, Shehzadi, Fareed Nawaz Baloch, Imran Peerzada, Saqi, Anwar Solangi and Mushtaq Jiskani ( with their roles dholan and Makhan.... Baat hai samajh ki)

(4) Chhoti si Duniya (Janoo german): again directed by Haroon Rind *ing: Muhammad Yousif (his most memorable role), Sakina Sammo, Qaisar Naqvi, Noor Muhammad Lashari

(5) Darrarain: directed by Manzoor Magsi *ing Salah u ddin Tuniyo, Qaisar Khan

(6) Karawan ( who can forget the story of a singer Sukhan from Thar) directed by: Iqbal Ansari *ing: Huma Akbar (as Sukhan), Talat Iqbal, Bushra Ansari, Mehmood Siddiqui, Mazhar Ali, Yaqoob Zakaria and Rahat Kazmi in totally different character

This is a wonderful thread, brings back so many memories after reading comments from all of you. I would like to talk about a PTV serial named Pyas which is already mentioned in this thread. It is one of the most beautifully written plays which talks about spirituality and Sufism and at the same time shows the real life picture of Punjab. To me the best thing about this drama was its background music which was based on Shah Hussain’s kalam “Maye ni mein kinnu aakhan”. See this clip and listen to the background music at 05:31 onwards, and what an amazing acting by Abid Ali while delivering his dialogues:

It was written by Asgher Nadeem Syed & directed by late Nusrat Thakur (may Allah rest his soul in peace).

Yes, Pyas was a gr8 production.everyone performed very well. Nusrat Thakur did a wonderful job with Asghar Nadeem Syed’s script. Each and every character was well defined. Soonhara’s (played by Sohail Asghar) lines ‘aapa main sadqe theevan… Banda zara vakhri type ka hai’ were famous among the masses at that time.

@Blessed the drama i am aaskin i guess farooq zameer was also present in it and qavi get up is a fat person wearing galace and glasses with curly hairs he kidnapped a kid in the drama and try to put in a bory that i remember

hmmm i really cant recall this drama at the moment. thinking

Was that a long play or a serial. I remember one drama from Lahore Center ' Aali pe kia guzri' dealing with the kidnapping of children. I don't remember the exact cast of the drama except Jaziba Sultan playing mother of 'Aali'.

PTV has started re-telecasting drama serial 'Waris' everyday after Khabarnama around 9:45 to 10:00. Hope they will continue re-telecasting some classics.

PTV DEEWAREN

@rafe i send u a pm abt rangon mein anderha mate wht did u do about it ?

dear at the moment I´m very busy, I´ll contact u

PTV Classic drama ‘Hisaar’ has been uploaded on youtube. Plz watch and give your comments.

In Memory of Moin Akhtar Complete show (4 Parts)